We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent hotel - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

This was our second stay at the hotel and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is ideally located and close to great restaurants, shops and of course the old city.

The hotel pool is wonderful with views over the old city. The pool staff especially Ariel and Avishai were great ambassadors of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and the pool was managed magnificently by Yossi.

Breakfasts could not be beaten and the restaurant was very well staffed and again very well managed by Mousser Qazz.

We had the misfortune to have lunch by the pool at the King David Hotel and the rude staff, poor service and average food confirmed that the David Citadel remains the best hotel in Jerusalem by a long way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    307
    119
    64
    42
See reviews for
645
381
70
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Best 5* hotel in Jerusalem. Would definately choose the David Citadel over King David. Everything is sparkling new and location can't be beat. Opt for a room with a terrace and an Old City/pool view.

Helpful?
Thank sjl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I moved to the Citadel from another hotel and we had a great welcome and a great weekend!
It is in a walking distance from the old city and from other tourist areas
The service quick!
The service was execellent!
All the public areas and the room were very clean.
What was bothering was the fact that although the room rates are expensive (!), they charge you for extras such as gym, parking etc...
But the overall experience was great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Scale is excellent. Definitely the best food that we had in Israel. Exccellent - top quality. And Kosher as well!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
669 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We spent the past week at the Citadel, opting for this property instead of the King David which is located about 100 yards down the street. This was the right decision! The hotel is modern and spotless. We were prepared for, and anticipated rude staff... nothing could be further than the truth. Everyone from the doorman to the front desk, wait-staff and housekeepers were friendly and helpful. The rooms we chose (Alcove Deluxe) was large with a balcony and a (somewhat) view of the Old City. The bathroom was exceptional, lot of hot water, and we needed it as there was a heat wave. Air conditioning totally silent and perfect. Other highlights were a great pool with a very pleasant lifeguard, who seemed to be an ambassador to the hotel. A great sushi restaurant on the second floor. The breakfast (included) was enough to fill you up. The coffee was strong and administered freely! We walked over to the King David and it is more traditional and after all, it is a historical site. But, I've stayed in landmark properties before... let's just say I'll leave the adventure for the day and get a peaceful sleep at night. They even had a wedding one night and although we were just one floor away, in our room you could not hear a thing. My conclusion: this is it.. perfect and yes , pricey!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We spent several nights at the David CItadel with our three children during Passover and found it extremely convenient and pleasant. The location is unbeatable, very close to the old city but also near upscale restaurants (including nonkosher, essential for Passover week if you aren't observing Passover) The major bonus to staying at the Citadel for families, in comparison to the King David up the street, is that the gorgeous pool (has a beautiful view of the old city walls) is open in April. This is not necessarily true of the King David in springtime -- and the weather was plenty hot enough for us to enjoy the pool. The rooms are well arranged for families, with connecting rooms and additional beds possible (we had three beds for three children in a room connecting to ours, essential for our family, but often difficult to find, even in the states). The rooms are very pleasant - not the most luxurious for the cost, but comfortable and appealing. The bathrooms were very nice. I would ask for a high floor for best views/light. The eating area is covered but overlooks the pool/city - again, glorious. As with all Israeli hotels, the breakfast buffet could easily be lunch, or dinner for that matter (hot chocolate cake for breakfast, anyone?).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

After reading the somewhat disparate reviews, especially concerning the service at the DC, we were somewhat hestiant to stay there especially given the steep prices (we paid $550 USD for an Alcove Superior room). However, in the end we were not dissapointed:
1) Room was beautiful, very clean and spacious.
2) Bathroom was also great and very large ( + good L'Occitaine products).
4) View (we had the most central view on the Old City) is very nice but is not an absolute necessity. We believe you can save quite a bit of money by booking a room without the view.
5) Service: Great overall. Every time I asked for something (extra towels, extra slippers, extra soap, explanation on how to function something etc..) I got it promptly and in large quantity.
6) All the public spaces of the hotel were in perfect upkeep.
7) Good soundproofing of rooms, we didn't hear anything around us.
8) Breakfast was somewhat dissapointing, especially by Israeli standards and this was the only time we encountered less than perfect service (it was slow and unattentive).

Overall very good experience. For the price however, would have expected some fruits and/or chocolates in the room, which I saw many other guests were getting.

  • Liked — Beautiful architecture overall, excellent location, wonderful rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast experience
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing