We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, comfortable and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Prima Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Prima Palace
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

comfortable place to stay with decent size room and bathroom. Good location and friendly, helpful staff. Even though it was an Orthodox Jewish hotel we weren't expected to adhere to their customs and in fact it was very interesting to view their culture as we were there for shabbat and also a Jewish wedding. One of our party also left items in the room which were there on our return visit several days later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Hotel Prima Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel.One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay. We hope you will be returning to stay with us in Jerusalem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    59
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
53
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Since our flight arrived in Tel Aviv at 3:30 am we wanted to make sure that we could check in early. The hotel advised us that we could do so with a $50 surcharge. When we arrived exhausted at 5:30 am the guard (who did his best to help us despite lack of training) told us that despite our reservation the hotel was full. We asked him if he could call another hotel which he did. The other hotel, also another Prima Hotel, told him that we would have to pay a rate substantially higher than the rate we reserved. We asked the guard to call the hotel manager which he did. The manager advised him to tell us that a room would be ready at 7:30. After repeatedly checking in with the front desk and being given erroneous information we were finally able to go to our room and go to sleep at 8:30. From then on the hotel was on the whole satisfactory. The positives include good beds, towels and linens, good room good air conditioning, good breakfast and walking distance to the Old City. The negatives include a generally surly front desk staff, poor (for a fee) wifi, the immediate area of the hotel isn't particularly appealing and the rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Hotel Prima Palace, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel as we are always working to make our guests' stays better. Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked and we did our best to give you the room as soon as we could. In order to ensure your room ready at 5:30 A.M/ you should reserve the room one day before the arrival. We hope to see you again among our guests on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to be close to central Jerusalem (it's less than a block away from the Davidka light rail stop on Jaffa Road, and less than a 5 minute walk to Mahane Yehuda, Ben Yehuda, and Geula. It's a quick train ride (3 stops) down to the other end of Jaffa Road by Jaffa Gate and Mamila, and from there it's an easy enough walk through the Old City if you want to get to/from the Kotel (Western Wall)

Yes, it's a religious hotel, and during the holidays it does cater to a mostly religious clientele, ranging from yeshivish to Chassidish. There is a charedi synagogue in the basement, as is typical of most hotels in Jerusalem. However, it has a separate entrance from the hotel itself so it's pretty much independent.

That said, my wife and I (who fall into the more modern end of things on the spectrum) never felt out of place, and were made to feel welcome by the staff. Breakfast (which came with our rate) was a full Israeli-style buffet, with fresh cheeses, fruit, vegetables, eggs made to order, and breads/pastries, as well as coffee/cappuccino and juices. The kosher supervisor (mashgiach) was very attentive and made sure everything was cooked and served properly.

The elevators are set to run automatically on Shabbat and holidays, which can be disconcerting to someone not familiar with the concept. However, there were no shabbat clock (timers) on any of the lamps in the hotel rooms, which I found somewhat odd. Considering that the hotel went to the trouble of installing ritual hand-washing sinks in each room (and not in their bathroom) - I found the lack of shabbat timers somewhat odd. However, the staff was helpful with guests who needed lights switched back on after housekeeping serviced rooms. Beds were comfortable and A/C was cold as ice (a good thing in Israel especially during the summer months)

There were a couple of small minuses that kept me from giving the hotel a full 5 out of 5:

Parking: The parking lot for the hotel is small, even for Israeli-sized cars. If you're renting a car and planning on staying there, make sure you can get a space. Otherwise you'll be paying for parking on the street or in one of the municipal lots (there is one within a few blocks' walk by Mahane Yehuda)

In-room safe: We had two separate stays on our recent trip, one for 5 days and another 2 days. Both times, the in-room safes were not working.

TV service: Only a few channels are offered - no Fox, Sky News, or CNN. While it's true that some guests don't watch TV, there are quite a few who would.

Internet: not easy to connect to, and pricey compared to other locations nearby.

All in all - a really good place to stay in Jerusalem, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: First floor most convenient especially on Shabbat and Yom Tov
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slave2mybulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Hotel Prima Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant with lots of details review. We take pride in the design of our hotel, the location and we are glad you found everything to be comfortable. We hope to see you again soon among our guests.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an unpretenscious hotel that served well our needs. The managment was helpful and friendly, the rooms were quite and clean and the AC worked very well.
We left inadvertently money and an expesive camera in the room and after the room was cleaed nothing was missing.
Will use it again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Hotel Prima Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Prima Palace and that you would recommend our hotel to friends. It seems as though you enjoyed your stay in Jerusalem and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a Hotel for religious people - Kosher Hotel - but we didn't feel "strange" there.
We loved staying at a tipical kosher hotel, because it is another way to know other culturs.
Convenient location near shopping street (Jaffa St.) and tramway line. We can walk to the Old City (about 5 minutes) down the way.
The hotel parking is tiny and you may have a fine ticket if you park in the streets.
The internet is not free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motty N, Manager at Hotel Prima Palace, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel. One of the nicwst things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope you will returning to stay with us in Jerusalem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were there for 3 nights
best locatin-the new tramp 3 station to the old city
hotel was good very good staff. rooms little small but have what you need.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rroonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Not being Orthodox Jews (but rather Reform Jews), we felt unwelcome and uncomfortable from the moment we arrived. The room was so small, there was literally no place to put luggage. The housekeeping crew was unbelievably noisy at 8:30am, waking us from a dead sleep to clean the room across from ours (we HAD put a "Sleeping" sign on our door, so they had the opportunity to be quieter if they had chosen to be.) The breakfast was mediocre. We stayed at their sister hotel, the Prima Royale, last year and loved it, so we thought this was a safe bet. I don't plan on ever staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Nachla'ot
Prima Kings Hotel
Prima Kings Hotel
#27 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prima Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prima Palace

Property: Hotel Prima Palace
Address: 2 Pines Street, Jerusalem 91280, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#32 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prima Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prima Palace in Jerusalem offers a unique blend of modern amenities with a tradition atmosphere that gives an authentic feel to a stay in the Holy City. Within walking distance to the Western Wall, Old City, and many other famous Jerusalem attractions. Located in Mea Sharim, the Hotel works to cater to more observant visitors, with a certification of Glatt Kosher Bagadat Israel, Netilat Yadim ( hand washing sinks) in rooms, an on-site synagogue, seperate men’s Mikva, and separate dining rooms for Dairy and Meat. Additionally, there is Daf HaYom readings daily and a large library of books for guests. Our 76 room Hotel offers Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and all public areas of he hotels. The rooms also include: Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room• Mini refrigerator in room• Multi channel cable flatscreen TV • Safe deposit box in room Made from Jerusalem stone and with a large patio, the Prima Palace is an experience in itself. The Hotel is a perfect place for life’s celebrations; bar-mitzvahs, weddings, shabbat chatans and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prima Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Palace Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing