We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale Fortress with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Riverside, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairytale Fortress with a View”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This could be the best hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The staff were incredible at their jobs and conducted themselves irreproachably at all times. The food was divine throughout the day, and buffets were artisan to say the least. The view from the dining patio was of a literal castle wall, which reminded me of my favorite novels, videogames, and paintings. It was otherworldly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors because they are terraced/cascading, offering panoramic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Your review is heartwarming, for it lets us know we’ve succeeded in providing the hospitality we strive for. Thank you, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    325
    128
    67
    45
See reviews for
724
409
72
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

it has a lot going for it. the location is excellent, the facilities are modern and up to 5 star standards, etc. it is typical of this genre, including hefty a la carte pricing of extras (e.g., wi-fi, business lounge) that downscale competitors often provide gratis. if you're doing business on an expense account or on a tour package and you are not looking for something unusual this hotel is a good choice. not a great value but it works.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sampchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review; I’m pleased you enjoyed the hotel. On your next stay I hope you have a moment to enjoy the view – our unusual and spectacular feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The David Citadel is the perfect location for a Jerusalem hotel. A very quick walk to the Old City, the Mamilla shopping mall, Ben Yehuda, and the Khan Theatre. The rooms are modern, the beds comfortable and the views from the Old City View Alcove Rooms incredible! However, the service is uneven. Eventually most requests are honored, but there were times I felt I had to convince several staff members that my requests were not unreasonable. For example, I travel with medicine that needs refrigeration and the ice packs that go into the insulated bag must be frozen before plane rides. The initial response when I asked room service to please keep 2 tiny bags in a freezer for me for one night before my departure was "no- we are not allowed to". When I explained that I never had a problem at the King David, the Inbal or any other hotel in the world I have ever traveled to, the room service manager agreed to take them, but acted as though he was doing me an enormous favor. Also, my room was on the "executive floor" (which at the Inbal gives you access to the executive lounge) but since it wasn't a suite, I was told that access to the suite was an additional $70 a day. There is also no gift shop or newspaper stand in the hotel. Bottom line is that I do highly recommend the hotel. It is lovely, with a beautiful lobby and restaurant overlooking the old city of Jerusalem, which is unique in the city. Having breakfast on a covered terrace with a view of the City Walls beyond is incredible and no other hotel offers that. The outdoor pool is clean, as is the gym, and the spa peaceful. There is also a hair salon and a medical clinic (unrelated to the hotel) on the premises. Just be prepared for a little attitude from some of the staff members. To be fair, some of the front desk people were very accommodating and helpful. It's just uneven. That's why I just couldn't bring myself to give the hotel the highest rating I wish it deserved.

Room Tip: Best rooms by far are the Old City view rooms. Higher floors are best and the ones in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chookoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel, but do regret you did not experience the excellent service, which is our priority, consistently throughout your stay. I hope to welcome you back and provide the superb hospitality we believe our guests are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I spent several months at this hotel. It is centrally located next to the Old City and the Mamilla Mall. The rooms are spacious but not as luxurious as the price would indicate. The tenth floor hospitality room is great for snacks and drinks but you have to have the package included in your room rate. The Wi-Fi is not complimentary and quite expensive as is the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was wonderful except for Saturday's when it was limited to dairy products.

Room Tip: You have to request a room overlooking the Old City. It is a magnificent night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We pride ourselves on five star service and facility, and I hope you enjoyed these.Saturday's breakfast is somewhat limited due to Jerusalem Rabbinate regulations, but I'm delighted you enjoyed the other six days a week. As for Wi-Fi, while most Israel luxury hotels still do charge, I await a change in the near future. I hope to welcome you back again and provide a superb experience in our best traditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights. The location to the Old City is excellent. The hotel is relatively new and attractive. We found the hotel staff polite yet superficial. When asked about changing rooms, the people in reception were not very accommodating. The attention to detail that one gets in fine hotels was missing at this hotel. I think they can get away with a lot because of their location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
I’m so sorry you didn’t experience the outstanding service which is no less important than our perfect location, and we couldn't agree more - details make all the difference. I hope to welcome you back again for the superb hospitality we are famous for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for only one night, and were very sorry to leave. Our balcony faced the magnificently lighted Jaffa gate, as a part of the " Light in Jerusalem" festival and the view was amazing. The room was very spacious and clean, the bed comfortable, the house-keeping service very quick, and the breakfast excellent. As a Israeli I can say it felt like in the best hotels abroad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Kind thanks for such a high compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend at the David Citadel, despite living only a 10 minute car drive away. My husband had hurt his knee and was having trouble walking up and down the steps in our home. We mistakenly believed there was a jacuzzi and indoor pool. Immediately after checking in and entering our room, I called the spa to find out about entrance and was told there is no jacuzzi and the pool was outdoors, although heated. As the facilities did not meet my husband's needs, I went down to talk to the manager and explained the problem. We were allowed to check out immediately, without any cost. The manager was very courteous and understanding. I'm not sure we would have gotten such courtesy at another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshinjerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
We’re happy to be accommodating when we can, and I’m pleased we could extend the courtesy. I wish your husband a speedy recovery and look forward to hosting you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,469 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing