We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year after Year the David Citadel never disappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Year after Year the David Citadel never disappoints!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Once again, our stay at the David Citadel was flawless. After many years, it is comforting to return to a hotel and see that the rooms are clean and fresh, the breakfast as lavish as we remembered and the management team and staff welcoming, efficient and helpful. While nothing is ever perfect, the David Citadel management team did everything they could to make it perfect for us. Super, great hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for such a rewarding review.
We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded, all the more so from loyal guests.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members.
We eagerly await your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    325
    127
    67
    45
See reviews for
723
408
72
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent room with lots of space to spread out. Great food - we stayed 4 nights and loved every meal. Breakfast is almost too pretty to eat served buffet style. Internet access is HORRIBLE and we were very close to front desk. If you plan on business or keeping in contact with family via internet pick some other place. Their "business office" has 2 computers to serve several hundred rooms. When I asked about internet that was suppose to work in rooms, the desk clerk said "Yes, our internet sucks".

Room Tip: first floor corner rooms seem to have extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay; it’s important for us to know where we succeed and where we can improve.
I much appreciate your compliments and take your comments to heart.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another special and improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a great overall experience. When we arrived, our room keys were waiting for us with a completely hassle free check in. Fresh drinks and snacks were waiting for us in the lobby before we were escorted to our room. The dining staff was always courteous and pleasing. Our waiter, SAID, and the restaurant manager, ABED, were amazing. They catered to our every need. The free WIFI in the room was an added bonus!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members-especially Said and Abed.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Citadel for a few rainy days in December. They have wonderful hospitality and a star general manager who did everything he could to make our stay comfortable. We had no special general manager type needs but he circulated throughout the hotel, checking on guests.
The location is 5 minutes from the Old City, Jaffa Gate. You can see the Old City from the upper floors. The breakfast is varied with many healthy choices-salads, nuts, grilled vegetables, cheeses, and lots of types of fish. If you prefer carbs, they have that too-in abundance.
The rates are high-commensurate with this expensive city. (Pocket some rolls for lunch.) You will enjoy your stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rangyhulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
My many thanks for your business and your review; it is rewarding to know we succeed in providing superb hospitality for you .
We look forward to welcoming you back again for many more wonderful experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The David Citadel is by far the best hotel in Jerusalem, Israel, and quite possibly the entire Middle East (excluding those opulent 7-star resorts in Dubai).

The rooms are spacious, the food is excellent, the views of the old city are unparalleled, the Wifi is free and easy to use, and the location is second to none. It's just across the street from the fashionable Mamilla Mall, and only a block away from the Old City

What really sets The David Citadel apart from every other hotel that I've stayed in Israel is their commitment to service. The staff are all willing to go the extra mile for their customers. They clearly takes their cues from the excellent example set by Monier the hotel manager. In a country not generally known for its customer service, the staff of The David Citadel really stands out.

As far as I am concered, The David Citadel is the only hotel in Jerusalem. When I come to Israel, I won't stay anywhere else.

Special thanks to Abed and Said from the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armizrachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially Abed and Said at breakfast.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It s like. Coming. Home,,,,Munir greet with his smile front desk very helpfully I am feel like home.
I love coming to the citadel all the staff are great.
Breakfast is good. The view is unbelievable to the old ciiy

Room Tip: Very good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drlucianazulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
My many thanks for such high praise,and your loyal business.
We know we are doing well when your experiences only improve.
We are proud and happy to be able to serve an impecable service. I will pass your compliments to our staff with great pride.
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just stayed at the David Citadel hotel for eight days. What an absolutely fantastic hotel!! Aside from the Citadel being the best located hotel in Jerusalem without question, the service and the absolute beauty of the hotel are amazing... From the moment you check in and are greeted by a great front office staff led by Manuel Arbid, Munir and Adina Goldberg that cater to your every need, to the moment you check out - the Citadel is a ultra first class experience. The guest rooms and common area rooms are the nicest I have seen in Jerusalem. The Citadel's main dining area where the awesome food is served, overlooks the Old City as does the hotel's beautiful pool. In short, there is no hotel in Jerusalem that offers the ambiance that this hotel offers and I don't think I have stayed at any five star hotel anywhere in all my travels that had service as good as the Citadel provided.....Highly highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Hotel management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
My sincere thanks for such very lovely compliments. We do try, and it’s rewarding to know we provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
I will pass your comments to our staff with great pride.

We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,465 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,765 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,005 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing