We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel at 108$ non refundable in my 68 year life”
Review of Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zion Hotel
Ranked #80 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed April 3, 2013

my friend booked a 10 night standard double for 1080 $ non refundable through booking.com---at the Zion Hotel which is an absolute nightmare-very noisy even at 3.30am -when we arrived after a long flight and a 90min drive from the airport

Shaviness already from the entrancedoor -dirt -no elevator and no luggage help where our first impression

they gave us an "emergency room " uncleaned -dirty towels and bedsheets-to the backyard without space enough to place our luggage and unable to close the windows an compressor running somewhere and streetworks

since we were unable to sleep we got up 3 hours later and hoped to get some coffe -only boiled water and somthing like coffeepowder for selvservice-a terrible taste so we went to a bar nearby
and got real good coffee

when the manager MR. Claude at 8am arrived we got an even smaller room on the roof just as dirty ++++++no other room free he said and the fact that the Broken toilet seat was dangerous at night didnt impress him-he just called me a complainer

the breakfast was the same old cut bread and a few cereals of the ceapeast quality and not fresh

I contacted booking.com without any reaction -3 days later also on the local phone -only they will contact the hotel

the hotel is run down -even on the floortiles in the breakfastroom are loose and uneven and the tableclothes are dirty and uncleaned

we met a turkish couple who said they make their own cleaning as she was missing a few things
after 2 nights

nothing works there -sometimes not even the hot water and in Europe would any hotel inspection or control had this hotel shut down -mould in the bathrooms and never? cleaned aircondition and heating devices

the location is cental and some of the service staff is friendly

but the price-and what you get is the worst I ever experienced in all over the world in 50 years

Room Tip: never book a non refundable as the manager there has taken the money and finds everything is OK-no c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gerdt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

In connection with my daughters wedding we stayed at the hotel. I had some jewelry with me -
unfortunately there is no safe, but I trusted the hotel and for the first 2 days I had my little bag hidden in the suitcase (not locked - my fault). For the remaining days I asked my friend to have it in her suite case - this time locked. But it was to late!!! - from my bag a heavy gold bracelet and a gold chain with a gold cross - was taken.
Worse to come - I contacted the hotel several times, but they didn't even bother to answer me. Also a member of my family was personally there twice - but no result - no investigation - no nothing. I am aware that this will not bring my bracelet and chain back, but it may be a lesson to travelers - and the hotel, they should a least answer mails
My advise - book another hotel!
To be fair I will give it one star for the location.

Room Tip: Definitely find another hotel! !!!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Ina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Zion Hotel is a good price and a good distance from the Old City. You can see the front of the hotel from the main street (Jaffa Road) so none of that roaming around back streets looking for some tiny alley way. If you arrive by bus you can take the tram to Jaffa Center and get off and there's the hotel. It's a 5-10 minute walk down to the Old City, and a quick tram ride back up to the hotel at the end of the day if you're tired.
The hotel itself is nice- not fancy but has all the basics you need. A decent, standard breakfast, good size room, bathroom, bed, etc. The room I stayed in was a little bare- for a "superior" room, as they called it, they could put a painting or a print up on the wall for some color. The hotel is above a restaurant with good food, and plenty of great bars and restaurants around.
The front desk helped us arrange a tour to Masada and Dead Sea; very helpful and nice. A 5 Star hotel it is not, but then, you're not paying 5 star prices. A good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Dirty and very shabby rooms, dust everywhere especially in the dining room! Our room was up 3 flights of stairs. No one made the beds or emptied the bin and the thin towel with holes was not replaced. The first room allocated to us had a view of a brick wall, the tv didn't work and neither did the shower. We asked for another room and the next day the morning receptionist gave us a room with a shower that worked. The evening receptionist was a sleaszy piece of work and he kept telling us he loved us ( we were two females travelling around Israel ) it was a bit daunting! If we hadn't paid in advance we would certainly not have stayed there. - I would give this place 1 out of 10 for the location, which is the only thing going for this place.

Room Tip: Read reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsc-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on arrival in Jerusalem for one night.

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Jerusalem's night life centre. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are old and tired, so is the bathroom.

However, price quality is ok. If you want to get a proper night's rest, you have to be aware that the rooms are not very sound proof against the happy life in the street below.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olaf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Receptionist was very friendly and helpful but the appearance of the hotel left us more and more disappointed as we went deeper. The rooms were disappointing and looked grungy. The carpets were ancient and needed some care. The bathroom was in much need of modernisation and just general repairs. The towels were thin and holed, much like the sheets on the bed. The location was the best aspect to this hotel but noise from the street was unavoidable. Breakfast was paltry and smoking by the window next to the breakfast table was accepted as normal. Not in my mind good value for money but that seems to be the way in Jerusalem!

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if stairs are troublesome ask for a room on a lower floor but be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldagetrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed for a week and although it is true that it is not the most modern hotel and lacks an elevator/lift this is more than made up by the reasonable price, fabulous location and friendliness of the French and English speaking staff. A perfect place to stay in Jerusalem if you are not looking for five star luxury and prices

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Kaplan Hotel
#61 of 101 in Jerusalem
154 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palatin Hotel
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
150 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
#76 of 101 in Jerusalem
267 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Hotel

Address: 10 Dorot Rishonim, Jerusalem 9462510, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $69 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing