We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service gritty in the holy city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed August 20, 2008

If you are fortunate enough to visit this unique city, then there are really only two hotels in this class worth considering. Overall, having stayed in both of these hotels, I would say that this is the better of the two.

The rooms are modern and luxurious, most complete with balconies (corner rooms have huge terraces) and the views of the old city of Jerusalem are unrivalled - simply stunning.

All the hotel amenities are as expected - nice (if a bit pricey) restaurant and a neat pool area (smart looking infinity pool) with pool side snack bar.

The location is perfect, with the gates to the old city about a ten minute walk away and a newly built shopping mall literally on the doorstep.

The downside is the service - not across the board as the waitresses who served us in the restaurant were always pleasant. The focus of my complaint is the reception staff! They had allocated us the wrong room and let's just say it took more than a few stern words to ensure that the matter was dealt with accordingly. In the end, I was given a free upgrade for the inconvenience but I can't help thinking that they would have happily have left me in the wrong room had I not caused such a scene!

For the price your pay (note: very expensive) and for this class of hotel you simply do not expect this level of service. It is a huge shame, as it certainly detracted from the overall experience.

Nonetheless, this is the one and only qualm I had.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laurence2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

I'm a frequent traveller and especially go to the Middle East for work, and I'm always surprised by how terrible service is in Israeli hotels compared to other Middle Eastern countries like Dubai, Jordan, Lebanon etc.

This was my second trip to Israel in a year and after my horrible experience at the King David decided to stay at the Citadel and yet again the chronic problems rampant in other Jerusalem hotels (except maybe the American Colony?) were there. The staff was definitely not nice , do hotel employees in Jerusalem hotels ever smile?! The room's shower was leaking and it stayed that way for the 5 days I was in the hottel despitedozens of phone calls and promises to fix it.I'm not a fan of Kosher food but the hotel's food was especially bad. The hotel is known in Israel for social funstions so it's loud and noisy 24/7.

However, the hotel's main problem is with its surly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank goldkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

While the location of the hotel is outstanding, I'm not sure this benefit warrants the price of the rooms for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I had never stayed at a hotel that not only wanted to charge for OPENING the room fridge, but also if you decided to put anything of your own that needed to be stored inside. Also, the service at the front desk was not up to the standards of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pessahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Lobby offered places to sit and talk and people watch. Staff was courteous and friendly. We had the Friday night "special kiddush dinner:" which was 250 NIS per person. We skipped this for lunch. The Friday night's food truly left a lot to be desired. Perhaps the cooking water isn't good at tarnishes the taste. The room was nice and basically clean. Nice ammenities. I liked the location - near the kotel via the Jaffa gate. You can reach the Jaffa Gate by walking through the new Mamila Mall (which is still under construction).. We liked the hotel but still thought it was too much money,

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotdog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This is currently one of the two best hotels in Jerusalem. Unfortunately it's service with a snarl. No is always their first answer no matter who you're dealing with or what the question is. Excellent breakfast buffet; everything else feels like a rip off (e.g. paid access to health club, internet access). While the rooms can be nice, they may not honor the reservation vis-a-vis view, size of bed, etc. The hotel appears to do a poor job of making sure that non-smoking rooms are non smoking.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zgskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The David Citadel is a pretty hotel, but has some major flaws for such an expensive hotel (over $500 per night). First, expect long lines at check-in. This hotel is very popular for social events (Bar and Bat Mitzvahs), and so can be very busy. This translates to long lines and very poor/slow service when they are busy. Most importantly for business travelers, their Internet access is terrible. You must purchase prepaid cards at reception, which they don't tell you at check-in, so you end up standing in very long lines twice. Then the Internet access speed is slower than standard broadband - expect web pages and emails to load slowly. So this is very bad for business travelers. Finally, the walls are very thin for such an expensive and nice hotel, and so my room was bombarded by plumbing noise, noises from the adjoining rooms and outdoor noise. Pretty hotel, great location, but I won't stay at the David Citadel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveler193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised with the David Citadel Hotel. The hotel is well maintained and looks relatively new for a 10 year old hotel.

The location is great and it's a short walk to the Old City and there is a new open air shopping mall across the street that has a lot of nice stores and restaurants. I believe the mall is also connected to the hotel via an underground passage.

I highly recommend the Alcove Deluxe rooms that have a view, limited, of the Old City. The rooms are a little larger than the standard rooms and the bathroom is fairly large with a separate shower and tub. There is adequate storage space in the closet and drawers and the rooms have the usual safe and hair dryer. On the disappointing side are little things like the lack of alarm clocks and the high speed Internet service (wireless) is poor. The rooms also have flat screen TV's but there is not high definition.

The pool area is nice and the terrace restaurant which overlooks the pool and has a view of the Old City is a pleasant place to enjoy the nice buffet breakfast offered by the hotel.

All in all I recommend this hotel and it's a solid 4 star property in a good location just down the street from the King David Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Porschetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,580 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,255 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#4 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,814 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,080 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $379 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing