We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, luxury hotel. Amazing swimming pool. Great breakfasts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Richmond Hill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, luxury hotel. Amazing swimming pool. Great breakfasts.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great for so many reasons. Perfect, central location, walking distance Old City, Ben Yehudah Street. Big, beautiful modern hotel with excellent amenities. Great rooms, fresh linens, huge bathrooms, and best part is the balcony facing the Old City Walls. Beautiful at night.
If you swim, you're in for a treat as the large and lovely pool faces the old city. Breakfast has an amazing spread of anything you could ask for, very fresh and delicious. Service was excellent.
It is expensive, but you do get good value for your money.
PS Good fitness center, too!

Room Tip: If money is no object, get a room with the big balcony with the huge view of the Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    325
    127
    67
    45
See reviews for
723
409
72
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We can honestly say that in all our travels, staying at some of the top hotels in the world, the David Citadel in Jerusalem is beyond a doubt the best we've ever experienced. There is no hotel that I know of, with a friendlier staff and more efficient service. The one word that kept on coming up was "perfect" (and for us, that's nearly impossible). Hats off to Mr. Selim Atias the mangager who could not be more helpful. We try never to do the same hotel twice, however in this case, not only will we be returning but we we'll be making it an annual visit.

I have to say, I am a very busy person, however I felt compelled to open up a Tripadvisor account just to take the time out and compose this review. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your warm words; we make every effort to provide excellent service and are richly rewarded to know we've succeeded in such. Selim is indeed a valued member of our team, for he provides the service we believe our guests are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I just spent a week at the David Citadel, where we have stayed many times before. The hotel's location is excellent - - can't be beat. And, because of the hotel's location and reputation, you can expect to pay top dollar. However, there has been a significant deterioration in the hotel.

First -- the facility has not been maintained properly. The rooms are becoming ragged; carpets are worn and torn; and, other than the reception desk and a few rugs / chairs / couches in the lobby, this hotel has not been updated since the day it was opened.

Second -- and more important, the service is simply awful. The hand shower in our bathroom was broken when we arrived. We asked for this to be repaired every morning and evening for four days. On the fourth day, I finally asked to speak to the manager (this alone took several visits to reception over the course of the entire day) and the hand shower was finally repaired. This was not our only bad service experience, but it is a good example of what you can expect.

It's time to find a new "favorite" hotel in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I do so regret you were disappointed with your stay with us. As you're quite familiar with the excellent hospitality we offer, I am sorry you did not experience it during your recent visit.
For our guest's welfare, The David Citadel Hotel has recently renovated all public areas of the hotel, including the Lobby, Seasons Restaurant, Lobby Lounge, Scala chef kitchen and bar, Terrace, Library, Gym, Spa and Children's Play Center. The second part of the renovation, including all guest rooms, will start in the beginning of next year.
I hope you choose to give us another opportunity to restore your faith in us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great service, good breakfast.
The reception staff is kind and efficient, specially Selim, assistant front office manager, who made us feel really welcome.
Some of the rooms have the Old City view, and it is absolutely magnificent!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank reneemarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We thank you for your lovely feedback. Selim truly does demonstrate our service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Emanuel is the best manager you can ever find. He is kind, gracious and able to solve your every need. The hotel is magnificent and truly worth the cost. You will be treated royally by everyone. The rooms are lovely. The location couldn't be better and the food is unbelievable. This is the only hotel you will need for your stay in Israel.

Room Tip: Their all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Your review is heartwarming! We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

First visit to Jerusalem, so not sure of what location to choose for what was only a one night stay. This hotel is in a great location, just across from the Mamilla Mall with its many shops and restaurants and only a short walk from the Jaffa Gate. Our room category was Superior at USD 500 per night. Only view from the room was of a back street – but at least it was quiet, as the main road seemed very busy. Our room was typical motel-style, but clean and spacious. It had a connecting door to an adjoining room, something I dislike in a hotel as sound can come through. We did hear some noise on one occasion but not much. There was also one of those fridges which apparently register a charge if you move something. Somewhat unexpected in a luxury hotel. Apparently David Citadel is noted for its breakfast buffet and it was indeed extensive, though quite crowded when we were there with a large cruise ship tour group. With such a short stay we had little interaction with front desk staff but they seemed pleasant and competent. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but in the Rooftop restaurant of the nearby Mamilla Hotel, apparently under the same management. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the view here. This hotel would be another option in this area. It is part of the Mamilla Mall across from the David Citadel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your first visit to Jerusalem, and your stay with us. In addition to the standard Superior Room, The David Citadel Hotel also offers a choice of several types of beautiful rooms and suites facing the Old City. For your next visit to Jerusalem we would suggest our "Scala chef kitchen and bar" restaurant - one of the best in Israel.
We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Shift manager Issa was amazing. He took care of us, and gave us the feeling that we are more than welcome to stay as long as we want. The waitress Tamar was Welcoming and and served us very goodl

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yjohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,468 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing