We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort hotel in Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I just returned from a 10-night stay at The Dan Jerusalem. My one-week stay was extended by 3 nights due to Hurricane Sandy. It appears that this hotel was once one of the more deluxe hotels in Jerusalem. It’s also obvious that with all of the current renovations going on, Dan is trying to restore the hotel to this former position.
The hotel staff was all very accommodating and friendly, from the front desk, to the restaurants and lounges, housekeeping and the spa.
We stayed in a newly renovated Executive Room on the 5th floor. It was so new that we were actually the first guests to stay in the room since it’s renovation. The room and bathroom were both spacious and comfortable with modern amenities. The decor was very contemporary with browns and earth tones throughout. Each room has a private balcony or patio, with most of them offering dramatic views of the entire city of Jerusalem. These rooms also provide access to the King David Lounge. This space was a very pleasant and comfortable room that offered complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day. It was a wonderful place to relax before or after going out.
The main restaurant was a buffet that offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only used it for breakfast. It offered a very large, varied and delicious buffet. The restaurant was quite busy and hectic, especially before 8:00am when most of the large groups were dining.
The hotel also has a spa on the ground floor, which offers the normal services as well as an indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, a well-equipped gym and a sauna and steam room. The gym and indoor pool were often crowded in the morning and evening as it does offer memberships to local residents.
The hotel is a large property with a very unique architectural design. It sits on Mt. Scopus and offers stunning views of the old and new city from most of its public spaces and many of the rooms. The immediate neighborhood includes the Hebrew University and residential apartments. There really is not much to do in the immediate vicinity. However, it’s a very quick and easy walk to the light rail station as well as to bus stops. The only other option to get around is to take a taxi. Under normal traffic conditions a taxi to the old city is not expensive. However, while we were there, the traffic was almost always heavy, resulting in higher than normal fares. While some people may find this location a bit removed, I found it to be a perfect spot. It was nice to return to a more resort like hotel after a day of sightseeing.
The only constructive comment I have on the hotel is the Wi-Fi service it offers. If you’re willing to pay a daily fee, you can have access in your room. Otherwise, they offer free Wi-Fi in the 4th floor lobby. However the bandwidth provided is very limited and it was often very frustrating to try and get connected. You would see numerous people walking around with their devices trying to connect.
Overall, I found the Dan Jerusalem to be a wonderful hotel choice in Jerusalem. As it continues with their renovations, it should only become even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whirlwindnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Firstly, it is obvious that you took the time to write your review - please know that all your kind feedback is heartwarming and extremely valuable, so thank you. We have indeed spent much effort in creating perfect harmony in our brand new executive rooms and lounge. It is therefore truly pleasing to read of your appreciation for all those finer details. Equally, your positive feedback regarding our service, expansive food buffets and decor put only smiles on our faces. I hope that you got home safely and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back upon your next visit to Jerusalem.
With regards,
The Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much, we were exhausted after a very full day of touring and the Dan was a wonderful way to end the day. The hotel was so quiet, didn't hear a peep all night long. The room was actually a suite and was very nice. It took us a few minutes to figure out the cooling system but when we did the room was oh so comfortable! Food in the restaurant was average, it is a kosher restaurant so no meat with milk and vice versa. It is a ways off of the beaten path so if you want to be right in the center of Jerusalem, I would look elsewhere for a room!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ContinentsExplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Room facility was more than adequate, space is big.
Breakfast and dinner was also great! and swimming pool was awesome though we did not use the facility as were there in winter time.
This property is highly recommended for groups with pre-arrange tour program as location is not that great. Anyway, we were out the whole day and we just need a good place to rest, so who cares about locaiton.

Room Tip: Room location is a bit maze. Request for a room near the elevator for convenience in going to the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is situated on a hill and you will need to take the tram to go to the Old city We arrived and no one was there to carry our luggage in (A girl just watched us) The staff is friendly and attenative but lack basic knowledge. They are all young The concierge will direct you to places that are more expensive than you can do on your own They also tried vacuming in front of our room at 2 AM Checkout was mixed up Breakfast buffett is very large with some food tasty others not so You should eat elsewhere if you want great food at a good price! Did run into a cockroach in the cafeteria. Pool was great They should have free Wi Fi in the executive reception area so you do not need to go to to fourth floor... It is an old hyatt so the place is beautiful but I sense it is losing its luster. Rooms are great. (Again watch out no hangers were present on the fourth floor) . For the price I think you could do better

Room Tip: Sixth floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & i went to the Dan Jerusalem for the weekend. i really recommend this hotel.
the hotel is very nice & clean, we got a room in the a wing that was just refurbished, everything was new & very convenient.
The hotel stuff was very nice & helpful, they answered every question we had with a smile.
the food was great, there was a wide variety, & everything was fresh & had good flavor.
the hotel has a nice outdoor pool (although this time of the year it's a bit cold to swim).
The spa is very nice, it has a gym, sauna, jacuzzi a turkish hamam & an inside pool (the spa costs extra).
the hotel location is very good, it's not in the center of the city, BUT, it's very close to the bus station & just a few minutes walk from the light train station. so we managed to go anywhere, without using our car (there is a free underground parking for the hotel guests).
To sum it up i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yonathan_ynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I visited Israel and stayed at this hotel during a professional convnetion for 4 days. I had the best time.
Everything was well prepared and made us feel welcome, including the meeting rooms.
I had a new renovated room (at the 6th floor) and it was really comfortable - soft beds and nice clean bathrooms with all you need.
I liked the breakfast and enjoyed very much diners- the desserts are unique!
Another area to enjoy in the hotel is the new King Davis lounge - a special relaxing place with an exclusive style.
Whenever I needed some help, the staff was right there ready to help with a smile, attentive and friendly, couldn't ask for more... in between meetings I visited the Spa which includes a nice gym pool and jacuzzi.
I left to the airport late afternoon and was able to wait in the lobby bar till my departure.
I will definitely visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: try the 6th floor renovated rooms - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

6 dead cockroaches welcomed us. There were a lot along the corridor and behind the bed even in the elevator. A few more dead cockroaches appeared the following days.The side table lamp didnt have an on and off switch so you will need to move the bed to plug and unplug . Staff are nice. Buffet breakfast is ok.. I am NOT staying in this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaraPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear ZaraPrince,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor; it is through feedback from our guests where we are able to monitor service delivery.
Throughout the hotel we strive for the utmost standards in housekeeping and cleanliness; it is a concern to hear of your dissapointment and your experiences; thank you for highlighting this to us. Whilst this comes a little too late to rectify for you, we can assure you that thorough and frequent fumigation is carried out on a regular basis throughout the hotel, I am sorry that you experienced this and have ensured to follow up with our housekeeping and maintenance teams.
We hope that you might give us another opportunity to show you the true colours of the elegant Dan Jerusalem hotel - as such please do contact me prior to your next visit to Jerusalem so I may be able to ensure of a peaceful and pleasant stay.
With regards,
Yehuda - General Manager
DanJerusalem@DanHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#25 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,715 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,506 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,361 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $149 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing