We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jerusalem institution with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I used to stay at the King David but thought I would try the David Citadel for a change. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. I was particularly pleased with the level of service by the staff of the Executive Lounge. Special thanks to the Manager, Revital Carmeli who
was professional, courteous and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenbonddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

My sincere thanks for such very lovely compliments. We do try, and it’s rewarding to know we provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
I will pass your comments to our staff with great pride. Especially to Revital at the Executive Lounge.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,176 - 1,182 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We returned to the David Citadel because of the wonderful experience we enjoyed 7 years ago.
The hotel is very beautiful and elegant but most noteworthy is the fine service. We appreciate the excellent people who staffed the front desk, housekeeping and the dining room. They were all very helpful, gracious and anxious to make our stay as pleasant and hassle free as possible. We especially appreciate Daniel at the front desk who checked us in when we arrived late at night. The housekeeping staff not only kept our room neat and clean, they asked us each day if we needed more towels or soap. We enjoyed the beautiful breakfast buffet each morning all the more because our waiter Said. Said is obviously a skilled and experienced waiter who is able to anticipate the guests wishes and needs. His warm and pleasant manner made our breakfast experience a wonderful start for each day of touring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for posting your kind review.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well.
I will forward your compliments to the entire staff - Especially to Daniel and Said - with great pride.

Hope to see you again soon among our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I honestly had a very bad experience at this hotel, I went there for my wedding anniversary, paid 477 USD for 1 night expecting a WOW experience and it was exactly the opposite, from the acoustics/insulation of the room till the point that I had to move my stuff to another room carrying it by myself (!) in such a luxury hotel, the noise of Saturday morning cleaning the corridor so early, inaccurate info and more... sent a complaint letter to the hotel that was answered about a week later apologizing and offering a discount for the next stay... of course I'm not planning to go to that hotel again... value for money was really poor.

Room Tip: Never - ever take a room that has a connecting room with another room, you can even hear the breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielZl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect . The David Citadel has various types of rooms. Some of them has a connecting door.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The David Citadel is truly a first class hotel. One of the most pleasurable aspects of staying at this hotel was the breakfast experience, including but not limited to the fresh and plentiful food, the pleasant outdoor eating area and the wonderful service. For all five days we were waited on by Samir Amid Samer. With great personality and quick, but not hovering, response time we could not have asked for more.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members-especially the team at breakfast.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

its the nicest hotel in jerusalem nothing compares the views are amazing the rooms are spacious food is great. staff is great. especially monir just an overall great experience i don't plan on going to any other hotels anytime soon.

Room Tip: the views are just unreal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are regular clients for breakfast at the David Citadel Hotel. In this connection we wish to commend th exemplary and outstanding service we receive from Said who is one the senior waiters in the breakfast dining room.

We are also happy to confirm that we enjoy the breakfast and the general service of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We are proud to earn your compliments regarding our breakfast, more so with Said as your waiter. He is a real asset, and your experience proved it.
Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were at the David Citadel as part of a Tauck Tour. This hotel was superior in every way with the best possible service and it is in a perfect location for sight seeing. We called from our room on three occasions to ask for something and within no time they were at the door with an alarm clock, with another hair dryer etc. Breakfast was buffet style and it was excellent with a great variety, quality and choice and with attentive service. Lunch was equally as good.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for one facing the interior--not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for posting your kind review.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay,as this is the way for us to know we did well.
Hope to see you again soon among our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,581 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#8 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,257 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,815 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,080 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $377 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing