We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #45 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

just spent 5 nights there , overall very pleased , good breakfast great pools and nice rooms , only downside is the location , need a car to get to the old city or a bus , staff were good , for a kibbutz hotel we were pleasently suprised

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatola4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 255 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

rooms are basic, old and the nobody seem to take care of broken elements.
rust in the bathroom and the in "balcony".
Food is terrible. location is poor. need to pass through unfreindly neighborhood.
Jerusalem is full with great places other than this sh**-hole.
just stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there for several days in July 2012.

We had more than $400 worth of items stolen from our room, and there was at least two attempted entries while my wife was in the room. (And no, this was not cleaning staff.)

A woman traveling alone should not stay at this hotel.

Adding insult to injury, the hotel lied to us, saying that 'this had never happened before' - which tells me that this hotel is not interested in fixing their security problem. They also offered no reimbursement for our loss.

Also, their marketing is deceptive. The Ramat Rachel hotel is NOT anywhere near the 'heart of Jerusalem'. It is at the southern edge of Jerusalem, a 2+ hours walk from the center of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Ramat Rachel Hotel is on the outskirts of Jerusalem. It's a great place to stay if you want some quiet at the end of the day of touring. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby. The pool is super - large, clean and refreshing. The grounds are well maintained and you can enjoy the cool Jerusalem evening air after a day of touring.

Breakfasts are typical for Israeli hotels - plentiful with lots of variety. The same can be said or other meals if you are eating in the hotel.

There is a city bus route that starts and ends at the hotel so transportation back and forth into town is easy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in May and had a pleasant stay. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool looked great as well. Our room was modern, spacious and clean. The bathroom was in good order. The breakfast and dinner buffets like any (most) buffets in Israel - plenty of selection, but pretty much the same everywhere you go. There is free Internet in the lobby and even free use of laptops if needed. The bar area is functional, not pretty. If you're lucky you may even get a bartender that knows how to do more than just pour a beer ;-) Staff was very friendly and helpful - not always encountered in Israel!
Ramat Rachel is really on the outskirts of the Jerusalem, meaning a ca. € 15 taxi ride into the Old City. However, I would not hesitate to book again as I enjoyed the peace and quiet after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zippy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at Ramat Rachel in April 2012. Was were with a group. My room was ok but other group members complainted about lots of ants in their rooms.
Food was great!
Theoretically there is a bus line 7 going from the hotel to somewhere in the city center but I have never seen this bus. The only way you can get to the city center is to take a taxi, the price varies from 60 shekels (16 USD) on Saturday to 40 shekels (11 USD) on other days.
The hotel is located in Talpiot, I went for long walks in Talpiot, it is a residence area, nothing but houses. The only attraction is Agnon's house-museum which is open only in the morning (10-13).
I would not recomment this hotel because of its very unconvenient location unless you have a car or have some business in Talpiot. The seminar I attented was in a building in Talpiot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nresoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just stopped here for lunch. Lunch was set up as cafeteria style, hot meal, salad bar, and sandwiches. The staff was friendly, but they didn’t tell us that if you got some salad with your hot meal you paid double for two meals. The food was basic and average for lunch. Place was very busy with large tour groups and very noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
3.5 mi away
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
654 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agripas Boutique Hotel
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
499 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mount Zion Hotel
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Yehuda
Hotel Yehuda
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
847 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,385 reviews
3.1 mi away
City Center Jerusalem
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#31 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. Due to scheduling changes in construction of Ramat Rachel's new Sports Center for summer 2017, only one swimming pool will be open this summer. The 1.20-meter pool has designated areas for laps and free swimming. Throughout the summer, guests can enjoy a new inflatable water playground, as well as Jerusalem's longest water slide. A children's pool will not be available for use this summer. Have a safe and happy summer! The Hotel Staff. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing