We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is very interesting as it was formerly a palace. The grounds are spectacular. There are older olive trees interspersed around the gardens and such. You can take a stroll, meditate, or meet with friends and you won't be disappointed. The rooms were very interesting. We stayed in a large mini-suite on the first floor. It was overlooking the pool. We were awakened by the early morning Azan or call to prayer. The ambiance was irreplaceable. Could I make changes to the hotel? Yes, but the experience was very worth it. Besides, how often can you say you've stayed in a palace before? Anyway, life is about creating memories and you will definitely walk away with some fond ones by staying here!

I brought my family (two young girls). They were in awe and loved the gardens. The breakfast was a Mediterranean style buffet and it was quite delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The public areas and gardens are lovely, but the rooms and amenities are disappointing. Beds and bedding need to be upgraded/updated. The sheets were thin, and the mattress cover did not cover the entire mattress. The plumbing in the bathrooms also needs to be upgraded -- old water faucets that never could quite mix the hot and cold properly, and there was a problem with hot water late in the day so if you wanted to take a shower after a long day of sightseeing and before dinner, you couldn't really do it. Service was fine, and the food was good (OK breakfast, and had one dinner, which was good). I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think this place gets a bit of a "bye" because it is in East Jerusalem and everyone wants to be "fair." The hotel is certainly not bad but it is not exactly in the 5 star category, except that on the east side of the city it is the best available. Certainly no match for the 5 star hotels in the western part of the city. I had apartment #6 which is the presidential suite; has a nice balcony and it is a nice room but beware of the various steps near the doors; don't stay in this room if you are afraid of falling. The soaps in my bathroom cracked in half right out of the box; I didn't see any shoeshine service available; there was no evening turndown; the clock next to the bed was an hour ahead even though they had changed to winter time a month ago, and I felt a little like that you come here and "rough it" a little bit and say that you were here and you're not supposed to expect that it is that good. Service was pretty friendly, the gym and pool were fine, the spa service was very good; and breakfast was fine. I really liked the gardens with the smell of the spices. In this neighborhood, I don't think people tend to walk off the hotel grounds and around in the eastern part of the city, certainly not at night. Even after 45 years from 1967, it still feels like a "pending" area -- feels like walking around the Turkish part of Nicosia in Cyprus. This is definitely a historical property and it is interesting walking around the hotel late at night looking at all the memorabilia. Definitely come once for a night, but I couldn't see myself doing more than that at this property. I want to be somewhere where I can step out and walk around more and if it is a Leading Hotels hotel then it should deliver excellence on all fronts.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A peaceful escape… an amazing hotel, different of all new minimal design boutique hotels.Service was great, the room was very comfortable and pampering. The restaurant was excellent for intimate dinner and also for a great breakfast. The place is very well located too. No doubt I will return !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted to stay close to the old town but not in a chain: this hotel was for me the perfect choice. We received an upgrade to a deluxe pasha in the main house: although I didn't look around much of the rest of the hotel but I suspect this is one of the best parts of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner in the inner courtyard was very pleasant and the food good (the courtyard is popular for dinner so make a reservation). The reception staff remembered my name throughout the stay - a nice touch. My only complaint was the slightly grubby sunbeds by the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKiwiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited for two nights on business. Check-in was about the most efficient I have ever experienced: four of us checked in simultaneously by one staffer in less than 3 minutes, complete with overview of the hotel. And we got champagne. I was in a newly renovated room in the Palm House. Unfortunately, the new electronic key (sad to see the old brass keys gone with the wind) didn't work. I went back to have it rekeyed. Still didn't work. The new electronic lock was broken and couldn't be repaired until the next day. So I had to have a staffer let me into my room each time I went out for the first 24 hours. The room, however, was stunning and spacious, with views on two sides. New flatscreen TV was a big plus. The bathtub is a bit precarious to exit, but this is not uncommon in this part of the world. My biggest gripe was the way-to-small and ill equipped gym, but that is a small gripe in the big picture. The breakfast was sumptious as was the Saturday brunch. Service throughout was 5-star. Just keep you eye out for renovation hick-ups.

Room Tip: Renovations of Palm House are still not complete so beware. They are wonderful rooms if everything w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel-Yell-Delray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at many world class hotels and this is up there with them. An oasis of cool calm with charming, first class service. We stayed in the comfortable Palm House with its quality linen, pristine facilities and an attractive open aspect. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Courtyard and each meal brought a delightful surprise....and the palete sprang to delighted attention on contact the local 2009 Domaine de Castel cabernet sauvignon.
After a fascinating but energy sapping walk round Old Town Jerusalem, there is no better place to recoup than the shade of the Courtyard with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice!
Family owned and managed by Swiss professionals, it deserves all accolades.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxT1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,635 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,545 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#19 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,432 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#7 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,859 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#8 of 100 in Jerusalem
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $248 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, historical Boutique Hotel with complimentary hi speed WiFi in all guest rooms and public areas, complimentary use of business centre and 20 minutes free local & international calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing