We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Note that I did not stay here...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Note that I did not stay here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

But instead on Friday called the hotel to ask them to help with my Mother's 75th birthday, which is today.

This morning, they brought her a cake after breakfast, complete with sparkler and a song. She was so delighted!

I can't thank the staff here for doing this (they did not ask for any payment), they just helped to make her day special because someone halfway around the world asked them to. What a nice thought in today's world that they'd go out of their way...

Thanks to the Ambassador Hotel staff. I appreciate you very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer A, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent experience at Ambassador Hotel!
Of course it always warms our hearts to read that one of our valued guests had an outstanding experience.

Such experiences are what we strive to provide our guests on a non-stop basis.
Your feedback serves as extra motivation for our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    106
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
29
16
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel and I have stayed for about 12 nights. Compared to my previous stay, the service in the hotel and especially in the restaurants has tremendously degraded.

Firstly, the breakfast service is a total mess. The staff has absolute no interest to the customers. The hotel has many groups and all customers outside the groups are not taken care, in fact even the group customers are not taken care either.
With the exception of may be 1 or 2 persons, all staff is rude, have no smile at all. The young lady with short hair at the breakfast, besides not even saying "good morning" or smiling even turned her head away when she saw me in the breakfast. On a second day, she hit me accidentally by passing in the hall and never even apologised.
As a customer, I had to get up to serve my own coffee, milk and also search for sugar and spoon in the restaurant as none of the tables are properly set-up for a second use. Again the same lady, she stands by the coffee counter and just gazes the customers instead of serving.
Another day, she arrived in her casual dress and was walking in the restaurant talking to her colleagues preparing breakfast from the buffet for herself.
In general, staff always discuss between them very loudly and without mentioning the noise coming form the kitchen in the morning.
The utensils in the breakfast do not help to serve as all cold items drop on the floor and customers walk on them. How can you serve small cucumber pieces form a buffet using a fork?

Secondly, the dinner service both again in the main restaurant and the Middle Eastern Restaurant is terrible. The order is almost thrown to me upon the service in the middle eastern restaurant. The only dialogue with the waiter was his question: "Drink something?"

Staff members knocked on the room door without announcing themselves such as Housekeeping and Room Service even when do not disturb card was hanging on the door.. The Room service waiter didn't even said hello or good evening while he just entered the room.

On the other hand, internet is very fast and reliable, room was very comfortable and clean. It would be nice to provide slippers and bathrobe also water bottles in your highly priced rooms.

I believe individual customers paying 170 USD per night deserve a much better service in such a reputable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelogue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer A, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay at Ambassador Hotel.
It appears that we have not met your expectations for this stay, and we apologize deeply for that.

The conditions of your experience with the staff and service, as you describe, are certainly not in par with the standards of our hotel and would appear to be a very isolated incident. It would have been helpful had you notified management during your stay. Our team makes every effort in all departments to ensure of an enjoyable guest experience so it is always disappointing to hear if a guest feels that we have fallen short.

It is lovely to hear that you were satisfied with the very fast and reliable wireless internet. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. Comments such as these are invaluable in our monitoring and development of standards.

The complication with regards to the coffee and breakfast is merely a misunderstanding or communication breakdown. Furthermore, it is always a concern to hear if a guest feels that our team did not take care of them to the best of their abilities, and for this we are apologetic.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and should you wish, please do be in touch with me personally so I may be of any added assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbegg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

At first sight this is a typical big city hotel with the rather anonymous decor, busy lobby full of groups that one would expect at such a major tourist destination but the staff lift the whole place. Friendly, swift service with many of the staff being university students so they are a bright sharp lot.

Breakfasts are good and plentiful and the dinner menu, whilst limited, has delicious lemon flavoured salads. Rooms are spacious and excellent wi-fi. Whilst not adjacent to the Old City it is an easy walk is certainly quieter than other hotels nearer the centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is great. It's has beautiful & modern decor. But what stuck with me was the warm guest service provided my the staff members. They are approachable, friendly, efficient, and prompt. I was very pleased. The beds were comfortable. They provide complimentary breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoL861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel, as part of a business trip.

Pro's:

Very large room
The bed was large and quite comfortable
Staff at the reception was friendly and welcoming
Possibility of having breakfast on the terrace, with a view of Jerusaleme

Con's:

The location is not great. A good 20 minutes walk to Damascus gate.
Not a very nice atmosphere, decoration inexistent
Very noisy room, you can really hear traffic outside, and people speaking in the hallways. In the morning, the staff starts to clean up rooms early (before 8 am) and it gets quite noisy.
I travelled in October, and it was really cold in the room.
Staff at breakfast was neither nice, nor helpful

In summary, I would not choose this hotel for a trip to Jerusalem, particularly because of the remote location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Ambassador Hotel in late September, and we were very pleased. Our room was very nice and spacious, and we had a balcony overlooking the city. We had free wireless in our room, and we were happy with its speed and reliability.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were very good, and we also had a special lunch and two dinners in the restaurant that were excellent. We enjoyed one evening at the Bedouin tent in the courtyard.

If you need snacks or soft drinks in your room, there is a little convenience store a short walk from the hotel that carries anything you might want!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliespr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I did not think that the hotel was very centrally located. It was in a quiet residential area although the hotel could be very lively with weddings, plus many tourist groups. The rooms were adequate. The staff at the desk was not very helpful, but the restaurant staff and management were extremely accommodating and warm.. The tiny pancakes for breakfast were very good when available. And we had excellent salmon one evening. At our final dinner there we were served a makluba, or upside-down rice--a special presentation and finale to our stay in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29doro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#36 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing