We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and ugly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Imperial Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Cheap and ugly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

I planned to stay three nights in this hotel. I settled for two in the end, after trying out two different rooms. This hotel is a shame, even for the low price (50$ single room). Whereas the first room was a three-bed room (no other was available), had a fan (no A/C in the hotel) and a ramshackle cupboard, the second room had neither. I have never seen in my life such poor craftsmanship: the whole seemed on the verge of falling apart, the toilet tank was leaking, the sink overflow hole was not connected, dumping water of the floor. Linen were soiled, with the occasional pubic hair.
But I wouldn't be fair if I didn't mention the two positive points: free internet access, via wifi or the two available computers and a great location, inside the Old City next to the Jaffa Gate. But I will never go there again.

  • Liked — Location, free internet
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Glloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    94
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
55
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

The New Imperial Hotel has a fantastic location next to the Jaffa gate entrance to the old city. The rooms are very simple, but clean. The staff and the owner Mr. Dajani is very friendly and extremely serviceminded. Three computers with free internet available. I paid 40$ per night, and I will definately come back!

  • Liked — The good location and the friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — A bit old
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank todolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safed, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

we wondered in, me and my beautiful boyfriend and as soon as i saw the room i fell in love with it. i know, the beds are metal, and the carpets are old and everything in the room, actually is very 1930s. no, really, authentic 1930s. to some people it's bad, but i just LOVED it... it's so authentic, the electricity is not even dug in the walls but mounted on the outside... the room smelled like the smell of my grandmother's place, the beds were cosy and although the bathroom was somewhat deteriorating, i still love it. and i'm a girl.

i'd definately go back, i loved the experience, although i know it's not for everyone...

  • Liked — the authenticity. it IS one of a kind in a progressing technological, cold world.
  • Disliked — well, they could do a makeover on the bathrooms... and maybe add a bathtub... and a double bed...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artemissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

The New Imperial Hotel is located next to the Jaffa Gate, therefore in the midst of Jerusalem's historical wonders. The staff is ever-smiling and talkative. The halls carry some interesting furniture. That's where the good side of this inn ends.

We made a reservation a month ahead of arrival at Jerusalem. Our choice was based on a tourist guide recommendation. It must be that the visiting writer presented her/himself as a writer for Lonely Planet and got a special room.

There were two rooms offered to us to choose from upon our arrival, both appalling. The decrepit furniture, the stained and un-vacuumed carpets, the dirty walls peeling in the corners, the filthy bathroom sink, the blankets that need cleaning. We were tired, it was late - we booked in hoping to get a better room the day after. Sleep was hard as the windows have no nets and the rooms are frequented by mosquitoes.

No such luck for changing the room. Although the hotel was mostly empty (November is not a high seasson in Jerusalem), the staff said that our room is "fine" and that they can't offer any better.

So we went to have breakfast. The all-you-can-eat buffet sounds fantastic, unless your breakfast diet is bassed on something more than bread, humus and a sort of a local cottage cheese (all of this tasty). Cornflakes is offered, too, yet the milk is a thin version made of powder milk.

We decided to leave the hotel earlier than we planned.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank magellan_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Well, what can I say which has not be said by anyone who has stayed at the New Imperial Hotel in Jerusalem of which can not be expressed on the internet except writing this word "Special" .. Yes, that is how I felt when staying at one of the most Historical Hotels in Israel. The corner room we stayed in has the most awsome view of the Jaffa Gate and sitting out on the balcony made me feel like a Princess because that's how the owner and the employee's of the Hotel make everyone feel like "Royalty".
Everyone is greeted with kindness and for what it's worth I have stayed at hotels that cost so much more and I get treated as if I'm not important. I can pick and choose where I stay when I am in Jerusalem and I always go back to my Lovely Home Away from Home . If you are looking for the luxuries in life this hotel may not be for you .. But, if you are looking for a safe, clean, trusting place to lay your head on a pillow and sleep soundly.. This is where you should stay while in Jerusalem. It's a walking distance to everything. It's the best kept secret that I'm willing to share.
Sincerely,
The Yellow Rose of Texas

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the hospitality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ladlas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sephardic House
The Sephardic House
#51 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eldan Hotel
Eldan Hotel
#21 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Notre Dame Guest House
Notre Dame Guest House
#28 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Walls Hotel
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Center Jerusalem
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Imperial Hotel

Property: New Imperial Hotel
Address: Jaffa Gate - Old City | P.O. Box 14085, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Imperial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your New Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Imperial Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing