We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christ Church Guest House
Ranked #1 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nearly everything is great in this guest house - nice clean room, big breakfast, superb location, friendly and helpfull staff... Just maybe the water pressure in shower could be stronger. I can totally recomend this guest house - it´s an oasis in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Room number 3 in the Alexander building has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PepeCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 412 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Christ Church Guest House is perfectly located within Jerusalem. It is difficult to find fault with this guest house. Clean, good size room and excellent service. The grounds are within a secure area. Ample parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DOldroyd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A Christian Guest House just inside the Jaffa Gate. Just a few feet from the Cidadel/Tower of David; which has a wonderful tour & evening light show. We stayed five nights on a Shoresh Tour and can highly recommend them. OK, the guest house accommodation is fun & extremely safe. Other four & five star reviews are on the mark. Staff is ever present and makes you feel welcome. We enjoy sleeping with the windows open & our Alexander Bldg room had screens. I highlight that because it was the only one of four Israel accommodations [3-5 stars] we stayed in that did! ALSO the wifi was free and was a strong signal in-our-room. Again, the best in all our Israel acommodations. Food was good and varied. As to location, it is tops; we walked everywhere. Highly recommend & will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Christ Church Guest House is situated just inside Jaffa Gate inside the Old City of Jerusalem. For those seeking the quintessential Old City experience, there is nothing quite like sitting out on the patio of the coffee shop and hearing the bells from the various churches in the Old City. (By the way, the coffee shop serves EXCELLENT espresso!)

But let's be clear about what the Guest house IS and IS NOT. it is NOT a "hotel". if you are looking for a wonderful, 24x7 restaurant, room service, ultra modern rooms, swimming pool and spa -- this is NOT the location to choose. If you prefer to stay in a unique guest house with the character of the Old City, one that has excellent security, clean and comfortable rooms from single to family (albeit some of them very small), a satisfactory breakfast and reasonably priced lunches and dinners for those who want them --- and all at about 1/3 the price of a hotel; then THIS IS YOUR PLACE.

It is my "go to " destination every time i visit the City of Jerusalem and stay overnight, which is usually 120+ nights a year.

Room Tip: Room 14 and 13 have balconies outside their doors with lovely views o fthe Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank rjgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the guest house for two nights early January 2013, at a family room (5 beds)

The room is decent, spacious and brightly lit by two large windows. It not carpeted, and only part of the floor is heated. Getting out of bed at night barefoot was COLD. The bathroom could use a facelift - water pressure is low, and the screw holding the shower head in place was loose, so we had to hold it while taking a shower. There is no bath. Breakfast was very nice, with lots of food variety. After having a hearty breakfast we (including the kids) only needed a light snack for lunch while visiting the old city.

And this is the main advantage of this hotel - it is possibly the closest you could sleep to the main sites in the old city. It is literally 30 steps from the bazaar, 15 minutes walk (child pace) to the wailing wall, even less to the church of the Holy Sepulcher. What makes it unique from other hostels in the old city is the fact it has it own, private parking which means you don't need to labor your luggage, and can still visit all the old city on foot not even needing public transportation.

If they dedicated a little more attention to the room details (carpeting, shower maintenance) I would gladly give this place 5-star rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank watergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days and on our next trip we will stay longer. The location is fantastic! Walking distance to great restaurants, the Kotel inside the Old City and walking distance to other locations outside the Old City. We didn't need a car. Inside the beautiful gated courtyard is a peaceful retreat away from the frenzy of the Old City. The staff was great and the Israeli breakfast was yummy. The rooms are very simple and the shower is a challenge with the toilet and the shower practically sharing the same space, but who cares? We didn't come to Jerusalem to stay all day in the room and take a shower! If you want to experience the real Jerusalem from inside the walls of the Old City then this is the place for you. We loved it and will definitely return on our next trip!

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is great but we enjoyed the room that has the cozy shared living room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just inside the Joppa gate, the Christ Church Guest House provides a peaceful haven in the Old City. The rooms are clean, but not modern. However, the value for the location and quality is outstanding. Many of the staff here are volunteers from around the world who want to live in Jerusalem for a time.

The mission of Christ Church, located within the walls of the property, is evident in the service the Guest House provides. It is a Christian organization and they work hard to provide a comfortable environment.

The breakfast buffet was pretty good, and the outdoor seating area was lovely. There is a coffee shop in the hotel that offers better than average espresso drinks.

Free parking onsite in a 24 hour gated lot was a huge plus.
Free wifi throughout the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 102 in Jerusalem
304 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,538 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christ Church Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christ Church Guest House

Address: Jaffa Gate, Old City, Jerusalem 91140, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christ Church Guest House is in a unique location inside the OLd City of Jerusalem, close to the Jaffa Gate. We offer a variety of rooms set around a Garden Courtyard where you can relax and enjoy a Coffee or meet with friends. The Heritage Centre offer free tours of this historic site. Local staff and volunteers from across the world are here to serve you and make this a special part of your Jerusalem experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christ Church Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Christ Church Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing