We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but may have bugs”
Review of New Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Imperial Hotel
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but may have bugs”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hi there.
I spent two nights at this establishment with my gf in May on a 7 days trip to Israel and Jordan. The Hotel it's very well located and quite easy to find. The interiors certainly add to the character of the hotel, giving it a feeling of authenticity. The rooms we had been given (num 6) was splitted on two floors, with one small bedroom and a nice toilet in the lower room and a double bed, but no windows on the top one. To be honest the room was not of the cleanest I have ever seen.

Waking up the day after i found some bugs bites on my arms. I thought of bed bugs since I had bed bugs some years ago so I know the beasts. I told this to the manager asking if it was possible to get another room. She said that she was going "to check". I didn't understand if she was going to check if there was another room available of if there were bed bugs in my room.
Either way they didn't change our room.

The breakfast was really good.

I would recommend this hotel, and I would probably go back to it myself but choosing a different room.

Room Tip: Don't get the room number six, it could have bed bugs. If you have problem falling asleep or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StinkyBoyGhetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    53
    28
    16
See reviews for
61
93
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

cruise ship was in Ashdod for 2 days,we decided to stay in Jerusalem over night,booked hotel purely on its exelent location. I paid £60 for the room which is a good price for its location,we were met by a very friendly owner.the room was very basic for 1 night I thought it was fine,midnight we were woken by some idiots shouting and screaming outside the door,the , the windows in the room are old metal framed you could hear all the noise from the street.and motor bikes passing. finaly dropped off to sleep to be woken up at 5am by a lorry parked under the window with its engine running,while half a dozen blokes were pushing trollies about unloading it,it was very noisythis went on for about 45 mins, could not get shower temp right,could not bring myself to using the loo,having to put soiledtoilet paper in a bin as it would block the system. as it was now 7am we packed our suitcase and went for breakfast,what was on offer did not look appetising at all,coffee in paper cups,we had breakfast in the townafter leaving the hotel, very tired and hungry,it is a lovely old hotel,but not for me

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Simple and easy hotel inside the Jaffa gate at the old town, run by a friendly family, nice and helpful, the hotel is a kind of mix of an hostel and a hotel, in a friendly and nice environment, an old building with typical architecture and furnitures.
A good position for visiting the old city and with the public transports, very easy to reach by tram N°1 from the central bus station.
Everything works well, Just don't expect a luxury environment.
It's just a bit noisy because the doors are not actually sound proof at all, but it was a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Bottom line: We loved our stay and would choose it again.

Just inside the Jaffa Gate, the New Imperial is ideally located for the Old City visitor and with what you need right at hand. Everything about it is as anachronistic and quirky as the city itself. The other guests were from all over the world and quite defied categorization.

I cannot ever recall being so warmly received and well treated. Mr. Dajani is both scholar and gentleman, and his largesse is palpable. He is the heart of the place, which itself feels alive. The staff were also wonderful. We were truly sad to leave.

The physical plant is falling towards dilapidated, in spite of the ongoing and considerable efforts to save it from showing its age. If you're looking for fancy, this is not your place. It feels more like a youth hostel than a boutique hotel, though it is very much the latter. If not for the great charm and personality of the place it would seem shockingly over-valued and under-appointed. Honestly, the room was a disaster of centuries of neglect, the bed and bedding ancient, the toilet and shower comic, the housekeeping sub-par, the food basic (though fresh, nutritious, caringly prepared and widely varied), the noise-proofing non-existent... and none of that mattered.

So if you can see past the superficial, are not hung up on conventional definitions of value and comfort, and want an experience of the Old City as authentic as it gets, this is for you. There could be no other place for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My thoughts are still in Jerusalem! So I would like to let the world know: Of course the location is absolutely fantastic! But much more important: The feelings you get in that old building you cannot describe. The owner, Mr. Dajani and his team make you feel home. “The new Imperial” you cannot compare to modern hotels! Just imagine: the structure of the building goes back to 1884. You can inhale the history of this wonderful place. Rooms are spacious, clean and (hint) will be renovated in the near future. The breakfast is good and offers a variety of local specialties. Internet is reinforced and wireless works just fine. Thank you so much to the management and the whole crew for the wonderful time and special moments in Jerusalem. Can’t wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Just call and say what is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visited this place twice. First - in 2007, we arrived from the street, they had rooms and placed us in a fantastic family room with a view on the Old City (amazing, especially on Saturdays). We came back in 2013 and booked the same room. It was more expensive this time but I think, that Israel itself became more expensive, besides - they gave us a discount for returning guests. Owner is Palestinian, very friendly and helpful, his daughter and son are beginning to run the business. The breakfast is amazing (wonderful hummus and hard ) although you have

Room Tip: Opt for a family room - very spacious, sunny, with magnificent view on Jaffa Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrutkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel has not the swank of what would be a 4 star or even 3 star hotel by western standards. However, the following points worked together to create a wonderful experience:
1) Waleed, the propriator, was helpful in all things including Hebrew and Arabic language assistance, directions to attractcions, travel facilities, and eateries, stores, etc.
2) Our room was obviously small in square footage but had been enlarged by dividing the Victorian 20 foot height into two floors with a "kinda" spiral staircase joining them--we loved the character.
3) Our stay was in January and the heat was a minor issue--but not in the ways others complained of. We popped a breaker a couple times; Waleed or the others minding the front desk were eager to accommodate and did so without delay.
4) Subsequent our visit, we've seen old photos of historical events at Jaffa Gate and our hotel with our balcony is right there. This old hotel is a witness to much.
5) Just like home, I am the last to take down the Christmas tree. The Imperial's tree remained until at least 20 January.
6) The extremely convenient location is invaluable for first time visitors. Multiple times, on a whim, in the middle of the night, I awakened, dressed, and took strolls through the Old City. I felt completely safe at all hours, day or night.
7) The breakfasts were generally good, typical Mediterranean fare--i.e, boiled eggs, toast, granola, yogurt, fruit, etc. Albeit, if you're a meat eater, prepare for disappointment. This is Israel, after all... no bacon, sausage, or ham.

The Imperial Hotel is not without fault; but for a seasoned travelor, it is a good central location from which to embark on your travel experiences in Israel. And, for those with limited time, there is no option more conveniently located for such a reasonable priced.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the rooms on the first floor (second floor to Americans) at the front of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#52 of 99 in Jerusalem
132 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
228 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
647 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Imperial Hotel

Property: New Imperial Hotel
Address: Jaffa Gate - Old City | P.O. Box 14085, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Imperial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Imperial Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing