We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable and quiet away from the crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramat Rachel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Ramat Rachel Hotel is on the outskirts of Jerusalem. It's a great place to stay if you want some quiet at the end of the day of touring. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby. The pool is super - large, clean and refreshing. The grounds are well maintained and you can enjoy the cool Jerusalem evening air after a day of touring.

Breakfasts are typical for Israeli hotels - plentiful with lots of variety. The same can be said or other meals if you are eating in the hotel.

There is a city bus route that starts and ends at the hotel so transportation back and forth into town is easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    67
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
46
29
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in May and had a pleasant stay. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool looked great as well. Our room was modern, spacious and clean. The bathroom was in good order. The breakfast and dinner buffets like any (most) buffets in Israel - plenty of selection, but pretty much the same everywhere you go. There is free Internet in the lobby and even free use of laptops if needed. The bar area is functional, not pretty. If you're lucky you may even get a bartender that knows how to do more than just pour a beer ;-) Staff was very friendly and helpful - not always encountered in Israel!
Ramat Rachel is really on the outskirts of the Jerusalem, meaning a ca. € 15 taxi ride into the Old City. However, I would not hesitate to book again as I enjoyed the peace and quiet after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at Ramat Rachel in April 2012. Was were with a group. My room was ok but other group members complainted about lots of ants in their rooms.
Food was great!
Theoretically there is a bus line 7 going from the hotel to somewhere in the city center but I have never seen this bus. The only way you can get to the city center is to take a taxi, the price varies from 60 shekels (16 USD) on Saturday to 40 shekels (11 USD) on other days.
The hotel is located in Talpiot, I went for long walks in Talpiot, it is a residence area, nothing but houses. The only attraction is Agnon's house-museum which is open only in the morning (10-13).
I would not recomment this hotel because of its very unconvenient location unless you have a car or have some business in Talpiot. The seminar I attented was in a building in Talpiot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nresoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,276 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just stopped here for lunch. Lunch was set up as cafeteria style, hot meal, salad bar, and sandwiches. The staff was friendly, but they didn’t tell us that if you got some salad with your hot meal you paid double for two meals. The food was basic and average for lunch. Place was very busy with large tour groups and very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The first room we were given had a very noisy bathroom fan. We complained and were given a new room. I wanted to take a shower at 5 pm when I checked in, but there was no hot water, so I took a tepid shower in a cold bathroom. The main room was a bit cramped and uncomfortable and there were no kleenex. There were 4 light switches in a group. The switches on the right controlled the lights on the left and vice-versa. The switches on the top controlled the lights on the bottom, and vice-versa. You ended up pressing every button to turn on or off a light. It was very frustrating. I would not stay there again. The elevators somehow faced away from pedestrian traffic and were hard to find. They also needed a coat of paint because the paint was dirty and scuffed up. The building and grounds were beautiful and breakfast was delicious. Staff was helpful. I complained to my tour guide and was told this hotel was a great value in the Jerusalem area. Give me a Comfort Inn any day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The room was modern, spacious and clean, of good standard. Hotel breakfast and dinner buffet was very good. We found it over expectation. Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinglish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Ten years ago my husband and I were married at the Hotel Ramat Rachel and were very excited to go there with our twin five year olds. Although winters are cold in Jerusalem, we were looking forward to spending time in the heated pool and enjoying all the hotel has to offer. We arrived on a cold Friday afternoon. The room was absolutely freezing. We then noticed cold air was coming out of the air conditioner. We called the front desk and asked someone to come check it. We waited for over half an hour and still no one came, so we thought we'd take a nice, hot bath. To our dismay, there was no hot water. We called the front desk again and they said they would send someone. About ten minutes later, a man finally arrived. He checked the shower and said, "It's a big hotel. That's what happens when many people take a shower. There isn't enough hot water. I can't tell other people not to shower" (Well, being a hotel, wouldn't you think they'd try to solve the problem?) He then went to take a look at the air conditioner. He tinkered with it for a while, brought another man who helped them, messed around with it, said it was okay, and left. It wasn't okay, we froze all night. It was only fixed the next day, about an hour before we checked out.
The pool is within walking distance of the hotel, but there is no connecting corridor which means that in the freezing cold of Jerusalem, you have to walk outside for about 10 minutes. The pool itself was FREEZING as well. Our girls wanted so much to splash around that we finally gave in and went for a swim. After about 20 minutes, their lips had turned blue from the cold. Then, in the freezing cold, we walked back to the hotel.
And now for the pièce de résistance: When we got to our room on the first day, there was only one chair. Since our twins both wanted to sit and color, I asked the lady at the front desk if we could have another chair. She looked at me and said without flinching, "I'm sorry, but we don't have any more chairs in the hotel." I was so flabbergasted that I didn't even argue with her. (um, I saw lots of chairs in the lobby, in the restaurant… a bit of good will and imagination could have quickly solved the problem, but she couldn't care less.)
All in all, it was a freezing nightmare. We were sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rinati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
0.4 mi away
A Little House in Bakah
A Little House in Bakah
#38 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#25 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yehuda
Hotel Yehuda
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#13 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Zion Hotel
Mount Zion Hotel
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Property: Ramat Rachel Resort
Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#26 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. The Ramat Rachel Sports Center is open to hotel guests and offers modern, advanced equipment. The center includes heated and outdoor pools and is open from 6 am to 10 pm on weekdays. In addition, a large and sophisticated fitness center, professional trainers, futsal and tennis courts, sauna, steam room, spa and pampering whirlpool are offered on site. A poolside snack bar offers nibbles and treats during opening hours. Activities at Kibbutz Ramat Rachel: Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Eshet Incoming, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing