We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The American Colony Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$650
$617
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
$275
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
$590
$549
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$195
$140
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Ba Moshava(Jerusalem)
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dan Jerusalem Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$414
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
National Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$427
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$328
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveler rating
790
237
78
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
237
78
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar bareast jerusalempasha roompalm houselawrence of arabiasummer gardenleading hotels of the worlddamascus gateold citycall to prayermain buildinghistoric hoteljunior suitemodern amenitieswonderful hotelnice poolan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and very clean, food is excellent all along the day including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent. Also, Garden is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iscogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Maybe someone can find something not to like here. Not me, this hotel just had everything. A perfect oasis in the dust of the city. A heated swimming pool in April is quite a find. The accommodation is in its own gardens away from the bars and restaurants and very quiet.

Room Tip: 205. But they all looked wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owner-lighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Beautiful old hotel, comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere. We had dinner at Val's Brasserie and that was a disappointment with dull occidental food. Big disappointment. Breakfast was fine although the couryard was packed and we had to eat indoors at the Arabesque. Nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a lovely, historic hotel in a great location. Our hotel room was adequate but because the air conditioning was not working/or not turned on our room got hot during the night. We opened the window but because we faced the mosque the call to prayer each morning woke us up at 5:00 am. Unfortunately, I was not able to get back to sleep and spent the next five days sleep deprived. The breakfast brunch in the mornings was extensive and fabulous. There way a wide array of fruit, salads, breads, sweet rolls, eggs, bacon, potatoes, salmon, and cheeses. The hotel staff was friendly and I would recommend staying here but if you are bothered by noise, ask for a room that does not face the mosque.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room that does not face the mosque with its 5:00 am call to prayer
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

it is an historic hotel with nice buildings and gardens. the location is medium. prices are high.
the main two problems are:
1. we visited a lot of the leading hotels of the world, and this hotel doesn't match the standards
in many different aspects of attitude, sevice and management.
the feeling is of a 4 to 5 stars standard hotel. in jerusalem there are lots of such inexpensive
hotels and some are even better located. of course there are also some high luxury hotels.
2. there is a mosque adjacent to the hotel. the prayers from the loudspeakers are very loud even
through glasses and earplugs. first pray at 5 am in the very early morning.
n.b. a tourist lady from canary islands asked us to mention that her room reservation, through
leading hotels of the world, was not recognised by the hotel and they didn't let her speak
with the manager.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews