We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but rooms are noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but rooms are noisy”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel. The noise from the street is bad though. if one is sensitive to noise then I don't think this place is for you, at least the rooms that face the main streets. They could do a better job insulating the windows from noise. The pleasantness of my fancy room is undercut by all of the honking etc coming off the streets.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the main streets. Not worth it in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I’m so sorry your pleasant stay with us was flawed by street noise, though I must admit this is the first I hear of noise with closed windows. I hope to welcome you back for an improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    327
    128
    67
    45
See reviews for
735
412
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Elegant hotel that is warm and inviting as you enter the impressive lobby. Rooms are spacious with lots of closet and storage. The soft colors both on the walls and furniture are comfortable. This was the bed is like ours at home and makes for a great sleep. Well-appointed bathrooms with separate large shower. Great variety at the breakfast bar. The attitude of the staff at every level is outstanding. Not to mention a great location near the Jaffa gate and downtown.

Room Tip: Top floors are quiet and elevators speedy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWB2006SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I could not have asked for a more perfect review. Our priorities are a luxurious and welcoming facility with the most excellent service, so your review is very rewarding and I thank you for taking the time to post it. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

let's start by telling the truth -- i am not the easiest guy to satisfy -- in fact, hotels in general do not allow me to stay with them -- :)
so we get to the david citadel in jerusalem at 8pm after a brutal, exhausting day seeing everything, talking to everyone ( jews can really talk) -- and we are whipped we tell them we have a reservation -- and they look and of course, THERE IS NO RESERVATION -- nice....well, we show them the confirmation and they can't find anything -- and apparently the travel agent was a dingbat -- BUT THE FRONT DESK MANAGER, MR. SELIM ATIAS - he says welcome, we can fix everything and in no time, he gets us a room, an upgrade at no charge and he calms the troubled soul --
but wait, there is more -- i get to the room - gigantic, charming - but no desk - huh - well there is a credenza etc, but no desk -- and i am the ceo of a couple companies and i need to do email without sitting on the floor --- and oh yes, the internet -- well it seems my laptop for some reason does not connect to their wifi -- ( don't ask ) -- but again selim answers the call -- and for the next 58 minutes, a variety of IT geniuses come up to futz with the computer and finally they bring up a high speed modem and plug into the wall -- email works and i am back in business --- then i still need a desk - and sure enough the next day - a beautiful desk comes up and now i have a laptop, high speed internet, a desk and a room big enough to play basketball in ---
and to top it off i am on the executive floor where they have a lounge with nibbles and some booze...
the hotel is the perfect locatioin ( near old city) and it is lovely and charming etc....but the staff at the front desk, the concierge, the housekeeping ( i spilled some wine as well :) -- well, they simply are the finest in israel --
i will stay here again without question ( assuming they will let me back in given my aggravation ) -- allow me to refer all readers to the george constanza espisode with the flagged book --- if i am not flagged, well, i am there for you, baby --
A MAGNIFICENT EXPERIENCE....

Room Tip: they are all good -- but worth the extra dough to stay on the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thanks for a great review – and a splendid laugh! You’re always most welcome in this hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

4 night stay. This struck me as a modern, convention style hotel that did its job well. Check in was easy. The deluxe room, while fairly small, was well appointed, bright, clean, with a lovely view of the old city. The closet space was more than adequate. Service (for extra towels and the like) was quick. The bar service was a bit off putting but I suspect that was more lack of ability to communicate. The breakfast buffet was typical but not out of the ordinary. This hotel has the best evlevators I have ever seen anywhere; I don't think I ever waited more than 10 seconds for a car. What it lacked in charm, it made up in efficiency. The location is great, close to Jaffa Gate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagman8f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed the hotel – this means we did indeed do our job well. We're happy to welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel met our expectations and then some. Every single member of staff was courteous, cheerful and helpful. The rooms were great, very quiet and large. A mistake had been made with our booking (we requested interconnecting rooms) and when we went up, the rooms were not interconnecting. Although the hotel was very busy, as it was the weekend of the Jerusalem marathon, the reception staff bent over backwards and eventually upgraded us to a mini suite to accomodate our requirements. Mistakes happen, its how they are dealt with that matters.

The hotel location is great, a short walk to the old city but well connected to main roads if going further afield.

We ate in the bar restaurant and the food was great, big portions and very tasty. Fish fingers, for my 6 year old, were made with salmon!!!

Checkout was a breeze, and our travel arrangements, to and from the airport, that were made by the hotel, were on time and faultless.

Staff did not hang around for a tip, but I gave some none-the-less, because everything was so smooth.

Not cheap, but you get great value for money. I hope that this hotel maintains the standard, as we hope to go to Jerusalem again soon and would not look for another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogbadthebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
I’m delighted you so enjoyed the hospitality we take great pride in providing. It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate your letting us know we did. Many thanks for such praise and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My evaluation of the David Citadel may be colored by my previous experience at the King David, one of my favorite hotels. The two hotels are polar opposites. The traditional King David has unsurpassed service and an air of history and romance. The David Citadel is larger, noisier, and, despite the modern entrance, the hotel rooms reminded me of a mid-class anonymous hotel chain. We had a lovely view of the Jaffe Gate, but our expensive internet failed to work with my husband's ipad2 and we had the problem every day when we renewed our WiFi. The management was nice enough to allow us to use the Executive Lounge and its computers. The buffet was large, but the quality was not A+.

Room Tip: I recommend the Executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susang4835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
The two hotels do indeed offer different aspects of luxury hospitality. I’m so sorry the Wifi connection presented some difficulty and hope the Executive Lounge offered a convenient and pleasurable alternative; it’s very special and our guests enjoy it greatly. We hope to have another opportunity to provide the superb hospitality we are well loved for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It always annoys me that even at this roommate there is an additional 65 shekels per day charge for WiFi use. There is no coffee/tea set in the room. The breakfast quality is quite average. The interesting thing is that breakfast in the dining room is charged at 135 shekels and in the room 30 or 75 for the all in option. The doorman does not really handle the door nor luggage. And by the way: there is an extra charge for parking the car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
I’m happy you enjoyed the facility and sincerely regret you were disappointed with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,494 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,131 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,018 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing