We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quiet Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Lovely Quiet Hotel”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A stylish old world style hotel - with gorgeous outdoor garden spaces located well away from the maddening crowds of Jerusalem. Lovely rooms - we stayed in the East Wing (annex) instead of the Main Building - and were charmed by the tall ceilings, free-wi-fin and spacious baths. Room decor itself was a bit old- fashioned (not necessarily a bad thing) - but furniture felt a bit too crafty). Front desk staff (and staff in general) were less than ebullient at our arrival - a bit of a turn off that frankly cost them a star in our opinion. Buffet breakfast was first rate - and a real value. We waited quite a bit of time to be served in the charming bar/winecellar - and they DID allow cigar smoking which is a real put off - but the wine/alcohol selection was excellent and the atmosphere was inviting (save the smoke). Pool wasn't open - but you could see how gorgeous it would be in season. The King David would still be our first pick in Jerusalem, but this is a nice, much less expensive (and quieter) alternative.

Room Tip: Ask of a top floor room in the Main Building - you will feel a bit out of place in their annex build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    212
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
176
385
93
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel has a genuine old world charm. The pool and patio areas add kindly to the ambience of this boutique property. The food variety and quality are both good. The remaining essentials with respect to your overall customer experience is less than desirable. The staff appears to have little to no training. The details of a quality hotel operation is void. Lobby and room furnishings are beyond normal wear. Smoking is allowed in the very tight spaced bar so the entire room smells. Ultimately it is a hotel that has a great promise though needs more seasoned management and fairly sizeabe improvements to the physical property.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

An oasis of a hotel is busy Jerusalem. When you enter the gates to the hotel you see this low rise colonial style hotel oozing with class (part of the Leading Hotel Group). The check in was very prompt and welcoming. We booked direct and the hotel was happy to give us a free upgrade when asked (to Classic Pasha). The room was spacious - my only quibble would be that I would have expected a separate shower cubicle from the bath (I am tall and I hate having the climb into a batch and have to bend to take a shower) for this high end hotel.

We had B&B only and the breakfast was wonderful. Not only was the food varied and tasty (not just Kosha food), but the setting in the courtyard was a delight.

The swimming pool was closed as the water was still too cold in March (so no comment from me).

Location: The hotel is a 15 mins walk to Old Jerusalem or a quick 5 mins taxi. Easy to get to other restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if negotiating direct with hotel. If they have the ability they may offer you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and very clean, food is excellent all along the day including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent. Also, Garden is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Maybe someone can find something not to like here. Not me, this hotel just had everything. A perfect oasis in the dust of the city. A heated swimming pool in April is quite a find. The accommodation is in its own gardens away from the bars and restaurants and very quiet.

Room Tip: 205. But they all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owner-lighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Beautiful old hotel, comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere. We had dinner at Val's Brasserie and that was a disappointment with dull occidental food. Big disappointment. Breakfast was fine although the couryard was packed and we had to eat indoors at the Arabesque. Nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a lovely, historic hotel in a great location. Our hotel room was adequate but because the air conditioning was not working/or not turned on our room got hot during the night. We opened the window but because we faced the mosque the call to prayer each morning woke us up at 5:00 am. Unfortunately, I was not able to get back to sleep and spent the next five days sleep deprived. The breakfast brunch in the mornings was extensive and fabulous. There way a wide array of fruit, salads, breads, sweet rolls, eggs, bacon, potatoes, salmon, and cheeses. The hotel staff was friendly and I would recommend staying here but if you are bothered by noise, ask for a room that does not face the mosque.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room that does not face the mosque with its 5:00 am call to prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,741 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing