We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were there for several nights. My wife was there for four days alone and then my son and I joined her for the weekend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the place spotless, the food delicious and unending, the beds comfortable, the location central. You do not always get what you pay for; you never get what you do not pay for. Here the service and physical plant justify the price.
We will be back

Room Tip: book on the web and internet access was free
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nachum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
It is very important to us that guests feel exactly as you do – that it has been well worth it, and we make every effort to see it is so. I thank you kindly for letting us know of our success and your compliments for the service and facility. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    320
    124
    66
    43
See reviews for
699
402
72
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The David Citadel Hotel was a great experience for my family. Check-in was smooth and the concierge was excellent and eager to please. My room had a beautiful view of the Old City. The rooms are huge with a very clean feel and the location is convenient to most Jerusalem attractions. One can walk to the Old CIty, to Ben Yehuda Street, and to the Begin Heritage Center. There is an outdoor mall with upscale shops across the street as well. During my stay I had the opportunity to use the spa, which has a full menu of treatments. The outdoor pool is heated so it is possible to use even during the freezing Jerusalem winter. This was my first stay at David Citadel and I plan on staying there again during my next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springblessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
I’m so pleased you enjoyed many of the special luxuries we offer and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another wonderful hospitality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have just spent 5 days in Jerusalem at this very modern, very comfortable hotel. Just steps away from the "Old City" via the Mamilla Mall, this hotel boasts beautiful views of the city via the rooms on the higher floors. The service was absolutely phenomenal with no need left unattended. The Executive Manager, Salim, answered our every need and made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are clean and large with good lighting and plenty of outlets. There is plenty of hanging and drawer storage for 2 people. Towels are very important to me and they were perfectly absorbent and big as well as plentiful. Great L'Occitane products are provided. The rooms are very quiet, internet connection good and the pillows were nice. Breakfasts were phenomenal and a nice addition to the price of every room. The hotel was in walking distance of so many great restaurants. Great, great, great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal service is our priority and Selim is indeed an asset in providing it. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so very much and thank you for posting your review. I would love to welcome you back for many more wonderful hospitality experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

we just returned from 5 wonderful days at the David citadel...the rooms were clean, amenities were more than adequate...quiet, good lighting, and the beds were very comfortable...
the staff were so helpful especially the front office manager.
the location could not have been better...so many great restaurants within walking distance..
I would definitely recommend this hotel ..it was the best!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
I thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed the superb hospitality we strive for and would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

the best hotel in jerusalem-clean, convenient, friendly and superb food and service.

Room Tip: ask for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Many thanks for such compliments. You’re warmly welcome at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Me and my family have stayed in the hotel between 26-28.1.12. We ordered 4 standard rooms (superior) and were freely upgraded to the magnificent alcove deluxe rooms with beautiful view toward the old city of Jerusalem. The scenery of the old David citadel at night was really special. The hotel staff gave us the rooms a few hours before 3:00pm official check-in time written on the reservation voucher. The room including the bathroom was giant, clean and well organized.
The service were great, a few request were quickly answered (less the 5 min.).

In contrary to other hotels, the hotel has a new, rich and colorful play room for kids which gave us a "quiet time" while children were playing. Many good hotels forget this aspect and only have an old packed basement room.

The location is great. You can cross the street and reach the Mamila shopping avenue with many restaurants and coffee shops. Also, with A few min. (really a few), you can reach the old city main gate, Go to the Safra square from there you can reach the entire city, or go to many other close and beautiful location.

The concierge service was great. There was a guy named Eliav. He opened a touring map and explained us where to visit in the old city, and also recommended us on restaurants (he had a copy of the menus of those restaurant – which helped us to decide were we want to go).

The only minor downside we have found is the food which can be improved with more variety (especially in Saturday morning – other kosher hotel I've visit have much more variety). Also, the bread was not fresh as should be.

This hotel is one of the best I've visit and I really recommend staying there.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the old city (the hotel freely upgraded our rooms) and on a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor35_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
So nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We make every effort to accommodate guests as much as possible, and I’m happy we were able to upgrade and provide early check-in. We pride ourselves on having one of the most beautiful facilities and best Concierge teams in the country, and I’m delighted Eliav was helpful. The new Game Center is undoubtedly a special luxury we’re happy to offer children and their parents alike.
Your comments regarding food variety have been brought to the attention of senior management.
Thank you for your detailed review, we look forward to providing many more special times for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in the David Citadel early January 2012 , Great clean rooms , exceptional service , Especially Manuel Arbid for going above and beyond to make our stay most memorable enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petertrip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Manuel does indeed exemplify the excellence of service which is our priority.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,741 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing