We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Badly needs renovation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms are in total disrepair. Mold in bathrooms and broken and stained furniture. Air conditioning insufficient. All the restaurants were closed except one cafe. Lobby area rundown. All gardens and common areas rundown. They wanted an extra $75 per night to stay in the renovated section. Seriously? The un renovated sections are not fit to be used until the entire hotel is renovated. Near the light rail station so fairly easy to get around.

Room Tip: Don't stay here until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    348
    159
    70
    52
See reviews for
317
265
49
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I Got a birthday present from my sister and brother a weekend at the Dan Hotel in Jerusalem.
When I got to the Hotel they asked me to wait because they want to upgrade my room to a larger and better room.
The staff was extremely nice, especially Ben the concierge.
The food was quite tasty
The Spa was very nice and peaceful
I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Let me begin by stating that we knew going in to our stay that we were dealing with a "value" property. We needed a large room for 1 week for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and thats what we got. Now for the Pros vs Cons:

Pros:
1) the "family" room was large (2 rooms and pullout) and overall clean
2) the buffet breakfast (inc in price of room) was excellent and typical Israeli bill of fare

Cons:
1) the hotel needs an GUT renovation - its a on Mt Scopus in a beautiful setting but inside the carpets are frayed (and unkempt), plaster is cracking, floors are not nice

2) service is not prompt (and its not cuz we are demanding NYers). We called for more towels and it took forever

3) totally understaffed - didn't clean halls and pick up trash in the common areas

4) its not proximate to the Old City and requires cab rides everywhere - however a short walk to the light rail worked

We travelled all throughout the Country and even though the DJ had its downsides - it offered enough for us to survive - its a bit of a factory for summer vacations for Israeli families - its not for the discriminating traveler but we definitely went in w eyes wide open and got what we paid for...

It could be a beautiful property albeit requires certainly a costly reno - it didnt deter us from having a incredible time for a meaningful family event

Room Tip: They offered us a room upgrade for the second half of our stay on the Executive floors - these are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuts4shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've been to the hotel, my wife and my 2 years old son.
It was great vacation. Although the hotel was fully-occupied we didn't felt it was crowded at whole.
The kids club is nice, and the pool is awesome.
Very recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Rooms are renovated, executive rooms are great for family with 2 kids.
Service is a little slow bot overall te hotel is clean, food is great and staff are welcome.
Pool is not big, might become crowded on summer time.
For kids the club is very nice.
Lots of parking in the hote's parking. Little far from city, the concierge help on trips in jerusalem was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week as part of a large group on a sporting tour. The first room I was given was dark and without a view but that was quickly changed. Great hotel facilities and views back to the city but it is located in a residential area and is not walking distance to any tourist amenities, restaurants, bars, shops or the many attractions Jerusalem has to offer. Staff were great!

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a refurbished room with balcony and view to Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have only a good things to say about the hotel. Everything was great! the view of the old city is breath taking, the staff was very nice. The food was great, a lot of choices.My kids also enjoyed and love the pool and the activities.

Room Tip: A view to the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,326 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,678 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing