We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for Jerusalem travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Little House in Bakah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
169 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Jerusalem travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Location, room, hospitability are all excellent. This is not an "hotel", is not a large facility - yet it's a cozy quiet little juel in the heart of the very nice old quarter of Bakaa (Geulim). Within 5 to 10 minutes walk to coffee shops and restaurants. An Italian dairy restaurant in the house, where a very nice breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Basic for youngsters, others for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello Meir, we are grateful for your kind and detailed review. It is always wonderful to hear that we managed to make your stay a pleasant experience :-) We hope you will visit us again soon!
-Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    134
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
110
98
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room was clean, tidy, with extra blankets and the required and expected amenities. The bathroom was on the small side.

The WiFi was very good and free, which was a pleasant surprise, with tea and coffee available upstairs.

Overall the hotel and the rooms were what you'd expect for the price but the staff and their flexibility was what made the place stand out - as it was quiet they allowed me to change one of the dates I was staying (last minute), responded to my emails promptly and also allowed me to check out an hour late to accommodate my flight time. When I arrived they were giving plenty of information on buses etc to the person checking in before me providing a very nice map!

They provide a fantastic breakfast in the restaurant next door, the staff were great and the atmosphere lovely.

Location was perfect for me as my friends live in the Bakah /Katamon area and the hotel is situated between two main streets (Emek Refaim - perfect for food!) and Derek Bet Lechem - both of which have regular buses into useful areas of Jerusalem.

For someone looking for good value and basic accommodation with very helpful staff - this is the place to go. I'd stay here everytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Shalom Brighde,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and accommodations! We do our best to be flexible for our guests when needs be, and it is good to know we helped you out :-)
We understand that you were less pleased with your room, since it was an economy room - by definition, it is smaller and situated in a less attractive part of the hotel. We recommend trying our regular single rooms the next time you stop by; we are sure you will enjoy them much more.
-Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Little House in Bakah is great value - it is not a 'fancy' or 'upscale' hotel, but it is very clean, and was a great choice for my family - we stayed in a family suite - two bedrooms and one bathroom for six nights in December. While the bathroom was a little small, the suite itself was a great set up for my family (wife and two teenage children). While they don't offer a typical 'Israeli breakfast buffet,' the breakfast choices were fine and had enough variety for my entire family - everything from eggs to Shakshukah to Israeli salad. Great location - about a 10 minute walk to Emek Rafaim and German Colony, and about a 1/2 hour walk to the Old City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Front Office Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Shalom Jonathan,
Thank you for your flattering review! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed our family unit; it is true that the bathroom us a bit small, but as you've mentioned, we make up for it with the size and comfort of the unit itself.
We hope to see you again soon!
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was very small, but felt homey. Breakfasts at the Restaurant Polly next door are a lovely change from the normal Israeli hotel buffet, they cook your breakfast to order. There are very nice cafe's and restaurants on Derek Beit Lechem, but this is a residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Front Office Manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Beth, Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfasts; we will be happy to pass your compliments to Polly Restaurant as well :-)
- Adva Tal-Or Emori, Reception Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are simply looking for a place to sleep, wake up to a great area and have a fabulous breakfast, this place is the king of value.
The rooms are dated and very small but if all you want is to rest for excellent value this is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there. Its a hotel full of charme and atmosphere. Not too to big and only a few meters to the next bus stop - 5/10 minutes to the old city. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the adjoining restaurant Pollys is a la carte and very delicious. But don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filderschreiber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a budget hotel. The rooms are clean and the toilets attached are reasonable and livable. The staff are friendly. There is plenty of free tea and coffee. The breakfast is basic but decent. There is little luxury. The rooms are small and the costs are small. However if you want to see Jerusalem on a budget this is not a bad place to start. I will go back again and I enjoyed my stay.
Breakfast was a selection of Israeli and European food. Not a wide choice but enough to get you going. I always enjoy Jerusalem and I enjoy this most amazing city and its people. Parking is free which is a huge bonus...
Hotel staff have some excellent recommendations for evening entertainment. Listen and follow their advise. We did and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendlyface097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#45 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Shamai Suites
#30 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 33 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing