We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Revies Aren't True!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Lutonm, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Revies Aren't True!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

We read some bad reviews for this hotel ( after we had booked ) but we found the staff friendly, waiters attentive and receptionists helpful. We had a lovely 5 days there!!!
The rooms need upgrading a little but that didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedecents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    94
    78
    28
    17
See reviews for
54
57
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This hotel was booked for me by our tour operator. The reviews on Trip Advisor were mixed, but I found nothing but the negatives. We stayed at 2 Dan Panorama's and a kibbutz in addition to the King Solomon while in Israel and this hotel was by far the worst experience. The food, both at breakfast and at dinner, was way below par in terms of quality and selection. The room consisted of 2 single beds pushed together to make a double, which was OK, but when we separated the beds, the filth underneath was unbelievable! Even more disgusting was that upon returning to the room after our first day of touring, the room had been serviced by housekeeping but most of the dirt was still on the carpet. I called housekeeping and several hours later a really ticked-off looking bellhop came up with a vacuum and watched me while I used it myself on his floor. Overall, the staff ranged from 1) at best, going through the motions to 2) at worst, mildly hostile. It's the poorest quality service I've ever experienced in a hotel. And, don't bother trying to cash a travelers check at the front desk - I tried twice a day for 4 days and not once did the desk have even 50 dollars in shekels to exchange. Save yourself aggravation. The Dan Panorama Jerusalem is right next door. I can't speak to the rooms but eventually I learned to ask their concierge for recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coldstreamdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were aprehensive about the reviews of odour and cleanliness and rude staff.... but to our surprise we LOVED this hotel.

Those who have given bad reviews have unrealistic & "lofty" expectations to be sure! The hotel has been under renovation and we were very pleased with our large,CLEAN room. ( Yes, if you study deep in some of the corners of the room you might notice that the wall paper here and there is lifting, but this appears to be under renovation - virtually unnoticeable)

The staff were friendly. The food was VERY good and the wait staff seemed proud to have us try all their fine culanary dishes - which were fabulous. The piano player in the lobby was so sweet and the kitchen and wait staff went out of their way to chat with us while we waited for our transportation to Tel Aviv. They wished us a speedy return.

The location is ideal; next to parks and cafes and only 15 - 20 minutes walk from places like Ben Yehuda and Mehana Yehuda market, and the Old City Jaffa Gate. You'r right in the middle of it all.

I have been to Israel 5 times, and my heart is in the Mt Zion hotel, but my wallet has found a new home at the King Solomon. A comparable hotel at a friendlier price!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourbugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

We checked into the King Solomon after finding that the hotel we had originally booked was a dungeon. Despite our last-minute booking and the fact that it was the end of Passover, the hotel gave us a fantastic rate. We were very very pleased. The location is of course ideal; the property, while admittedly aging, is well-maintained, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are generously sized, with a nice bathroom, well-cleaned and a lovely view of the Old City. The breakfast buffet is ample, though the food quality is mediocre. Shabbat lunch was also plentiful though the food left a great deal to be desired. Our only complaint really was the dining room, where the staff (particularly the maitre d') was rude or absent. Otherwise we were very happy here and would definitely stay here on a future visit to Jerusalem.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — Dining room
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKHROTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

The room we had was very large which was nice but it was definitely older and in need of some updating. The worst part of the hotel is it was dirty - they were slow to clean up and lobby and common areas were covered with crumbs several hours after meals.
When we arrived at the hotel and went to check out our room, the security guard was on the bed watching television and he had been smoking. The woman who checked us in was very nice, but the rest of the staff at the front desk was neither helpful nor very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have stayed there 2 times once in 2008 and again in 2009. We were with a tour group from SC. The beds were comfortable. The staft was really nice. We could not have better service. It needs a little work. But who ever said that it had a smell have your noise checked. It was clean and could be. No order.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawmaw28147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We cannot beleive the negative reviews on the King Solomon. Admittedly we were quite apprehensive after reading the scathing remarks re this hotel. Our tour group had huge rooms, nicely decorated, with large bathrooms (renovations have been done in the past 3 years). The food was delicious and the wait staff were not at all 'surly'. We feel when we interact with staff at any hotel, and treat them with courtesy, we receive the same back. The front desk were extremely obliging and any little glitches were attended to immediately. We had a room booked for our group to have some get-togethers, and it was set up for us, the heat turned on, screen provided for us, along with a table with tablecloth for the speaker. Compared to Dan Panorama with postage stamp size rooms, which is way more expensive, we have no hesitation in taking our group back again next year to King Solomon.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalebMicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#23 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Prima Royale
#21 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Prima Kings Hotel
Prima Kings Hotel
#25 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Property: King Solomon Hotel
Address: 32 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — King Solomon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Solomon is your hotel in Jerusalem. In a tranquil neighborhood, surrounded by gardens, located on King David Street, the most prestigious street in the country, you’re moments away from both the most luxurious shopping of Mamilla mall and the magical old city. Located on the city’s most prestigious street, the hotel is surrounded by tranquility. Across the street is the Montefiore windmill and its picturesque, romantic park. Another charming garden sits directly in front of the breakfast veranda and down the block is Liberty Bell Park-ideal for a picnic and a playground for your kids. In the other direction lies the open air promenade of Mamilla lined with upscale shopping and cafes. Once done, come marvel at our lobby boasting the famous Frank Meisler sculpture Jerusalem Fountain and our tall ceilings and art laden columns and grab a drink at our lobby lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon Jerusalem
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing