We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Location, Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Location, Nice Rooms”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

The location of this hotel is amazing- a short walk to the old city and within walking distance to many sights of Jerusalem. The rooms are well-proportioned and impeccably mantained. The decor is nice and modern- definitly on par with other 5 star hotels. The view from the hotel's resteraunts and lounges is unparalleled. Service is what could be expected from a hotel in Israel- adequate but not outsatnding or exceptionally accomadating. Overall, this hotel is beautiful, clean and well mantained with an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli7isme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    314
    121
    65
    43
See reviews for
681
396
72
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

At these prices, we expected better! One must not expect the service in Israel to be great, however one shouldn't feel uncomfortable in a (supposed) 5 star hotel. When I asked the manager why there was no clock, ironing board or coffee maker in the room, she told me that the first 2 things are only available upon request. What she fails to realize is that the staff make you feel like asking them a question is a interruption to whatever else they are doing and make it rather unpleasant to interact with them. We opted not to ask them, just to avoid further interaction.

Our room was quite small and had a view of a dirt wall and part of a playground. We were staying for 6 nights, so we asked if it was possible to get a better view. We explained that we didn't need a bigger room, we just preferred not to look at a dirt wall for 6 days! On our first attempt to change rooms the guy at the front desk cut my husband off and told him that we could change rooms for an extra $250/night! We tried to tell him that we would pay a little more for a better view, but they didn't want to listen.
After making the same request to 4 different people who clearly didn't care, we gave up.

Our room was not the cleanest I've ever seen. The vent in our bathroom was disgusting and there were stray hairs in the tub (yuck!). Plus they never restocked the toilet paper!

The breakfast is mediocre at best (my stepfather called it an abomination) - and they serve orange juice like it liquid gold, dolling it out with an eye dropper - if you are lucky enough to get someone to come to your table.

On our first morning there one of the hotel staff walked into our room - WITHOUT EVEN KNOCKING! Lucky we had JUST finished getting dressed. He had 2 guests with him and never really apologized, just closed the door and left.

The hotel is well situated near the new Mamilla shops and very close to everything. The location is the best thing this hotel has going for itself!

3 more little rants - no pens, only pencils!! And the lighting in the room was unpleasant. There were 4 different switches, but I think they were wired wrong - lights were either all on (Vegas bright) or all off. Soundproofing is non-existent - we could hear the woman on the phone next door and you can hear people walking in the hallways.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_good_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I guess we won't be visiting the hotel again. On Saturday noon, instead of resting, we had to listen to a loudy music and shouting coming from next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Very good hotel. Although it isn't a luxury. Rooms in the business style. View from the balcony - I was a little disappointed. Most guests - Orthodox Jews. Maybe so the restaurant cuisine unusually rough and fatly. As is customary in Jewish cooking. But breakfast is great! And the variety and quality. Five minutes walk from the center, so do not succumb to the tricks of taxi drivers who really pursue you after you exit the hotel, offering lift to the old center. It will be longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We spent some nights at the Citadel and were surprised how friendly and charming the staff were, after having spent some weeks in other hotels in Israel. After all the loud rude behavior in the Old City, it was always a relief to come back to this oasis.

1. Pool: Just GREAT! While being in this warm pool, you have the most amazing view to the Old City.
2. Scala Restaurant: We are not sure if Chef Oren Yerushalmi is an artist or a magician; best kosher food in Israel! We invited even some Israeli friends the next night to join us.
3. Rooms: In the beginning we had some complaints (no towels in the morning) and the rooms are a bit worn out. Also the facilities are more an indicator for 4*. However, the staff (specifically housekeeping manager Na'ama) was handling our remarks quickly, professional and to our complete satisfaction.
4. Room service: Not too fast, food average. Skip the Burger
5. Staff in general: everybody is very warm, but most very poor in English and lacking the professionalism of staff in other countries. But: best staff we have met in Israel.
6. Prices: upper scale

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

David Citadel is CENTRALLY located right in the middle of Jerusalem. You can walk anywhere since it is close proximity within the old city, the mall and all the great restaurants that Jerusalem has to offer. There is not another hotel that comes close to the David Citadel.


The buffet breakfast was very good, we were a family of 6 and 2 were vegetarians. There was always something for all us to eat. The service at the hotel was impeccable. Ari at concierge (as well as the entire concierge staff) were not only helpful but remembered your name and it is NOT a small hotel. We were on the 10th floor and Alli made up our room every morning and delivered chocolates and extra towels as we requested ALWAYS WITH A SMILE.

One of my only dislikes worth mentioning is this: For a high priced 5 star hotel I was very thrown off by the fact that the gym was not inclusive with the cost of the hotel. My husband and I decided to use the gym and were told that we had to pay for the use. I'm not used to that.

There were a few dignitaries who stayed at the hotel while we were there and security was tight, also for anyone shabbat observant on Friday there are 2 of the 4 elevators that are "shabbat elevators". If you are NOT SHABBAT observant make sure you take the other 2 elevators (which are on the right side) otherwise it will take you a very long time to get to and from the lobby.

Lots of advice about navigating hotel, falafel spots and lots of bars and restaurants nearby...anyone want suggestions...feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We paid $500/room but still got charged $17 extra for the internet daily – shameless! The furniture and décor are from the 1970s, and the breakfast buffet never changes (we stayed for 3 days); service is indifferent and slow. Good location, but not much else. No value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing