We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was good for me but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zion Hotel
Ranked #72 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel was good for me but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Cons:
The Zion hotel is a bit shabby & could certainly use a renovation.
The rooms are a bit small
The bathrooms need help
The bedding was outdated by decades
The lack of elevator/lift can be a problem for heavy suitcases.

Pros:
Location, location, location!!!
The reception balcony overlooks a walking street near Zion Square that is just teaming with life!
Great restaurants, bars, shopping, street musicians--- just steps from the door
10 minute walk from Old Jerusalem's Jaffa Gate
10 minute walk from the huge local open air market
Bank ATM's 2 minute walk
Most of the staff were very helpful

Room Tip: Don't go expecting a fancy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    28
    22
    23
See reviews for
25
54
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great area for people who enjoy walking. No elevators so not good for handicapped. Pleasant walk to old city. Also close to Nesher cab service to Ben Gurion. Breakfast ok. Wi fi in lobby. Convenient location. Old world charm. Would stay again. Nice shopping and restaurants. Good for people watching and street performers!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erwinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

3 flight os stairs to go to the rooms. NO help with the luggage to the room. We are a 73-71 years old couple and we arrived late at night. It was a nightmare to take our luggage by ourselves 3 flight of stairs... Noone offered any help!!!! No elevator/lift....
Bedding/sheets was old and full of holes. Bathroom was flooded when the shower was used. Room was dirty and old...
An obnoxious old lady stayed near the front desk checking out the guests during breakfast, which was not so appealing....Unfriendly staff!!!!

Room Tip: Look a room elsewhere!!!!!````````````````````````
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2010. The hotel has a great location - it is within 15 minutes walk to the Old City of Jerusalem and other areas of interest. The staff were helpful and the breakfast good enough. The room was rather small but very clean, there are a lot of cheap eating places around the hotel. The only problem we had during our stay in this hotel - wi-fi worked only in the hall near reception, but not in our room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

The room was clean, the bed comfortable - the water from the shower flooded the floor.
A large (very large) cockroach appeared out of the woodwork in the bathroom. The room was situated almost right on top of the Jazz Club next door - the music from which kept me awake, but I must say it was very good Jazz. The older lady on the staff bothered me - she just hung around the front desk area - really gave me the creeps. She was obviously wearing an incontinence pad - showed through her clothes. Breakfast was good.
I would try for somewhere else next time. We stayed 5 nights here. Would recommend only for location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

we stayed there for 4 nights, 2 in so called superior room which is OK , not much space but clean and bathroom working. Since hotel was fully booked we had to move into a standard room, which was more or less clean, no space to put down, or even open the luggage, and nothing was working is the bathroom, toilet did not flush, showerhead was spraying everywhere, water at the handwash was only a trickle, took ages to wash your teeth.
After complaining, they registered the problems,very politely, and nothing ever happened to fix it. Location is very good, noise level varies.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank csibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed 1 night in the Zion hotel-and that was one night far too long.The beds were very thin and very soft, the shower rail collapsed when I tried to shower and when I got cold in the middle of the night, the duvet I took from a cupboard had large holes all over and smelled of damp washing that I could not use it.We also had to change rooms at 11.30pm as the one room did not have hot water.
When we complained in the morning,we were told the owner would be in later,but by 3pm he hadnt arrived and we had to leave.There is not one positive thing I can say about this hotel-it is run down,is filthy and i dont think any service exists.A definite no no for recomendation

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelrChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Palatin Hotel
#58 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Kaplan Hotel
#53 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#74 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#33 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Hotel

Property: Zion Hotel
Address: 10 Dorot Rishonim, Jerusalem 9462510, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing