We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
143
170
76
48
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
143
170
76
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jaffa gate old city fantastic location rooftop terrace temple mount holy sepulchre major sites minute walk wailing wall tram stop four nights hotel is situated excellent breakfast salad tel aviv mamilla mall david
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 465 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2008

The New Imperial Hotel has a fantastic location next to the Jaffa gate entrance to the old city. The rooms are very simple, but clean. The staff and the owner Mr. Dajani is very friendly and extremely serviceminded. Three computers with free internet available. I paid 40$ per night, and I will definately come back!

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank todolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

we wondered in, me and my beautiful boyfriend and as soon as i saw the room i fell in love with it. i know, the beds are metal, and the carpets are old and everything in the room, actually is very 1930s. no, really, authentic 1930s. to some people it's bad, but i just LOVED it... it's so authentic, the electricity is not even dug in the walls but mounted on the outside... the room smelled like the smell of my grandmother's place, the beds were cosy and although the bathroom was somewhat deteriorating, i still love it. and i'm a girl.

i'd definately go back, i loved the experience, although i know it's not for everyone...

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artemissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

The New Imperial Hotel is located next to the Jaffa Gate, therefore in the midst of Jerusalem's historical wonders. The staff is ever-smiling and talkative. The halls carry some interesting furniture. That's where the good side of this inn ends.

We made a reservation a month ahead of arrival at Jerusalem. Our choice was based on a tourist guide recommendation. It must be that the visiting writer presented her/himself as a writer for Lonely Planet and got a special room.

There were two rooms offered to us to choose from upon our arrival, both appalling. The decrepit furniture, the stained and un-vacuumed carpets, the dirty walls peeling in the corners, the filthy bathroom sink, the blankets that need cleaning. We were tired, it was late - we booked in hoping to get a better room the day after. Sleep was hard as the windows have no nets and the rooms are frequented by mosquitoes.

No such luck for changing the room. Although the hotel was mostly empty (November is not a high seasson in Jerusalem), the staff said that our room is "fine" and that they can't offer any better.

So we went to have breakfast. The all-you-can-eat buffet sounds fantastic, unless your breakfast diet is bassed on something more than bread, humus and a sort of a local cottage cheese (all of this tasty). Cornflakes is offered, too, yet the milk is a thin version made of powder milk.

We decided to leave the hotel earlier than we planned.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank magellan_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Well, what can I say which has not be said by anyone who has stayed at the New Imperial Hotel in Jerusalem of which can not be expressed on the internet except writing this word "Special" .. Yes, that is how I felt when staying at one of the most Historical Hotels in Israel. The corner room we stayed in has the most awsome view of the Jaffa Gate and sitting out on the balcony made me feel like a Princess because that's how the owner and the employee's of the Hotel make everyone feel like "Royalty".
Everyone is greeted with kindness and for what it's worth I have stayed at hotels that cost so much more and I get treated as if I'm not important. I can pick and choose where I stay when I am in Jerusalem and I always go back to my Lovely Home Away from Home . If you are looking for the luxuries in life this hotel may not be for you .. But, if you are looking for a safe, clean, trusting place to lay your head on a pillow and sleep soundly.. This is where you should stay while in Jerusalem. It's a walking distance to everything. It's the best kept secret that I'm willing to share.
Sincerely,
The Yellow Rose of Texas

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ladlas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2020
Google Translation

Room tip: Auf ein Zimmer mit gr. Fenster zum Lüften achten
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews