We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jerusalem's civilized calm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jerusalem's civilized calm.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A classically beautiful hotel steeped in history. The most perfect place to stay in Jerusalem. I have stayed in this hotel many times on business and find it perfect to unwind in after a busy day. Peter O'Toole stayed here for some of the time whilst filming Lawrence of Arabia in the sixties.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GBDOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    208
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
172
382
93
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because my sister had stayed here. My husband and I are keen travellers and have stayed at hotels which really are worthy of 5 stars. This was not one of them. What struck us the most was the distinctly standoffish attitude of most of the hotel staff. Whilst there were a couple of genuinely friendly workers, most of them could only be described as hostile.
They most certainly did not go out of their skin to accommodate us. When I mentioned that my husband had a birthday I was told "We can send you up a slice of cake if you like." A very dry chocolate muffin was indeed sent up.
The room was pleasant but nothing to write home about. Our white sheet was soiled (I won't go into details..).
Plus points: delicious breakfast, interesting guest watching, beautiful exterior and interior, colonial style ambience.
It is a great shame that we left on a disappointed note as we had expected so much more. I simply cannot see how it is classified as a 'leading hotel of the world'.....or luxurious..........
I am reluctant to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Maybe not quite a five star experience, since I stayed in the cheapest room. But it was still very pleasant. The hotel is atmospheric and has excellent service. I would definitely stay here again - perhaps splashing out on a better room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCleverTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Maybe not a five star experience - but very nice all the same. I stayed in the cheapest room, which was perfectly pleasant, clean and quiet, but I did get suite envy. I would pay extra next time. The service is very pleasant, the clientele is agreeable, the lcation fine - an interesting walk to the old city. It's a famous old hotel which isn't just trading on its history - it's still excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCleverTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We heard about this hotel a lot. Friends told us it is a different place, unlike any other hotel in Jerusalem. So we booked for one night, and figured that if it is that wonderful, we'll stay another night. We didn't.
Maybe the problem was that we took a very good room (CLASSIC PASHA), at more than 500 $ a night. In this price range, one expects perfection, hence the disappointment.
The room was indeed special, well decorated and pleasant, and it could have been wonderful to stay there, but there were a few problems:
Although there was a (small) no smoking sign at the entrance, the room smelled of smoke. We did not noticed that immediately (the air freshener did the job at the beginning) but after a few hours, that smell, of a room where people smoked a lot, came out. Not pleasant.
The noise insulation of the windows, and especially of the door, was poor. We heard very clear everyone who entered the building and passed near our room, and in the early morning the people passing outside our window.
The heating system was very noisy, and we had the turn it down.
None of the above was horrible, but again, you can't charge that much and fail on such things.

On the other hand, the place is really beautiful, and the staff extremely nice and helpful. Perhaps had we taken their basic rooms, on the newer wing, our overall rating would have been different.

Room Tip: See the review above, if you are bothered by the things that bothered us, but still want to experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoav o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The American Colony Hotel retains its history and the feeling of a crossroads of diplomats, journalists, and businesspeople on the green line in Jerusalem. The staff are attentive and keen to go the extra mile to fulfil special requests; they remember repeat customers, and even their preferences. The breakfast buffet is one of the best in the Middle East. The rooms are characterful - even the new ones - and comfortable. I recommend it as an unforgettable part of any stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you like warm, intimate, charming 5 star hotels , with terrific employes than this is the Hotel to stay at in Jerusalem. The Deluxe Pasha Jr. suites in the original building ( # 3,4,5 ) are well worth the money with high painted ceilings, and good views. Rates include Internet and a sumptuous buffet breakfast, including fresh juices, espresso, Turkish Coffee, and fresh made omelets and breads. The bar and restaurant were fun at night and a warm fireplace was burning that made the winter stay even more cozy.

The staff were attentive ,not bothersome, and met all of our requests with a gracious manner. We requested an Airport pickup , and their driver Abu Fadi, was waiting with a sign, and promptly got us to Jerusalem for a speedy checkin.Abu Fadi turned out to be a wonderful resource for some additional day trips to Petra , and our return to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing