We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Jerusalem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I highly recommend the American Colony, you won't find a better hotel in the city. We have stayed elsewhere in the past and were stunned at the difference in service. The staff and service at this hotel is 5-star. My husband has come in and out of Jerusalem at least 5-times in 2012 and continued to choose this hotel. It also has great food, bar, pool, and gym. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    199
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
159
368
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the American Colony Hotel for 5 nights in December. It was a very comfortable, clean hotel. We had a room in the newer tower, which was nice. The rooms in the older section that we saw had more character, but for a newer room ours worked well. There was a small sitting area and plenty of storage (I think we were in a Superior room). The dining room serves a nice buffet breakfast, and you can ask for eggs cooked anyway you want as well. The bar downstairs was quite smoky the two times we went in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed there from 12. - 14.06.2012. We did an room upgrade to the pacha suite. The room was not bad, big enough, high ceiling and nice view to the pool. The bar in the garden and the pool were very nice. But cleanliness and service was bad: water in the bath tube could not drain off because of human hairs in the drain. It was fixed after 1 day and several calls at the reception! The carpets in the room and in the corridors of the hotel were dirty. Service in the restaurant and the reception was bad/did not exist. We complaint several times at the reception. Ath the end of our stay the lady only told us we can write an e-mail to the manager. No offering for a discount or something. Also have pictures from the dirty bathroom. Think should upload them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My room was in a new part of the hotel so unfortunately i didint fully experince the feeling of a peaceful recover that this hotel conveys.
my room was a kind of small apartment, very quiet and fully equipped, i also had a small kitchen and a living room, i loved it.
the hotel itself is like a museum, you go back to the Crusades times but in a modern way as i guess the hotel has been recently refreshed and restored.
the bar and the hall already give you the sense of glory and history that breathes in every corner, just look at the list of major VIPs from cinema, politic, fashion who have visited this hotel.
the service is excellent , as well as the quality of rooms and food.
i was there in winter and going back evey evening was like arriving in a warm refuge.
the old city is not far and there are also very good restaurant at walking distance.
i wish i can be back sometimes!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Some hotels are leading with the latest wacky tacky in-room equipment. If this is your requirement, go elsewhere. Everybody who loves to stay at a charming place full of history, or who loves the feeling of being at home while staying in a hotel will be seduced by the American Colony. This has been my second stay after quite some time. I cannot imagine staying elsewhere in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montecristo-no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice proprety, wilth a beautiful garden, parking space (important to mention as rather rare in Jerusalem) and quite a bit of history - obviously, the drawback is that depending on which building you end up having room in, it ranges from excellent to average, but all in and given rather limited choice of upscale hotels in Jerusalem, a great place to stay at. Avoid rooms giving on the back/parking area, quite noisy

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed here several times so far, and love the place more and more every time. The rooms are nice, bathrooms luxurious, and the breakfast in the garden at the right time of year puts me in a great mood for the rest or the day. The breakfast buffet is extensive, fresh and delicious.

Their pool is quite nice, and the spa right next door is a nice treat. I've used the gym a few times, and it has good machines and does not get crowded.

As the others have said, the Old City is right around the cornern through Damascus gate, and you can also walk to Jaffa gate if you are up for a longer stroll. The hotel staff are very nice and helpful, and they will get to know if you stay there more than three nights.

Finally, try the margaritas in the summer bar (open in the warmer months). The best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acca808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing