We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in our opinion.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in our opinion.”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Truly a world class hotel;
built to high standards
with very good service.
The restaurant over the pool
deck has a very nice view
of the Old City walls.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisuretravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
We are truly grateful for your high praise. We do our utmost to ensure our standards and service and I’m so pleased you enjoyed them.
You are most warmly welcome on future trips to Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    328
    128
    67
    45
See reviews for
739
412
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We spent six nights at the David Citadel and loved the hotel. Our room was large and extremely comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had a balcony with a view of the pool and a partial view of the old city. Ceilings were very high and that helped create the feelig of space. The pictures submitted by posters were of rooms that did not have the high ceilings. We were glad we spent the extra money for the balcony as we did enjoy it. Our older kids had no balcony and their room was also very nice.
The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and bathtub. Also there was a walk in closet. Cleaning staff were excellent and anything that we called for from the front desk was delivered in a very timely manner.

The breakfasts were very good but can get a little repetitive if you are there for multiple days but they were the best breakfast in the 5 hotels we stayed at during our stay in Israel. A few issues with the service at breakfast. There was an omelete station that appeared on the second day of our trip. This worked out very well as if you ordered any form of eggs directly from the kitchen you could wait an incredibly long time. We would end up having to leave one day before the eggs arrived as we had to get going. However, the omelete station was excellent and quick. However, for some unknown reason the management decided to "pull" the omelete station out and put the man back in the kitchen. He had set up everything and was ready to go and then they closed the omelete station. What a disaster....again! I don't understand that logic.
The other issue was the putting out of food when they ran out. For example, big platter of lox (smoked salmon) was empty, rather than having another one ready and just replace it, the platter had to be refilled and properly set up so people would be waiting sometimes almost 30 minutes for a refill. Same went with other food items too.
At the restaurant the wait staff were terrible. They were very slow in bringing you a menu/taking your order or delivering your food. If you were looking for dessert, drinks or anything that was not during a meal time you would need to go and get them or they wouldn't bother with you. My son went to sit down and order a beer and after 15 minutes of having the waiter look at him and ignore him he decided to leave.

The pool is not large and was crowded on Shabbat. The breakfast on Shabbat is a "zoo" so give yourself lots of time.

The thing that annoyed us the most was that the hotel staff did not make any attempts to try and control the young kids running all around the downstairs hall way and the staircase in the evening. This was dangerous and disturbing to guests trying to sit in the main lobby or the open concept lobby above.

You had to pay for internet but you could buy it in multiple day package which was a better deal. The internet at the David Citadel was priced better than all the other hotels we stayed at.

The hotel is perfectly situated across the street from Mamila Mall and walking distance to Jaffa Gate. Despite some of the negative things I wrote, this hotel was excellent and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
I thank you kindly for your praise for the hotel rooms and Housekeeping and Front Desk service.
I am sorry you were disappointed with some matters concerning Food and Beverage, and they have been brought to the attention of the Department Manager.
We’re delighted you would choose to stay here again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed here with my wife, paid $900- a night for a room that had an amazing view and a great terrace. The room itself was furnished like a highway motel and half the stuff didn't work. The service here is terrible (a bag of ours was delivered late night and the front desk told the delivery person to come back in the morning rather than holding it) pretty much every employe is rude aside from the cleaning staff. The spa is nice and the masseuse Hila is great but you can visit the spa without staying in the Hotel. The parking lot is very clean and fairly empty. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Hotel is spotlessly clean, large rooms, many facing the Old City. Want a specific room? - ask and if available, they will make every effort to accommodate you. Staff is warm, polite, professional and most eager to please. Excellent location - across from new Mamilla mall and hotel closest to the Old City. Many restaurants close by.
This is our 4th consecutive stay at the Citadel and plan to return next year. We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend to anyone visiting Jerusalem.
Excellent excecutive lounge offers a quiet respite, with snacks for an additional fee.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loeby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with hotel facilities and service. With regard to room accessories, this is certainly not our standard and I would have been more than happy to ensure that each and every of your room accessories was in perfect working order, had I known at the time.
With regard to the bag, it was delivered late at night and there was some uncertainty as to which guest it belonged to; security precautions do not allow us to accept items when we cannot positively ascertain ownership.
Our staff is continuously trained to offer the highest standard of service, which our guests are entitled to, and we make every effort to constantly improve.
Thank you for your positive attention to the Spa and its staff and the parking we offer. We appreciate your sharing your comments and it is our hope that you might decide to give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have stayed at many 5 star hotels, and I have to admit that the Israelis need a huge lesson in customer service. At breakfast staff would ignore you. They had no interest in serving or seeing if everything was okay, with the exception of a waiter named Yosef who should be commended for his genuine pleasant attitude and service with a smile. A nasty concierge at night named Ari actually got mad at my my brother and myself when we were inquiring why our airport shuttle was not there yet(45 minutes after waiting, after being told the night before to be in the lobby by 8:45PM. At 9:15PM, we went up to the concierge desk to ask where the van was and he made a snide comment along the effects of "that was what we should expect for paying for cheap transport". He finally called the shuttle service and they were one hotel away and had another three stops to go. We asked for our money back and ended up taking a cab, which is another rip-off in this country. Travelers beware! Always get a receipt and make sure the meter is running. On a positive note it is close to the old city, shops and restaurants, the rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is plentiful. We also had other family members staying there and they felt the same way. if you are looking for 5 star service, there are a number of other hotels to consider in Jerusalem

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKIP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TDC. I truly am sorry for the mishap with your transportation. We are constantly training our staff and making every effort to improve the service we offer, striving to reach the highest standard of service, which our guests are entitled to.
I’m so happy that you did enjoy our location, our rooms and breakfast and the local entertainment.
I have every hope that you might return to our hotel and give us the chance to uphold our high standard of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed in superior alcove deluxe rooms for two weeks: the carpets in the rooms were absolutely filthy and the rooms themselves lacked maintenance to say the least. Had difficulty sleeping each and every night and morning due to the noise resonating from the fourth floor bars and restaurants up to our fifth floor rooms. Overall, if the rooms had better maintenance without assortments of broken fixtures and the carpets weren't gross with spillage, the David Citadel would be a 4 star hotel.

The saving grace: best location in Jerusalem!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
I thank you for your comments, they are so important to us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced; we are looking into this issue in order to prevent any recurrence.
With regard to the rooms, we are planning a major comprehensive refurbishing of the hotel in 2011; public areas are expected to be completed by the end of the year and all hotel rooms will follow. I look forward to welcoming you to a new, much improved hospitality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

the hotel location is excellent and the family room facing the entrance of mamilla was perfect, really big, spotless and with great room service. they were up pretty quickly and checking out that everything was ok after all. The food even if it was good, is not everybody taste, and the service is a little slow. No kids menu too, in a hotel full of families is odd. Overall a great stay, you are near everything and the view of the old city is simply great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
I thank you for choosing The David Citadel Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed our location, room and service.
Our Lobby Lounge menu offers several items made especially for children, such as pasta, pizza and French fries; you’re welcome to enjoy them in future stays. That said, we are happy to consider creating a separate children’s menu for guests’ convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,497 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,133 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,778 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,021 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing