We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely garden breakfast area and separate garden bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, OK, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely garden breakfast area and separate garden bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a 'safe' and prestigious hotel in Jerusalem. Many notable people who stayed here are recorded on a plaque in the lobby. Our room was spacious and the balcony was nice. The breakfast buffet selections were abundant and varied. We learned to love tabouli and hummus for breakfast, but we also loved the pastry, cereals, fruits and vegetables, fresh squeezed juices, breads, meats, eggs, plus. The bar in the garden was a nice gathering place in the evening. This is an expensive hotel with the amenities you would expect. But realize that if you accept the welcoming drink in the lobby upon arrival, your bill will most likely reflect a $10 charge for the 2 glasses of orange juice or champagne. Definitely review your bill upon checkout-several people in our group had erroneous bills, but the front desk was easily able to pull out the tickets we had signed We were in Room 201. In spite of several calls and follow ups with the front desk, our tub never drained. Even a quick shower resulted in several inches of standing water in the tub. Also we could never get a second robe, as there were 2 of us in the room. The pool is great and refreshing after a hot day touring. Everything does not always translate easily: I needed a curling iron for my hair; upon inquiry, an ironing board and iron were promptly delivered to our room. You can walk to several Palestinian restaurants, and their food is delicious. If you are so inclined, you can 'smoke' fruit (watermelon) in a 'hubbly bubbly'. This is popular with the locals. ATMS are nearby. We liked the Petra Restaurant, which was a close walk. Try the Taybey beer which is only available in the Palestinian area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    199
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
159
368
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was a beautiful hotel, - loads of character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restuarant was great - and the courtyard it was situated in was fabulous. The garden bar (evening) was also great for an evening snack or drink. Somewhat expensive, but was so good that the expense didnt matter.

Perhaps a little off the beaten track for going out in the evening. However this is overcome by using the tram - quite near the hotel - to go right through the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamil79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is truly one of the most astonishing urban hotels I've ever enjoyed. What a treat for the senses. If you can, be there during the spring or summer season when the atrium is open for breakfast and the summer bar is available for drinks and dinner. We had a deluxe room with a huge sitting area and an immense terrace, large enough for lounge furniture - sofa, table, chairs, a a spacious area. The assortment of guests was fascinating. We were there for 10 days; I could have stayed a month. Jerusalem certainly needs that much time to begin to understand it. The hotel's history itself is worth the study.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the call to prayer... A mosque is nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The American colony is a very expensive hotel but a really enjoya ble experience. Great ambience, helpful staff, a fantastic restaurant (only had breakfast) and a lovely pool. A place to come and relax with a beer after a long hot day sight seeing. The rooms are airy and spacious and well appointed - the only trouble we had was that we had booked a twin but were allocated a double ut this was very quickly sorted out for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new block which was about 30 seconds from the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After our big disappointment in Rimonim Eilat (see review), this hotel made our stay unforgettable in a positive way.
The hotel is located in the East Jerusalem part and is about 15 minutes to the Damascus Gate to the old city and 5 minutes to the recently finished tram.
The stuff was more than friendly, and moreover, since the hotel was not fully booked, we got an upgrade to a Superior room. Being honest, even the superior rooms are not exceptionally big and remind more of a standard room in another 5* hotel - but the furniture are extraordinary. We had an old map of the time of general Allenby on our wall! The bed was perfect, the bathroom elegant (only the light could have been a bit brighter to be able to do a make up) and the wireless internet worked everywhere and fast.
Since we had to wait for around one hour until the room was ready and we took a coffee in the beautiful inner courtyard and when we were called that the room is ready, we were taken to the room, where our luggage had been brought to already and were explained everything.
The pool is beautiful and a real exception in Jerusalem - American Colony is like an oasis in this exciting city. There is also a gym facing the pool which we didn't try out.
The breakfast was the best I have tasted in my life. Everything was fresh and of best quality. The most remarkable thing I have seen is the bacon and sausages which were served: it was pork meat - generally a rare thing to be seen in Israel. I don't need to eat pork in my holidays - but it somehow shows the tolerance in this hotel, which constantly in history was a "neutral point" in the conflict between Israelis and Palestinians, which is carried out openly. It is just so great to see Israelis, Arabs and tourists from all over the world to eat together on a beautiful terrace in the hard fought city of Jerusalem - a wonderful atmosphere. The thin arabic bread (I think it is called lawash) was baked freshly and filled with tomatoes, za'atar (the most wonderful herb for every oriental food) and cheese.
The croissants were fresh and definitely the best I've eaten in Israel or even in most other places (except Paris :D). The fresh orange juice was nice, the vegetables and fruits of high quality and the eggs prepared in the way you wish. Mostly recommendable is also the arabic coffee.
We didn't have lunch or dinner in the hotel - but the food looks delicious and also the wine cellar looks impressive. Still, this is an expensive restaurant - but probably it is worth the money.
The stuff was always helpful when answering questions and they called at least 20 times for a shared taxi that we wanted to take (but they didn't answer the phone). After all we took a taxi from the hotel which was charged to our room bill - nice service. We also booked a guided tour through the old city which was nice (next time I'd definitely book a tour to Bethlehem, though).
The small store with typical things from Armenian art, silver and gold jewellery, painting, etc. is expensive but beautiful and the book store holds a lot of books dealing with the Israeli/Palestinian conflict.
Overall it was a perfect stay and we are definitely coming back, if we can afford it (the price is high - but not compared to other 5* hotels in Jerusalem).

Thanks for these wonderful days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

For an in depth description and history of The American Colony go to their web site, (www.americancolony.com/). This is my all-time favorite hotel. After spending a couple of weeks on an archaeological dig in the Arava, The American Colony is a cool, luxurious bit of heaven on earth. The rooms are cool, as shady dark as you want to escape the Levant sun, and the stone floors and walls mute almost all the noxious street noise except the muezzin's call to prayer from the minaret across the street -- but you are in the Middle east...
One of the more novel attributes of The AC is that when the halakah siren sounds on Friday evening at sunset, signaling the beginning of Shabbat, the Islamic sabbath is ends at the exact moment and out come the belly dancers making their way through the courtyard lounge and on out into the garden bar. Even though the American Colony is a Palestinian institution with a decidedly Arabic atmosphere, it is probably the most neutral, peaceful and tolerant place in all Jerusalem. The web site explains this tradition of "neutrality" in detail. In fact, this very neutrality is so completely honored by all sides that this is the chosen home away from home for many of the world's news teams. Don't be surprised to run into Ashley Banfield, Jerrold Kessel, Wolf Blitzer or any of the other MidEast correspondents on the grounds or in the restaurant or lounge.
The official rates are pretty high but one can almost always negotiate a more favorable one by qualifying as a member of any of myriad favored groups. For instance, I get the "archaeology" rate because I work with a team from Hebrew University. Just ask anyone at the front desk or online.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lever8651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heath, texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a wonderful experience amidst the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem. We stayed in a large suite of the east house overlooking the garden. We have stayed all over the world and this was a five star room! The food and gardens are good. The pool area is nice after a long day in the old city. The Damascus gate is a 10 minute walk, but most would take a cab or bus. you do have to put up with the periodic loud prayers on the microphones, even at 4am! no noise ordanances in east Jerusalem. i didn't hear the noise in the room but some of my group did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing