We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

The staff were wonderful at this hotel and my room was spacious and comfortable but shabby. I am very pleased I stayed in East Jerusalem and would happily stay here again, though I don't think I would recommend the hotel to friends.
You are treated like a respected guest at this hotel which has its up side and a little down side too. When I was there there was a big group staying so the rest of the guests were expected to wait for their breakfast so the big group could have theirs'. This was understandable but still I had to rearrange my day on three of the mornings I was there because of a late start. I could have had breakfast elsewhere of course but the hotel does a very good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
20
55
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Jerusalem is probably the most interesting city in the world - history, current situation, the atmosphere .... architecture - each building has its history and a tourist there must think the entire span centuries, sometimes in thousands of years

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OndrejC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Although it is difficult to locate the hotel (if you are travelling alone) but once you enter the door you will be greeted with one of the finest staff you can ever meet. The best part was that they could even speak (bits & parts) of Gujarati (one of the regional languages in India). The food is also very good & very tasty. The rooms although looks little gloomy are very comfortable to stay in. The bathrooms are also nice & big (but didn't understand the idea of having a wardrobe inside the bathroom). The proximity to the old city & Mount of Olives is also very short. Also the WiFi is also free of charge and has a very good speed.
All in all I can say is that the 4 days spent here were really very nice & comfortable.
Kudos to the Staff.... (especially Mr. Yusuf)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qusais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

A warm welcome, full of arabic kindness from the hotel members. They always have kind words and good advises for you. Breakfast are amazing, as well as the complementary soup offered each evening.
Alcazar hotel is well situated, 10 minutes from the Lion, Damascus and/or New gates of the old city. It is also closed (about 15-20 minutes) to the Olive mount and its amazing view on the Haram al Sharim (Temple mount in english) and the remainder city.
I warmly recomand this place for a pleasant stay and nice visit of the Old City of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois_Konshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Alcazar hotel do not look much when you first arrive. No parking, old front, but them you enter on it, look nice all gold and red. The people that help you on the front desk are really nice.
As soon that me and my fiancé arrive they did offers you a juice and a coffee.
The room is ok, the bed is not really comfortable but is not bad, it look like an orthopedic bad. It is a little too hard for my taste. But I did wake up with no back pain or nothing so I guess is good.
There is no air conditioning and for a city that is really hot the fan was not really much, for me this is the biggest problem at the hotel.
Over all is a cozy place and is good. If they had a Air conditioning would be great…

Recommended...

Bacal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

If you're traveling on a tight budget, this hotel might be a good choice. If you can stretch it a bit to stay in the new city you'll be much better off.
Location: The hotel is located in East Jerusalem, the Arab section of the city. It's characterized by noisy mosques, dirty streets, sidewalks occupied by inconsiderate drivers' cars, and store owners intent on ripping you off (no price tags at all). Forget about restaurants in the area. The nearest Old City Gate is to enter the Muslim quarter.
Facilities: The lobby and reception look old and in need of maintenance. The rooms look REALLY old and REALLY dirty. You wouldn't want to walk barefoot on those filthy carpets. The toilets are also very old and the hot water takes a while to come out. The rooms are also extremely noisy (AC equipment) and the heating was too noisy and hard to control.
Breakfast: There's a buffet with most Arab staples, freshly cooked every morning. So if you like to indulge in a little Middle Eastern banquet every morning this is the right place. There are coffee making facilities, bottled water and the occasional evening soup complimentary for guests. That's a plus.
Staff: Members of staff are accommodating, attentive, and helpful, with airport transport, for example. One person in particular would always try to engage you in conversation about international politics, which is a delicate topic. He would also be concerned with his praying instead of helping customers/guests at times.
Next time I'll try a different place, more centrally located, cleaner, and more pleasant to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoDiCecco_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Winterthur, Schweiz
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Alcazar. We got there by car after having a bit of a hard time finding the hotel even after finding the right street, cause from the outside there's no sign saying it's the Alcazar. :) The staff was very friendly and they want you to feel comfy. The room was ok, generally clean, though the shower curtain in the bathroom was pretty gross, apart from that it was ok though. Light sleepers beware...it's right next to a Mosque, so there's a Mohezin singing at like 4.30ish in the morning...otherwise it's quiet and you can easily go back to sleep again after. :P The neighbourhood seems a bit scetchy at night, but fine during the day. It's about a 10 minute walk up&downhill to the Old City. Breakfast is good, there's a lot to choose from (or a lot to try if you wanna go for it all) and tea&coffee is free and available all day. WiFi's free in the comfy lobby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Zion Hotel
#72 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#74 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Palatin Hotel
#58 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: 6 El-Mutanabi | Wadi El Joz, Jerusalem 9790706, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family run hotel, located with easy walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem. 10 minutes walking to Herod's Gate and 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate. Simple, clean accommodation, family atmosphere. 10 minutes walking to Lerner Sports compound located in the French Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing