We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT hotel. Don't believe the other reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel. Don't believe the other reviews!”
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I just got back from Israel, spending my first 4 nights at the Little House in Bakah and really loved my stay there.

Ok, so if you're looking for a 4-star hotel this is definitely not it. That said, let me tell you what I loved about the place.

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was updated and spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a powerful AC unit which is important in Israel. There was even a nice flat panel TV in the room.

While they didn't have free internet, there were several cafes in walking distance that did. Speaking of which, Little House is in a residential area so there were some terrific cafes, restaurants and a wonderful bakery all within walking distance.

While you can find some of this stuff at other hotels in Jerusalem, what I really liked about the Little House is that it felt like home. This was my first trip to Israel and the Little House was my first destination.

The staff there went out of their way to provide me with helpful options for dining, shopping, finding my way around, etc. They were friendly, chatty and more than just courteous. They were genuinely concerned with my needs and did their best to see to them.

The best example of this was their help in finding me a hotel in Tel Aviv. I decided to leave Jerusalem a day early and needed a last-minute one-night hotel room in Tel Aviv. The woman at the desk spent 45 minutes on the phone and internet to find me a room. They had nothing to gain by doing this and, in fact, by her helping me, they were losing a paying customer one day early.

I don't know what all the other people are griping about in the other reviews but my experience at this hotel was nothing short of excellent.

If you want something cozy, homey, and want to feel like you're living IN Jerusalem and not just stationed at some generic hotel, then I strongly urge you to stay at A Little House in Bakah.

Shalom!

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravilinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    142
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
118
101
72
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paragon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

My recent stay at Bakah Apartments (adjacent to Little House in Bakah....same management) was very unpleasant. The toilet was broken (ran continually for the entire week we were there), the place was very dirty, a towel bar fell down and wasn't repaired for 3 days.........................and all of my concerns were addressed politey (and, yes, repeatedly) with the front desk to absolutely no avail.

I had stayed at Little House 18 months before and it is very hard to believe that the same management is in place (but, it is).......

After my return to the States I wrote a little of complaint and it was unanswered.

I'm so very disappointed that I can no longer recommend this place because the location is very nice in the Bakah neighborhood that I enjoy so much.

Kathy Walters
Paragon, Indiana, USA

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the lack of caring and attention from staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy4HIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We went in the "off-season and were given an upgrade to a family unit, whch was nice. The front desk was generally very helpful. The rooms were spacious, and very high ceilings, gold organza curtains and brocade bedspreads lent a hint of elegance to what was otherwise a rather stark and basic atmosphere. Although the hotel has lovely prints in the sunny ground floor hallways, the walls of the room were bare (except for the flat screen tvs). Furniture appears new and is in very good condition, but is mostly formica. Views were of the backyard which could be pleasant but were marred by its unkempt state. (My daughter commented "oh look, a view of garbage!") There is no free internet service with the room, but an hour of access is given when using the hotel restaurant. We happened to repair there for dessert in the evenings, which was excellent and also comfortable -- the restaurant includes a cozy basement room with leather sofas and armchairs. Breakfast is another matter entirely. The quality of the buffet is very poor, with the Israeli equivalent of extra sugary Tang instead of juice and some truly inedible prepared foods -- e.g.mealy and watery scalloped potatoes, sweetened grits; fatty kugel. They'd be better off cutting out the ambitious dishes and expanding the salad offerings, which were limited to sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. Also: no tea and coffee in the room, which seems standard in comparable hotels, and no hair dryer (this seems normal for Israeli hotels in this class).

  • Liked — hotel restaurant, easy parking
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank istourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We just stayed for nine days at this (little) hotel. Truly everything was little, from the unsatisfactory service, to the blankets (they told us that the cover shrunk in the laundry), to soap and rough greyish towels. There was no help with bringing suitcases to the room (no elevator).The rooms were hardly cleaned and there weren't enough electrical outlets in the room. Breakfast in the courtyard was a far cry from the usual Israeli breakfast and served in an indifferent manner. The courtyard was cold and we had to eat with our coats on.
The only thing that wasn't little, was the price. We could have stayed in any other medium priced hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everythin
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyorktraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This quaint B&B was recommended to us by friends. This area of Jerusalem is off the beaten track for tourists, but very nicely situated, and parking is easier than in downtown. Bus routes & cabs are close at hand. The building has been renovated recently. It's in the style of Arab houses prevalent in older parts of Jerusalem with solid walls & high ceilings. Rooms are small, but clean & have cable tv & adequate storage space for clothes. There is no health club or pool here, as you'd expect to find in larger hotels. The lobby & other public areas are modestly decorated. The glass-enclosed restaurant/bar/breakfast room was charming & pleasant. A full Israeli breakfast is included in the price. The staff was helpful and responsive to our needs. I do recommend this place for brief stays for location, ambience & value.

  • Liked — Off beat location & charm
  • Disliked — No elevator, no health club or pool
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ueser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We made our reservation through a website called Orbitz ,a well known website in America. We arrived in Jersualem late in the evening. we had trouble finding the hotel so we called them to get help with directions and the hotel could not find our reservation. We read the hotel manager the reservation number that we had printed from the website and he said they don't use confirmation numbers and it meant nothing to him. He said he had never heard of Orbitz, and he had no reservation in our name. He was agitated and angry ,rude and extremely unhelpful. His advice was to come there, and show us the paper from the website. even though he did not have room for our family. We were very concerned with finding a place to stay , and did not have time to waste arguing with a hotel who had no rooms. We finally found a room at the El Dan where they were very accomodating. Orbitz is to blame for the reservation mistake, but if this is how the staff at the hotel treats potential guests then we are glad not to have stayed there.We later heard that the hotel is a dump so maybe it worked out for the best.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank penguina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Owner and manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 16, 2008
I checked the matter carefully, We never had this reservation and we never confirmed it. As a very popular hotel, we some time very full.
Of course we oblige to our guests that their reservation is confirmed. I really hope for you that next time you will be able to enjoy our Little house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

This was our first trip to Israel, a beautiful and fascinating country. Jerusalem is of course a must-do on any itinerary.

The Hotel is very attractive, located in an old renovated mansion. We opted for this hotel as it appeared to have all characteristics to make it ideal for a family stay, offering apartments in an adjacent modern building, a little garden and an in-house restaurant.

We arrived early evening from Tel Aviv with our kids aged 5 and 2, quite exhausted from the long trip. We were happy to find a small kitchenette in the apartments to settle the kids, before going to the restaurant.

The restaurant, run by the hotel owner's son, however turned out decisively child unfriendly. The staff and manager repeatedly urged us
to make them sit down, to be quiet, not to touch anything etc etc. Whilst all they were doing was what kids usually do in that age: explore the new environment. We ended up leaving the restaurant and dining out the other nights in more flexible eateries.

Next afternoon in the garden, with a cup of coffee to unwind from the beautiful sights, turned out equally unsatisfactory, with hotel staff telling us to keep the children close as there were unprotected electric wires used for the garden illumination which they could touch. The staff recommended us to move to a playground one mile down the road.

Regrettably all I can say is that the place looks nice, but don't show
up with kids!

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Puzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Owner and manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this review, January 16, 2008
The children of this family were very wild, they keep running back and forth, bothering the other gusts at the restaurant.
After we got couple of complains from other guests, we asked, politely, the pedants to ask their children to behave.
We have many families coming here, and we never had any problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Shamai Suites
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing