We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful: Nice hotel - wretched service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
aspen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be careful: Nice hotel - wretched service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

This is currently one of the two best hotels in Jerusalem. Unfortunately it's service with a snarl. No is always their first answer no matter who you're dealing with or what the question is. Excellent breakfast buffet; everything else feels like a rip off (e.g. paid access to health club, internet access). While the rooms can be nice, they may not honor the reservation vis-a-vis view, size of bed, etc. The hotel appears to do a poor job of making sure that non-smoking rooms are non smoking.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zgskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    310
    120
    65
    43
See reviews for
673
388
70
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

The David Citadel is a pretty hotel, but has some major flaws for such an expensive hotel (over $500 per night). First, expect long lines at check-in. This hotel is very popular for social events (Bar and Bat Mitzvahs), and so can be very busy. This translates to long lines and very poor/slow service when they are busy. Most importantly for business travelers, their Internet access is terrible. You must purchase prepaid cards at reception, which they don't tell you at check-in, so you end up standing in very long lines twice. Then the Internet access speed is slower than standard broadband - expect web pages and emails to load slowly. So this is very bad for business travelers. Finally, the walls are very thin for such an expensive and nice hotel, and so my room was bombarded by plumbing noise, noises from the adjoining rooms and outdoor noise. Pretty hotel, great location, but I won't stay at the David Citadel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — poor service, noisy, expensive - poor value, terrible internet, long check-in lines
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised with the David Citadel Hotel. The hotel is well maintained and looks relatively new for a 10 year old hotel.

The location is great and it's a short walk to the Old City and there is a new open air shopping mall across the street that has a lot of nice stores and restaurants. I believe the mall is also connected to the hotel via an underground passage.

I highly recommend the Alcove Deluxe rooms that have a view, limited, of the Old City. The rooms are a little larger than the standard rooms and the bathroom is fairly large with a separate shower and tub. There is adequate storage space in the closet and drawers and the rooms have the usual safe and hair dryer. On the disappointing side are little things like the lack of alarm clocks and the high speed Internet service (wireless) is poor. The rooms also have flat screen TV's but there is not high definition.

The pool area is nice and the terrace restaurant which overlooks the pool and has a view of the Old City is a pleasant place to enjoy the nice buffet breakfast offered by the hotel.

All in all I recommend this hotel and it's a solid 4 star property in a good location just down the street from the King David Hotel.

  • Liked — Clean modern rooms
  • Disliked — Staff was jsut adequate
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Porschetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

The David Citidel is between the King David and the Jaffa Gate of the Old City, making its location THE best for access to the Old City. The King David is gorgeous and historical but if you prefer new, The David Citadel is just gorgeous! Most striking is the view from breakfast, out on the patio and overlooking the gates of the old city, with flowers overflowing the rooms on either side. Spectacular! Toiletries are Ahava and are given generously. The breakfast is a typical Israeli breakfast of the best quality. The rooms are very comfortable. As every hotel we stayed at in Israel, the internet was $18 per 24 hours-annoying for Americans! No coffee maker in the room, my only real complaint. The shower did flood daily, but I've read that in every review and as a guest of the hotel, not my problem! It was really the location that is the primary draw of this property. Across the street is a growing mall with restaurants and shops and at the other end is the Jaffa Gate to the Old City. The staff was very nice (consider Israeli standards-they're not warm and fuzzy people) and even when we checked in and had issues with our room, they did move us regardless of the hotel's sold out status. There is no question that The David Citadel would be my choice again in the future.

  • Liked — Location to the Old City
  • Disliked — No coffee maker and $18/day internet access!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

Perfect location - walk for ten minutes and be at the Old City. Incredible views of the Old City walls from the dining area. Beautiful building with lovely common areas. Excellent breakfast with abundant and varied eating selections. Rooms satisfactory but over priced, although this was somewhat due to the Passover 'surcharge'. Rooms are starting to look a bit tired and could use minor facelifts, as do the showers that leak into a pond around the shower area with each shower. Overall, a great place to stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvgreathotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

VERY POOR SERVICE! Have never been treated with such attitude in all of my travels. Very slow response time when requests are made. NOTHING special about this place other then the pool and the morning omelete guy Yorma. I spent my 5 days soaking up shower leaks that flooded my bathroom everynight.

Stay away from rooms with views of the construction...or better stay at the KING DAVID.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — the help
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stratplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

I am in this hotel now, with a one bedroom suite overlooking the Old City. We have a large terrace and a balcony, a bedroom, large living room, two bathrooms, access to the executive lounge and a personal representative who looks after our every need.

For travellers who are looking for deals and not willing or able to pay the price for truly high end accomodations, I can imagine they might have gripes because they want more and more for less and less.

But if you really want to do Jerusalem in style, you can't beat this hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate, and you get there by walking through a new shopping mall called "the manila quarter". Just across the street is the best row of restaurants in Jerusalem. If you ignore the tourist traps and look for the really special places, you will dine as well as if you were in Paris.

My advice regarding David Citadel is, if you have the budget, definitely get the one bedroom suite. Join the "Citadel Club", which gives you an instant 5% discount ( meaning it is an investment that pays off at least triple simply for doing it). The executive lounge has breakfast, lunch, dinner and open bar all evening. You can totally get away from the tour groups and really enjoy a luxurious experience.

We have the suite plus a room next to it, and even it, the lowest level room, is pleasant.

The location is absolutely ideal. Nothing touches it. Even at the lowest prices, I would recommend this hotel simply because of convenience.

I don't know who is writing negative reviews or what they expect for their money, but i can say this: if you are in the mood to splurge, do it here. It is a great way to go! The staff is very responsive, always says YES, always is helpful, friendly and accomodating. I have no idea what the complainers are griping about, but I have nothing to do with this place, nothing invested here except to say: this will be a good place for you who want a thoroughly fine stay.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank glazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#10 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing