We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have been staying here for 15 years. What it was when I first started staying here was a more modern alternative to the King David and with better service. Over time the prices have really crept up and if anything the serivce has gotten worse (then again service has never been a strong point of hotels in Jerusalem!). I guess what most disturbed me about my most recent visit was that the carpet was worn (shredded as a matter of fact!) and the light in the closet didn't work. This may sound petty but we were paying $500/night for a non old city view room during a non holiday week! At that price, I would expect a pristine room and much better service! I find it unlikely that I will be staying at this property again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

I regret you were disappointed with your most recent stay; we much appreciate your loyal business and I’m sorry to learn you did not experience the caring, attentive service we believe you’re entitled to. We strive for constant improvement and make every effort to this end. All guest rooms are due to be refurbished in the upcoming year and we really would be happy to welcome you back for a much improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for David Citadel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Everything was perfect, from the perfect location, beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfasts, and, most of all, a courteous and helpful staff. The Guest Relations Manager, Ms. Lauer, and the Concierge manager and his staff were particularlry gracious and helpful. They were friendly and knowledgable and made suggestions and recommendations which made our visit to Jerusalem even more interesting and fulfilling.

Rating this as "excellent" is really an understatement!

Room Tip: Tell the check-in person or Guest Relations of any special needs or concerns. They are sincere in b...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Many thanks for such compliments, they’re very rewarding. We’re delighted to have helped make your visit such a success and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This could be the best hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The staff were incredible at their jobs and conducted themselves irreproachably at all times. The food was divine throughout the day, and buffets were artisan to say the least. The view from the dining patio was of a literal castle wall, which reminded me of my favorite novels, videogames, and paintings. It was otherworldly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors because they are terraced/cascading, offering panoramic views...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Your review is heartwarming, for it lets us know we’ve succeeded in providing the hospitality we strive for. Thank you, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

it has a lot going for it. the location is excellent, the facilities are modern and up to 5 star standards, etc. it is typical of this genre, including hefty a la carte pricing of extras (e.g., wi-fi, business lounge) that downscale competitors often provide gratis. if you're doing business on an expense account or on a tour package and you are not looking for something unusual this hotel is a good choice. not a great value but it works.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review; I’m pleased you enjoyed the hotel. On your next stay I hope you have a moment to enjoy the view – our unusual and spectacular feature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The David Citadel is the perfect location for a Jerusalem hotel. A very quick walk to the Old City, the Mamilla shopping mall, Ben Yehuda, and the Khan Theatre. The rooms are modern, the beds comfortable and the views from the Old City View Alcove Rooms incredible! However, the service is uneven. Eventually most requests are honored, but there were times I felt I had to convince several staff members that my requests were not unreasonable. For example, I travel with medicine that needs refrigeration and the ice packs that go into the insulated bag must be frozen before plane rides. The initial response when I asked room service to please keep 2 tiny bags in a freezer for me for one night before my departure was "no- we are not allowed to". When I explained that I never had a problem at the King David, the Inbal or any other hotel in the world I have ever traveled to, the room service manager agreed to take them, but acted as though he was doing me an enormous favor. Also, my room was on the "executive floor" (which at the Inbal gives you access to the executive lounge) but since it wasn't a suite, I was told that access to the suite was an additional $70 a day. There is also no gift shop or newspaper stand in the hotel. Bottom line is that I do highly recommend the hotel. It is lovely, with a beautiful lobby and restaurant overlooking the old city of Jerusalem, which is unique in the city. Having breakfast on a covered terrace with a view of the City Walls beyond is incredible and no other hotel offers that. The outdoor pool is clean, as is the gym, and the spa peaceful. There is also a hair salon and a medical clinic (unrelated to the hotel) on the premises. Just be prepared for a little attitude from some of the staff members. To be fair, some of the front desk people were very accommodating and helpful. It's just uneven. That's why I just couldn't bring myself to give the hotel the highest rating I wish it deserved.

Room Tip: Best rooms by far are the Old City view rooms. Higher floors are best and the ones in the middle of...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chookoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel, but do regret you did not experience the excellent service, which is our priority, consistently throughout your stay. I hope to welcome you back and provide the superb hospitality we believe our guests are entitled to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I spent several months at this hotel. It is centrally located next to the Old City and the Mamilla Mall. The rooms are spacious but not as luxurious as the price would indicate. The tenth floor hospitality room is great for snacks and drinks but you have to have the package included in your room rate. The Wi-Fi is not complimentary and quite expensive as is the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was wonderful except for Saturday's when it was limited to dairy products.

Room Tip: You have to request a room overlooking the Old City. It is a magnificent night view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We pride ourselves on five star service and facility, and I hope you enjoyed these.Saturday's breakfast is somewhat limited due to Jerusalem Rabbinate regulations, but I'm delighted you enjoyed the other six days a week. As for Wi-Fi, while most Israel luxury hotels still do charge, I await a change in the near future. I hope to welcome you back again and provide a superb experience in our best traditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights. The location to the Old City is excellent. The hotel is relatively new and attractive. We found the hotel staff polite yet superficial. When asked about changing rooms, the people in reception were not very accommodating. The attention to detail that one gets in fine hotels was missing at this hotel. I think they can get away with a lot because of their location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

I’m so sorry you didn’t experience the outstanding service which is no less important than our perfect location, and we couldn't agree more - details make all the difference. I hope to welcome you back again for the superb hospitality we are famous for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,528 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,171 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,785 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,042 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $362 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing