We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very fine hotel with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
361 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Very fine hotel with excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel April 14-18, 2013, for the ninth time in the last seven years and found that my Deluxe Alcove Old-City View Room was superb with an expansive view of the external walls of the Old City. The room is very large with spacious bathrooms and fine amenities except that the hotel could give a greater general supply of towels and some days the housekeeper forgot to leave washcloths. But the rooms were spotless, well appointed, and service to make up the room was speedy. The breakfast is very good, in fact much improved from previous years, and the food in the lounge in the 4th floor is excellent though expensive. The location of the hotel right across from the Mamilla Mall and so close to the Jaffa Gate of the Old City is a big plus. The concierge and reception desk personnel were very, very friendly and this is a big improvement compared to say seven years ago under a different hotel manager. The staff is now very responsive. Tis is a ver good choice for a five star hotel in Jerusalem.

.

Room Tip: Splurge for the especially large and comfortable Deluxe Alcove Room with Old City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate your loyal business and thank you for such compliments. We certainly do aspire to constant improvement, so it’s nice to know. I look forward to improving further and making sure you have all the washcloths you need on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    310
    120
    65
    43
See reviews for
672
388
70
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a great stay here (again). Nothing was too much trouble - they prepared baby food for my daughter, gave us a decent wooden cot in the room plus a highchair. Staff could not have be more accommodating. Service much improved since last stay in 2011. Highly recommended, particularly for a family.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineLenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
My many thanks for your business and your review; it’s rewarding to know we succeed in providing superb hospitality for families. We look forward to welcoming you back again for many more wonderful experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were a huge international group staying in this hotel. The hotel seems mainly to cater for ultra orthodox jews and all the service is adhered according to their expectations.

Meetings had to be stopped by 5.00 pm. on friday. All electric equipment had to be switched off. Nothing warm for Saturday breakfast, not even warm milk except stale tea and coffee which had been sitting on the stove for more than 15 hrs. I do respect their religious beliefs but it is not possible to understand why they force their international clients to live like them. Most of their service staff were Arabs and they could have well served warm stuff for breakfast on Saturday.

We were there a week before Passover. We received a note from management saying that the kitchen will be closed for passover cleaning and no food would be served and allowed to be brought into the hotel on Sunday 17 April onwards. Fortunately my husband and I had made plans to stay in Tel aviv on Apr.16 and did not have to be there on Sunday. But our friends who have paid very expensive rates to stay over the weekend as well were shocked on this last minute warning. Had they known about this beforehand they would have made other arrangements. They had to pay for services (bed and breakfast rate) which were not going to be served and they were not informed about this in due time.
This hotel is neither luxurious nor five star nor international. Another drawback is the awful odour at the lobby. It seems to be some sort of an incense but extremely strong and suffocating.
The location of the hotel and the selection of food at breakfast buffet were very good but still my overall rating of the place is very poor since they charge extremely high prices and provide this kind of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevhiz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
I regret the misunderstandings. All Israel hotels prohibit use of electrical appliances in public areas during the Sabbath. Jerusalem Rabbinate supervision does not allow hot food on Sabbath morning in all Jerusalem hotels. Regarding the Passover holiday, we prepare as does every other hotel in this country. Breakfast is absolutely served every single day of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed here three times with our kids. The lobby is very impressive and clean, always with fresh flowers. Very child friendly- the Game Center is phenomenal with absolutely everything a kid would want to be happy and busy. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly and nice. The breakfasts always have great salads and good variety. There is always food kids would want to eat too. The pool area is nice, right across from the old city, and the lifeguards are very attentive. The layout by the lobby is circular and open so its easy to see your kids if they walk around even one floor above or below. Overall nice atmosphere with decor in keeping with the feel of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems1234198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It’s important to us to provide both luxury hospitality for adults and enjoyment for children, and I appreciate knowing we succeed. I also appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great 2 night break at this hotel which is perfectly located for sight seeing. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who were unfailingly pleasant without being ingratiating . At breakfast they were really keen to please on second day although not so good with the coffee first day. Choice of food was huge. Room was well appointed with complimentary fruit/fudge/marzipan and half bottle of wine. Toiletries are top quality. At the pool they were immensely helpful opening the winter access for me each day as I could not get in down the ladder. Pool is warm with plenty of towels and chairs poolside. Gym was excellent too. Changing rooms have great showers and plentiful toiletries. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the old city but when we were there building works started early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
You’re warmly welcome back any time. Thank you for letting us know we provided a great experience; sorry about the coffee that first day, it’s unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful. Look forward to our next stay. Great location and clean spacious rooms. Great for family gatherings. Great morning breakfast food choices for all cultural groups. Staff is friendly and helpful. All amenities you need and a beautiful out door pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We too look forward to your next stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and the hotel was perfect! Great location, rooms were very nice in size, as was the bathroom, fabulous brunch and outdoor terrace to eat your meal and very attentive staff! We would not hesitate to return to this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertatravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira L, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
And we would love to welcome you back again for another superb hospitality experience. My thanks for your review and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing