We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, affordable lodging in a great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“nice, affordable lodging in a great neighborhood”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a nice, small hotel in Jerusalem, about a 30 minute walk from the old city, and close to supermarkets, drug stores, restaurants. Emik Refyim, the main street in Bakah (German colony), is close by, and has numerous places to eat and shop. The staff of this hotel are all very nice, and try to get what you need. Breakfast is served at Polly, the restaurant next door. There is a set menu from which to choose, and all the choices are all good. Shabbat breakfast is simpler, but also nice and adequate. Be aware that room #1 on the first floor by the reception desk is noisy because the room faces two heavily traveled streets. We asked for another room, and the only other available room was in the basement. The basement was quieter, if a bit more sparse. No refrigerator in the basement, but there is a communal refrigerator on the first floor. Wifi was spotty in the basement, and we had to go up to the main floor to get our email.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    161
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
130
107
83
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We sadly had to travel far distances for this trip to Jerusalem, Israel for a family funeral. The hotel management and staff couldn't have been more accommodating for every little or big request. The rooms are small but if you're there to tour, the are comfortable. The rooms need to be cleaned a bit better as we pointed out, however, the staff recognized the issues and began dealing with it. Wi-Fi and more than sufficient cable TV are free. The breakfast choices are outstanding. The restaurant, Polly, adjacent to the hotel is another gem. It is Glatt Kosher, but the food is extra special. We had dinner on 2 nights and a late snack on one. The Israeli wine choices are impressive. Overall, despite some deep cleaning that needs to be done, this was not only a pleasant surprise, it gives hope to the Israeli hospitality sector that its time has finally come.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanBernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this bed & breakfast in May 2012. For someone who is familiar with Jerusalem the location is great and the price is unbeatable. The room is simple but comfortable for the solo or couple traveler. The water pressure and air conditioning were very good, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast at the hotel restaurant was pretty good too, and complimentary. You do need to tip the waiter/waitress. Please note that on Shabbat the breakfast is simple because cooking is forbidden. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and I was able to use the internet for free at a computer on the 2nd floor. The hotel is just 4 blocks from the trendy street called "Emek Refaim" that has nice restaurants and shops. There are also a few restaurants and small grocery shops and stores on "Derech Beit Lehem" which is just a half block away. I have family that lives just 3 blocks away so the location was just perfect for me. I will most likely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a view the rooms with no window to the exterior of the building are the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeview3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As a single woman traveller I appreciated all the place had to offer. Great location, safe, clean, walking distance to the old town, very friendly and helful staff, fantastic breakfast that is included. Supermaket in a walking distance; communal fridge available to store your groceries for shabbat. Air conditioned and well shaded with large trees. Not a 5 star hotel but great! Would recommend it to all if you do not want to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: I had a room behind the reception and at first, I worried about being on the ground floor. Well, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This qauiant little hotel is lovely. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the area is great - very nice restaurants and shops nearby plus it's only a 25 min walk to the old city.

Also the breakfasts are delicious. So glad I found it so had to pass this on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ws1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on my own in August. Its in a quiet and safe location about 40 minute walk from the Old City, but there is a bus at the end of the road (74 or 75) which will take you half way. The hotel itself was fine, I booked a single (not economy) room, situated on the 1st floor which has plenty of room, was quiet and had a decent sized bathroom. Tea, coffee and water in the lobby area, as well as free internet on the computer on the 1st floor were a good addition. The breakfast served in the restaurant next door was excellent! For me, the staff made my stay special. They went out of their way to assist me and make me feel welcome, especially getting to Bethlehem to meet a guide I had booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights and thought it was a great deal. The breakfast was delicious and filling, the staff was helpful and the room was clean and fairly comfortable. The only downside was that our bathroom, while clean and updated, smelled like sewer gas. Also for some reason, our double size bed came twin sized blankets, but we found an extra blanket in the closet so it wasn't a big deal.

Overall it was a good experience and we'd return and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#4 of 101 in Jerusalem
411 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
314 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 101 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
468 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 101 in Jerusalem
458 reviews
Hillel 11
#43 of 101 in Jerusalem
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Property: A Little House in Bakah
Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing