We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay here, you know yopu're in Jerusalem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you stay here, you know yopu're in Jerusalem!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellent food with fair amount of Middle Eastern/Arab cuisine and a good Italian restaurant also for ac hange. Wines first class, and the atmospheric cellar bar is magic - diplomts, journalists, spies, sensible and gossipy tourists from every country. Comfortable bedrooms. Central outdoor square for tea and dinner - fountains and olive trees while the muezzin chants. Service occasionally slow, but friendly and helpful. Concierge efficiently arranges tours, taxis, information. With my walking problem it was more than ten minutes to the Damascus Gate to the Old City, but manageable if not in a hurry - also close to new light rail service gets you all around the sity. A great place to stay - wordl class (Lawrence of Arabia was here - and many other glitterati!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MythicalBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    208
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
172
382
93
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Most hotels with a history are past their prime, but not American Colony. The star attraction is the courtyard garden, where you can enjoy anything from breakfast to an evening drink (and you may here a call to prayer from the minaret next to the hotel). I stayed in a pasha room overlooking the pool, which was pretty inviting. The hotel is just inside the Arab section, so it's an interesting contrast from the centre of Jerusalem. Unfortunately, though, the staff weren't at all welcoming -- a smile would help!

Room Tip: Go for a pasha room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here in April this year after seeing the reviews. I prefer hotels with character for vacations and WOW ! This is all about ambiance and character. Every corner of the place seems to have a story. The arched rooms, the bar, the gardens. And there is a whole story about the founders who were some devout Christians who came to Jerusalem to find Utopia. Anyway on a more practical note, the room i had ( 54) was in "the East House " which is a separate building with its own garden where I spent a lot of time ( the pool was open but it was a touch cold outside though I did use it on the one very warm day).
I ate in the hotel twice and though a bit expensive it was really top class, and could get non kosher food unlike many hotels around. Service was brilliant and I would highly recommend it. I I don't know much about the other alternatives but if you want something special this has to be it ! .

Room Tip: Personally I prefer rooms away from the main building but I have to say I don't know what they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crabcake69
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Reserved a room for upcoming trip. At last minute our 9 year old daughter is able to come, so we asked for a roll-away bed in the room. One is available for $90 PER NIGHT. Rip off. We have cancelled the reservation. Will never stay there.

Room Tip: Beware adding anyone to the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank crabcake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Lovely setting, beloved of UN executives - who like to be seen to be supporting the Arabic cause - as most of the staff are Arab Israelis - which I applaud even as someone with Jewish ancestry, but please allow me this one wry comment in these politically correct times! Anyway, back to the hotel - garden is lovely for a drink or a light supper. Rooms are spacious, with character and reasonable views. Breakfast very interesting, Israeli/Arabic style. Walking distance to old city (Arabic quarter). Do see my room notes below. The reason I do not ive this hotel 5 stars all round is because, you pay a 5 star price for room and the food plus the service can be a little slow at times in the garden and at breakfast and is not especially friendly - although it is courteous. Also, as a tip, stop by at the "Garden Tomb" en route down the hill to the old city. It is said to be one of the possible burial sites of Jesus. A very pleasant way to escape the hustle and bustle, whatever you choose to believe.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs if you do not want to be woken by the "muezzin"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

On a recent visit to Jerusalem our host took us for a "snack" at the American Colony Hotel, I hardly concentrated on the food, but instead wandered the halls reading clippings and viewing photographs of all the historically fascinating events of which the American Colony played a central role. As we were leaving I glimpsed the open door of the BOOKSHOP directly across the driveway from the lobby. I'm a book person (own a Kindle Fire, Ipad, Nook and regularly give Kindles for Bar Mitzvah presents), but nothing prepared me for this distinctively Jerusalem book experience. I worked 5 years as a part-time Barnes & Nobles bookseller and I thought I knew Middle Eastern books, but the Bookshop proved me wrong. The first surprise was the quantity of personal Palestinian narratives in English, I didn't even know those existed. Then there were the "edgy" Israeli books BOTH from the far left to the far right, including many European and especially British history books. These are specifically the kinds of books you never see in the U.S. bookstores. Munther, the owner, was so patient in the face of my embarrassing ignorance and loaded me up with so much fascinating reading material. When I got home I checked and none of these books were as yet in e-book form. I have since learned that the likes of Hillary Clinton and George Mitchell have passed through the Bookshop and had an experience similar to mine. Rather than being offended by the diversity of the book selections, I felt proud that ONLY IN ISRAEL could this kind of freedom of expression flourish and in East Jerusalem no less.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hsmukler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

One of the most beautiful and charming hotels in the Middle East. An oasis within the city, located in East Jerusalem, the Arabic part of the city. Insofar, there is nothing to add to other reviews.
Especially I would like to highlight the bookshop in the hotel which provides a large range of recent books and studies on the Middle East and especially the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. For every intellectual and/or scholar It is worthwhile to spend there some time and talk to the most polite owner. Almost everyone will find there a book of interest as well as new insights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerd_Win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing