We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to like it...”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here with a tour group. Lobby was beautiful. Rooms were well decorated, but not very clean. Customer service was unresponsive. Food was acceptable, but there was very little variety in the 4 days we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hate2stayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 264 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here in the Spring of 2011 and were grateful for the brilliant customer service. We were on a tour with our Church and the hotel staff accommodated our needs in the dining room and with conference facilities. Jerusalem can be confusing to those of us used to straight streets that run north- south and east-west but I know people in our group were able to walk to the Jaffa gate easily. The rooms were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel and gladly return

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I just came back from a four night stay at the Ambassador Hotel. If I had booked the hotel myself, I probably wouldn't have booked this one, but I am very glad I stayed there and would do it again. It is in East Jerusalem, the palestinian side, which puts many people off. It is absolutely safe and in a very upscale area. In my estimation, the east Jerusalem hotels and restaurants offer much greater value and are far more appreciative of your business than in West Jerusalem.
The room had two very comfortable twin beds with white clean duvet covers. It was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The service couldn't have been better. And the food!! the best mid eastern food I've had anywhere probably 30-40% cheaper (and with no attitude) than in West Jerusalem. It's about a 20 minute downhill walk to Damascus Gate and a ten minute taxi ride to the top of Mt. of Olives (technically is is on part of Mt. Scopu-- the Mt of Olives).

Room Tip: I didn't make any special request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Reasonable hotel marred by too many noisy tour groups and chaotic service. The staff can't cope when the hordes invade for breakfast. Located about 20 minutes walk from the Old City and handy for a few good local restaurants. The rooms are clean and tidy, not hugely well equipped but comfortable. Food is pretty good and the Palestinian Taybeh beer on draft is excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The ambassador is in a really quiet residential area of east Jerusalem, full of embassies and nice houses. It is a 10/15 minute walk from the old city, we wallked there at night and felt really safe in spite what some israeli biased guides tell you.
The room was very spacious, it a very nice view over the city. Breakfast which was included was really abundant with a great selection of fruits, cold cuts, bread, eggs etc.
The rate was really reasonable for what it is and the staff really tries hard to please.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed at the Ambassador with my boyfriend in the summer of 2008. I found the hotel to be ideally located and very clean. I had a balcony room (large balcony) and loved the restaurant downstairs, which had a beautiful breakfast every morning and a lovely garden area.

Additionally, the hotel is very close to the Old City and a simple bus ride or cheap taxi will get you there quickly!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious, service is good and the food served in the restaurant is worth a try. In spite of what they claim on the website, you will need to walk for at least 25/30 minutes to reach the old city, so you end up taking a cab or the bus.
From an European perspective, expect a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
202 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#57 of 101 in Jerusalem
200 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 101 in Jerusalem
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
241 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#76 of 101 in Jerusalem
247 reviews
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem 19186, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#32 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing