We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in Jerusalem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Little House in Bakah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Excellent value in Jerusalem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Little House in Bakah. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. We really like to walk and found the walk to the Old City easy and beautiful. Great restaurants very close and an easy bus ride to any place in Jerusalem. We are anxious to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Shalom Elizabeth, and Thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will have many more opportunities to visit our lovely neighborhood in the future :-)

Best wishes and see you soon (we hope),

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    133
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
110
97
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel to use as a home while exploring all of what Jerusalem has to offer. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. The ample and delicious breakfast will keep you going a good part of the day. Good wireless service will help you stay connected while there.
The location is great -- just outside the German Colony with its fantastic selection of restaurants and shops. A pleasant short walk along Derech BethLechem will bring you there. It isn't a very long walk to the Old City, either, or you can easily take a bus -- many bus lines run down Derech Jericho right by the hotel, and the staff is always available to help you learn Jerusalem's very handy bus system. One other special feature of the location is its proximity (only a 10 minute walk) to the Promenade, a wonderful green space from which you can have a truly amazing view of the Old City.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSaulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Shalom Peter! First of all, thank you so much for your kind review; it is always a pleasure to hear that we managed to make your stay in Jerusalem even more memorable. Also, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our beautiful neighborhood - Bakah is a true hidden gem of the city, and we hope you will return to explore it a bit more :-)

Best regards,

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed for four nights and were very satisfied with the hotel itself, the location, and especially the staff, who were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious (ours had a balcony) and the breakfast included in the room rate was made-to-order (not from a buffet). The hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood with a great variety of restaurants and cafes within walking distance; the Old City is about a 20 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattosan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Matthew, and thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted that your stay was so pleasant, and we hope to see you again soon :-)

Best wishes and a big "Toda Raba",

Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Loved the location of this little hotel. The room was quite spacious with a high ceiling. The bathroom was small and the bathroom was clean. Soap bars made from some weird material - did not really feel like soap.
TV had basically one channel working and the remote did not work at all.
The Italian restaurant, "Polly" had a fairly decent breakfast. The best part was the shakshuka - only available if you come early enough.
There is a nice garden at the back - kind of hidden, but worth sitting in if you have the time.
The price was right and choices were limited for accommodations - so this was the best choice when time was of the essence...

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden - which is quiet and quite pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed many of our features and took the time to write it down :)
Reagarding the T.V, We offer our guests a wide selection with dozens of channles.
I am sorry that it was not brought to our attention while you stayed with us as
it could have been easily resolved by our 24/7 reception staff. (change of remote, bateeries, etc.)
We do hope you will come back and next time you can enjoy the T.V as well :)

Avi Haim \ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was my second stay . The location is convenient to major shopping areas and the old city by foot or bus .
The hotel is rather shabby but clean . Our television remote didn't work . The room was dark and gloomy .
I stayed over Passover . The breakfast was uninspired but adequate .
Not my favourite hotel in Jerusalem but in a pinch it will do .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leaffan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you took the time to write a review :)
This is important for us as we always strive to improve.
As much as we try we understand that sometimes problems may occur and so urge our guests to notify us. We are sorry you did not bring the remote problem to our attention as the solution is very simple (change of batteries,remote etc.)
Regarding the breakfast, indeed during the Passover holiday when Bread is forbidden breakfast may not be at the same standard.
We do hope to see you again and hope we can provide you with a better experience,
Avi Haim \Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent one week as a solo traveller here and have nothing but excellent comments to make. Buses to the Old City are right on the corner and take 10 mins to Jaffa Gate. Bakah is a beautiful part of Jerusalem and there are numerous upscale cafés , restaurants, grocery and ATMs within a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a run/walking track very close by which was an old railway track which was great to work off the cooked to order breakfasts including two kinds of shakshuka and strong cappuccinos. I had a corner room on the main floor with lots of light and high ceilings which was spacious and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and housekeeping was more than adequate. The weather was beautiful so it was very pleasant to eat outside on the patio for breakfast where the wifi was just as strong as in the rooms. The best part were the staff - a special thanks to Avi-who made me feel at home while I was there;they were helpful, very knowledgable about Jerusalem and ready to go that extra mile to make my stay as comfortable as could be. I highly recommend staying here and plan to return in a few months.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 550Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Chantal,

Thank you so much ! I really appreciate you took the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review. One of the perks of this job is meeting nice people like you.
We look forward to seeing you soon :)

Take care,
Avi Haim \ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little far from Jerusalem old city by foot, but you can take the bus right on the corner or if you rent a car will be like 10 minutes. But the area is very nice, good restaurants around. The staff of the hotel was very kind, they were always helpful and made sure we were comfortable. Internet connection was the only down, no so good.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Shalom Mary, and thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to hear that you had such a good experience with us. Thanks to your review, as well as requests from other guets, we have upgraded our Wi-Fi connection, and we are happy to announce it works fine now; hopefully you will return again soon and enjoy it :-) Best regards, Adva Tal-Or Emori \ Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#45 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Shamai Suites
#29 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 33 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing