We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christ Church Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Oasis”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Christ Church Guest House for 10 days! Our stay was pleasant in every way. Each morning we had breakfast in the beautiful courtyard, under the beautiful arbor laden with vines, greenery and flowers. We sometimes had coffee there in the afternoon and relaxed in the evening while chatting with travelers from the four corners of the world. It's a perfect place to reflect on this wonderful city. Staff was great - friendly, super helpful and accommodating in every way. They also serve lunch and have a coffee shop. The food was excellent. The rooms adequate and modest. If you want luxurious room just go to a regular hotel but it won't be as fun. We were there during Rosh Hashana so it was a bit loud in the streets at night but no matter; we loved this place and loved meeting other travelers and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeslieSavitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    82
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
76
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful courtyard and delicious coffee shop! This place was warm and friendly. The old city of Jerusalem can be quite overwhelming at times, with so many sights and sounds and smells, and this guesthouse provides a peaceful place to come home to. Great access to Internet, good food, very clean, and kind staff members. The location also has an interesting history as the first Protestant church in the Middle East, and the excellent Tower of David museum is right in its front yard. It's within Jaffa Gate in the Old City, but very easy to get to the light train, the New City, and the great shopping and restaurants of Mamila mall and Ben Yehuda street. Walking distance from the Western Wall, Church of the Holy Sepulchre, Via Dolorosa, and Dome of the Rock. Thank you, Christ Church for a great visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Terrific place, great layout, nice big breakfast, great staff especially Karen and Dan;
Great courtyard to relax during the day or evening, rooms were comfortable and clean.
I would go back!! PJR Long Beach, NY USA

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invernes, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Myself, my wife and two sons (16 and 15) stayed three nights at the start of July. Having spent 7 hours grinding our way through the the heavy security at the border Jordan/Israel we were extremely tired and grimy. I was surprised to see a beautiful smiling face welcome us to the Christ Church and sympathise with our dishevelled state...the lady on reception made us feel so at home and so welcome our spirits were instantly revived. They say first impressions matter and this was truly a point in case. We had a family room in the Alexander building. I am a sucker for old buildings and unusually shaped rooms and our room put a whopping great smile on my face. Simple yet very clean and very spacious. The position of the Guest House is fantastic being just inside the walls of the Old City...out the door and straight into the lanes of Old Jerusalem. I am glad I hadnt booked a corporate-brand hotel on the outside of the walls. The courtyard of the Guest House offers numerous tranquil spots to either prepare for the day's touring or as a spot to sit and unwind at the end of a hard day's sightseeing. Breakfast was again simple with plenty of food and drink on offer to prepare you for the day. When I return to Jerusalem (as I am sure we will) we will definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the staff - and especially to our wonderful receptionist for starting our stay off on the right footing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerryCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights during our first visit to Jerusalem after spending 5 days in Tiberias. Christ Church B&B is at the site of the first protestant church in the middle east.

It was a truly wonderful stay, and I just wish we could have stayed for longer! In fact, I wish we could have stayed here for the duration of our time in Israel!

The B&B is right by the Jaffa Gate, and opposite Citadel David. In fact, the view outside our room was of the Citadel! Incredible! We were in the main part of the building, so our room had air con, which was perfect. The room seemed appropriate decor for it's surroundings. It was very clean, and very comfortable. Not to mention it is a very safe place.

Brekkie was ace! It was the best brekkie we had the whole time we were there!

One of the very special things about this place is the volunteers that work there! It was an absolute privalage getting to speak to them, and learn more about their calling to Israel. Chris and lovely Colleen, Lynn and Joe were wonderful. And the Aussie guy serving breakfast whilst we were there - sorry I don't know his name - but we had to leave early one day for a trip (earlier than breakfast service) and he was so sweet and managed to still give us some breakfast that was available!

There is a real unique sense of community at Christ Church. They have a wonderful coffee shop, a museum, book shop, and of course, the Church itself. The Church service we experienced was wonderful. They offer so much to the local community. They offer tea and coffee after the service in the grounds and again, it offered a wonderful opportunity to talk to the staff and congregation.

Christ Church is a dearly loved and blessed place. My recommendation cannot come highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deedle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here with our church group....such a wonderful stay. no air conditioning in rooms, but fans are provided. we stayed here in June and the entire time the temperature stayed comfortable in the 70s. The gardens are lovely, the staff is wonderful, the church is beautiful, the church services beautiful. Cannot say enough about Christ church. The accomodations are not elegant...very humble but comfortable. The location is excellent. We would stay here at Christ church each time we are in Jerusalem. We were blessed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

one minute wallk from Jaffa gate hides this lovelly small guest house. Its simple (no air condition) but very clean and quiet, with a beautifull inner garden. The room we took (#13) is spacious, with pleasent decoration. the price, 500 Shekels, is very moderate. The place is run by some kind of a middle sect between Judaism and Christianity, the people are very nice.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inbal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christ Church Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christ Church Guest House

Property: Christ Church Guest House
Address: 98 Jaffa | Old City, Jerusalem 9434130, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christ Church Guest House is in a unique location inside the OLd City of Jerusalem, close to the Jaffa Gate. We offer a variety of rooms set around a Garden Courtyard where you can relax and enjoy a Coffee or meet with friends. The Heritage Centre offer free tours of this historic site. Local staff and volunteers from across the world are here to serve you and make this a special part of your Jerusalem experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christ Church Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Christ Church Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing