We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our 6th stay at the hotel. This is the best hotel in Jerusalem. The service and overall feel of the hotel make it a pleasure to stay in.

A special mention for the lovely Yael , who manages housekeeping. We had 3 rooms on the 6th floor and I saw her every day supervising the work done. You could not fault housekeeping - wonderful in every way. Nothing was too much trouble. Every request was dealt with and a follow up call received to make sure we were happy.

The pool is lovely but please bring Yossi back to run it. What happened to the large towels that covered the beds and why do the pool boys not prepare the beds like in previous years??

Breakfasts are great and the new chef showed his quality with the wonderful array of Friday night dishes.

Will defiinitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, and your loyal business over the years. On behalf of the entire stuff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially Yael from House Keeping.
I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Probably a place with few alternatives in town but still not really good.

The location is fine, so is the pool and the car park. Rooms are alright, not more. There is no turndown service, no newspaper service is offered and no porter service was visible to name but a few items that are missing. However what is really annoying about this hotel is the variable, sometimes outright bad service.

Doormen rarely greet, despite offering help with luggage or taxies. Concierges have absolutely no idea about restaurants in town and avoid every effort to be helpful. Reception staff tend to be friendly but simply ignore basic requests (such as setting up the booked additional child beds or equipping a family room for four guests with more than only two towels.) It took a few hours and several reminders to finally get those extra beds delivered. Staff and even the restaurant manager at breakfast (which in itself is actually quite nice) constantly keep on ignoring guests.

The whole attitude of most of the staff at this hotel seems ignorant and with the Waldorf Astoria opening soon next door, management at the David Citadel will have to work hard to keep up with the new competition.

In summary: This is NOT a hotel which is comparable with a 5* hotel in Europe, Asia or North America in terms of service.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank vonlaffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

I regret your experience was anything short of the absolutely wonderful hospitality which is our goal.
I do hope you choose to return for a much improved stay, in the best traditions of the David Citadel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel with Nice view of the old city ,the hotel is gréât , free wifi and fancy breakfast , late Check out is easy to get if you ask for the right person at the front desk :) , go for Tarek . I would recommend it to m'y freinds , and WE Will be back next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stayed here for 6 nights whilst visiting the sites of Israel... the positives first..... loacation is great by the city wall and easy access to all the old city... rooms ok and well cleaned.... garage for parking was convenient... the negatives..... breakfast was poor..../ the friday night cold buffet for 50 usd each was a rip off.... the concierge advice was on 2 occasions inaccurate...... the hotel pool was too cold... the towels by the pool did not even cover the beds... service away from room cleaning was patchy at best...and check in staff were quite blunt

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulsennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

I truly am sorry we seem to have fallen short on your recent stay.
We thank you for taking the time and let us know your comments, as we learn from each and every one of it.
We would welcome the chance to host you again and restore your faith in our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at david citadel for 3 nights. The hotel is prime located 2 minutes from the mamilla shopping area and the western cotel! As person who travels a lot around the world i can say its one of my best trips ever! The hotel is sooo nice, clean like museum, the service is highly standart as 6 stars hotels. The stuff are very polite and high level standart, especially Salach from house kipping dep. who took care the room and all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

On behalf of the entire stuff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will definitely pass your kind comments to our team members- especially Salach from House Keeping.
I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located in a great part of the city, it is merely a few feet away from great restaurants, shopping, and of course "The Wall".
The hotel has many comforts that you will certainly use, especially in a large group, like we were.

The breakfast is really good and they make it easy to accomodate everyone.
When the kids went to bed, the adults had time for a few cocktails at the bar.

The pool has a very nice view of the city and the mountains and there are plenty of seats to be had in the sun or the shade. The pool is also another great place for afternoon cocktails!

We had 2 adults and 2 kids in our room. The hotel made it very comfortable by arranging to have 2 separate single bed cots. We did not feel cramped at all. The bathroom was also very spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for posting this kind review.
We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future, and provide an even better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved the David Citadel. Our room was large, bright, and had a great view, overlooking the pool and the Old City. Service was excellent: attentive and polite. Breakfasts good, but not great (the breakfast at Tel Aviv's Intercontinental had much more variety).

Internet service is free- a welcome plus--but spotty. It went out several times during our stay, necessitating signing in multiple times and having several down times.

The location is terrific: around the corner from the new mall which leads to the Old City. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best. The opposite side looks out over nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westlakeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofra A, Executive Secretary at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for posting this kind review.
We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future, and provide you the great experience we strive to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,542 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,191 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#5 of 102 in Jerusalem
464 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $349 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing