We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just returned from a truly wonderful stay at the David Citadel in Jerusalem. The staff at the hotel coordinated the logistics of our party of 30 with great cheer and efficiency. The hotel itself is beautiful, set against the dramatic backdrop of the walls of Jerusalem. Enjoying the hotel's fine cuisine on the terrace overlooking the illuminated walls on Friday night is a memory I will long treasure. The rooms were spotless and well maintained and the common areas gleaming, with staff always on hand to clear up the occasional dropped cookie. My wife and friends enjoyed the tranquility of the Spa while the kids had a terrific time in the spectacular pool. The hotel has a relatively new General Manager who is absolutely charming and seems to be the perfect host for a great establishment. Thanks for a terrific weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Review002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Many thanks for such a warm and detailed review. We hope to provide you with many more such wonderful vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

We took my elderly mother to Israel in May as she always wanted to visit Jerusalem. We decided on The David Citadel as we figured we would have a nice view of the Old City if 'touring' tired her out. We had booked an Alcove Deluxe Room but upon our arrival we were offered a generous offer by Ibrahim (desk clerk) for an upgrade to a Junior Suite. After negotiating and looking at both rooms we did take the upgrade and we were glad we did! Due to 3 of us sharing, this room offered much more space and what a view! Instead of a tiny balcony that you couldn't stretch your legs out on we had a lovely terrace with table and chairs with plants/flowers with a fabulous view of the Old City - it was truly lovely. The room had a huge bathroom with walk-in shower and full bathtub, there was a walk-in closet, a large entrance area and a massive bedroom. Mind you, it was expensive but we felt it would be well worth it, which it was in the long run. This room provided us with access to the executive lounge where food and drinks were available day and night so our meal costs were dramatically reduced by being able to have a light meal there. The morning breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious with dining indoors or outdoors, freshly cooked eggs and plenty of choices of fruits, breads, cereals, pastries, salads, fish, anything you could possibly ask for! The hotel was immaculate - well decorated and spotless! All the staff we encountered, at the front desk, the executive lounge, housekeeping and in the dining room, were all very helpful and courteous but we must give special mention again to Ibrahim as he did go out of our way to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Many thanks for your lovely, detailed review, and for complimenting Ibrahim, who is a valued member of our staff. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your room and extra benefits so much and I’m delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to providing many more marvelous experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel is very beautiful with the best view of the old city. The service is amazing and everyone is so helpful and kind. They go out of the way to help us with all our needs. My daughters loved the visit so much. They asked to visit this summer. We feel like were are at home. It's the best place to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paris777089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2011

Your warm words give me great pleasure, for I love nothing better than to hear we’ve succeeded in creating a home away from home here in Jerusalem. Thank you ever so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Our small group stayed here 5 nights as we toured Israel and were delighted with our choice. The David Citadel is perfectly situated to explore a lot of the city on foot. The day after our arrival ushered in Shabbat and we walked to the Western Wall and back without a problem, enjoying the sights along the way.

Our king bed was very comfortable and the pillows were prefect - so much so that I put the down pillow I always travel with back into my suitcase for the duration of our stay! The bath offers a shower and separate tub; water pressure and temps are very consistent. The hotel bath products are our favorite - L'Occitane - and we put our shampoo and soap back into the case, too,

Meals at the David Citadel for us were primarily breakfast - a real treat with an excellent selection and the opportunity to eat indoors or out. The staff remembered us from the first day and offered items over the subsequent breakfasts we'd shone a preference for on our first morning. We shared Shabbat dinner there after our return from the Western Wall and the food was superb, as was the service.

Our room was located on the main floor and we were initially concerned about proximity to the street for noise. Turning out the lights on that first night and immediately falling asleep let us know that needn't be a concern. The pool is immediately accessible from the wing we were on and we made a daily trek. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ocruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

These are very high compliments indeed from so discerning a guest. You seem very much aware of your requirements and also very appreciative when they’re met and even exceeded; thus your detailed review is a joy and greatly valued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Everything you expect for a world-class hotel and more! The location, accomodations, excellent service, food and the staff were incredible! Our entire stay was a memorable experience...........we were fortunate enough to have met Ibrahim at the front desk who was helpful, knowledgeable, courteous and very efficient. He is truly an asset to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benmiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

How wonderful to know we helped to create such a wonderful experience for you.
Ibrahim is indeed a valued member of our staff and I’m pleased to hear he provided you
with the superb service you’re entitled to.
You’re warmly welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the moment of arrival, extremely courteous and smiling reception staff made us feel immediately welcome. The porter delivering the suitcases was the same as were the waiters and waitresses in the dining room serving a most delicious breakfast buffet, one of the best I have had in Israel.

At this standard of hotel, everything was of the highest standard.
The hotel is placed in a superb position for visiting the Old City enabling guests to walk and leave the car in the car park.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine_lampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Your review gives us great pride and pleasure, as we aspire to provide exactly the service and experience you enjoyed. I thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Outstanding room and service. Room 905 had an excellent view of the Old City. Excellent location within walking distance of the Old City. Fabulous breakfasts, excellent room service. All our requests were completed quickly. Restaurants provided excellent service as well.

Room Tip: High Floor, ask for view of old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYLB, Guest Relations Manager at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

I’m so pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We work towards providing exceptional service and truly wonderful hospitality, so your review is very rewarding and I thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,566 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,235 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,806 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,074 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#8 of 101 in Jerusalem
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $379 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing