We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibrahim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed October 25, 2011

i have never been impressed with the service at the Citadel until this past trip when we stayed there over Sukkot. we had the pleasure of being checked in by a man named Ibrahim, who was so friendly and helpful. we had a few dealings with Ibrahim over the week and each time he was so friendly and so helpful- it really enhanced our stay this time knowing there was a person to approach who would be kind.

the housekeeping staff was very nice and available this trip as well.
aside from no locks on the bathroom doors and no clocks in the rooms - it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Many thanks for your review, we love to know we’ve provided superb hospitality. I’m so happy Ibrahim made you feel welcome and well cared for. Constant improvement to our service is a priority and it’s great to hear you’ve enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for David Citadel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

A beautiful hotel, if not a little pricey. Rooms are very nice, location is a 10 minute walk from the old city, and a ten minute walk from the center of town. My only complaint is that the bathrooms have no locks. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzi386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. We’re planning to refurbish our guestrooms soon and we will take the matter of the bathroom locks under advisement. I would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I spent the High Holidays (Rosh Hashana) with my whole family, children and grandchildren in the Citadel Hotel. Although we have been staying here for the past 12 years, you would think that we could not be surprised. Well, that was turned over and we had the most enjoyable time!
The service was impeccable and more important, the staff bent over backwards to please our every whim. Thanks to Sergio, our meals went off without a hitch.
The highlight of our stay was the new children's playroom outfitted with everything imaginable: wii, computers, game boards, stage, big screen movies etc. My grandchildren just disappeared and spent most of their time there.
Being a religious family, we walked to the wailing wall which is about 15 minutes away to pray.
All in all, there was something for everyone and the hotel staff made our stay most gratifying.
Well done!!! With G-d's help, see you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side overlook the spetacular view of the old city
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcatester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Your review brings us such cheer. We do indeed try to please everyone, and how delightful it is to succeed! We’re very proud to have exceeded the expectations of longstanding friends and can’t wait to do so again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the David Citadel Hotel in Jerusalem. They upgraded us to a large room, the people were friendly and the complementary breakfast were excellent. the hotel is located near the Joppa Gate of the Old City. It is also across from a shoping. The mall is pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camerajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

I too am very pleased that we served you well and you so enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

As other reviewers have mentioned, in other countries this would be considered a 4-star hotel. The hotel lobby and rooms are decent (see pictures). The bathroom is a nice size with excellent water pressure in the shower. Internet passcodes have to be purchased from reception. Good gym with all the equipment you'd like and a nice pool. The biggest thing this hotel has going for it is its great location walking distance from the Old City. There's also a mall (Mamilla) located next door.

Breakfast was a major disappointment - very limited selection. Also one of the least informed concierge desks I've run in to in a while. Spoke with two different individuals neither of whom could provide basic tourist information. They directed me to the tourist office at Jaffa Gate.

Overall we had a nice stay and would return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel rooms, facilities and location.
I’m quite surprised that our Concierge let you down, as it’s well known as one of the best in the country, and for this I am sorry. I will look into the incident and make sure it does not repeat itself. Breakfast too is highly regarded and it’s a shame you did not enjoy it. I do wish I had met you at the time of your visit, I would surely have been able to make you more comfortable. We would be delighted to welcome you back and make every effort to see that you thoroughly enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Service at the front desk and concierge: feels like everyone is doing you a favor, far away from being friendly and you don't feel welcome at all.
Room: very simple furniture, under the simple carpet you will find ciment (yes, although the floor looks like covered by an expensive stone, but if you look near the edges of the carpet you will see that these stones cover only part of the floor the rest is ciment), the bed cover had roles on it
Cleaning of the room: huge flaws, the toilet was not totally clean and there was hair on the floor
Sleeping: horrible, we were there during succot when a lot of large families go to Jerusalem, we had the unfortunate to stay in a room where all our neighbors were from the same families with a lot of kids that will go from one room to another, having loud conversations on the corridors at 11:30 PM. Can anyone think about this before? How about leaving a couple on Holidays far away from a huge group?
After paying more than U$ 700 per night we are sure we are not coming back to this hotel. As some other reviews mention the staff doest seems to care much about the guests and well being. I have several other things that happen during our stay to share but I won't even bother for the details. If you want a peaceful and friendly stay go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erica_fri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

I truly do regret that you did not experience the superb hospitality we strive to provide and would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Prebooked suite via net.
advised midnight arrival.
Flight delayed and arrived Ben Gurion @ 1 AM
taxi to hotel.
Claimed no booking.
Showed confimation and they reluctantly gave a room.
Was not what was booked !!
Upon preparing the bed to hop in my wife suggested I have a look.
Found a pair of panties over a wet spot.

Check bathroom, yup shower was dirty along with towels.

Rang to housekeeping - no answer.

Rang to reception - no answer.

repacked bags and went to reception and had to call for 5 minutes before anyone came.

explained and they said sorry no can fix.

Checked out, and they wouldn't refund. ok, I refused to sign.

Immediately walked around to King David and settled for the rest of the night in a real hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small due to a stupidly oversized bathroom. BE aware they misrepresent their rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,528 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,171 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,785 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,042 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $362 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing