We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every little at Little House in Bakah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We just stayed for nine days at this (little) hotel. Truly everything was little, from the unsatisfactory service, to the blankets (they told us that the cover shrunk in the laundry), to soap and rough greyish towels. There was no help with bringing suitcases to the room (no elevator).The rooms were hardly cleaned and there weren't enough electrical outlets in the room. Breakfast in the courtyard was a far cry from the usual Israeli breakfast and served in an indifferent manner. The courtyard was cold and we had to eat with our coats on.
The only thing that wasn't little, was the price. We could have stayed in any other medium priced hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Newyorktraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 436 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2007

This quaint B&B was recommended to us by friends. This area of Jerusalem is off the beaten track for tourists, but very nicely situated, and parking is easier than in downtown. Bus routes & cabs are close at hand. The building has been renovated recently. It's in the style of Arab houses prevalent in older parts of Jerusalem with solid walls & high ceilings. Rooms are small, but clean & have cable tv & adequate storage space for clothes. There is no health club or pool here, as you'd expect to find in larger hotels. The lobby & other public areas are modestly decorated. The glass-enclosed restaurant/bar/breakfast room was charming & pleasant. A full Israeli breakfast is included in the price. The staff was helpful and responsive to our needs. I do recommend this place for brief stays for location, ambience & value.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ueser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We made our reservation through a website called Orbitz ,a well known website in America. We arrived in Jersualem late in the evening. we had trouble finding the hotel so we called them to get help with directions and the hotel could not find our reservation. We read the hotel manager the reservation number that we had printed from the website and he said they don't use confirmation numbers and it meant nothing to him. He said he had never heard of Orbitz, and he had no reservation in our name. He was agitated and angry ,rude and extremely unhelpful. His advice was to come there, and show us the paper from the website. even though he did not have room for our family. We were very concerned with finding a place to stay , and did not have time to waste arguing with a hotel who had no rooms. We finally found a room at the El Dan where they were very accomodating. Orbitz is to blame for the reservation mistake, but if this is how the staff at the hotel treats potential guests then we are glad not to have stayed there.We later heard that the hotel is a dump so maybe it worked out for the best.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
1  Thank penguina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Owner and manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2008

I checked the matter carefully, We never had this reservation and we never confirmed it. As a very popular hotel, we some time very full.
Of course we oblige to our guests that their reservation is confirmed. I really hope for you that next time you will be able to enjoy our Little house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

This was our first trip to Israel, a beautiful and fascinating country. Jerusalem is of course a must-do on any itinerary.

The Hotel is very attractive, located in an old renovated mansion. We opted for this hotel as it appeared to have all characteristics to make it ideal for a family stay, offering apartments in an adjacent modern building, a little garden and an in-house restaurant.

We arrived early evening from Tel Aviv with our kids aged 5 and 2, quite exhausted from the long trip. We were happy to find a small kitchenette in the apartments to settle the kids, before going to the restaurant.

The restaurant, run by the hotel owner's son, however turned out decisively child unfriendly. The staff and manager repeatedly urged us
to make them sit down, to be quiet, not to touch anything etc etc. Whilst all they were doing was what kids usually do in that age: explore the new environment. We ended up leaving the restaurant and dining out the other nights in more flexible eateries.

Next afternoon in the garden, with a cup of coffee to unwind from the beautiful sights, turned out equally unsatisfactory, with hotel staff telling us to keep the children close as there were unprotected electric wires used for the garden illumination which they could touch. The staff recommended us to move to a playground one mile down the road.

Regrettably all I can say is that the place looks nice, but don't show
up with kids!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Peter_Puzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Owner and manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2008

The children of this family were very wild, they keep running back and forth, bothering the other gusts at the restaurant.
After we got couple of complains from other guests, we asked, politely, the pedants to ask their children to behave.
We have many families coming here, and we never had any problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

A charming clean hotel an a great location, I think the rooms must have been renovated, as they were very clean and comfortable. The man at the reception was very polite and helpful (rare in israel hotels!). He told us that they were going to get flat screen TVs in the rooms soon. It is a bit noisy from street traffic, but its location was great. Alovely little house in Bakah!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luxlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Stayed for two nights recently. The Little House is well-located, and the building has a lot of charm, unfortunately mostly appreciated when looking at it from outside. Rooms were clean but very worn, service indifferent. Could be a knockout if the owners would invest in their property, but a reasonable value.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moshestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdedNiv, Owner and manager at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2008

We made a massive renovations on autumn 2007, Rooms, furnishings bedding and textile all is new now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

We tried to book a room for two nights in 2007, May, but the hotel have no secured site and we sent our bank details for booking by regular mail; the hotel did not recieve our mail quickly ( Israel mail....)and canceled our booking without our consent, after a lot of E-mails very rudes....We are in February, and the booking for May.... So, we never, never will go there; We have booked for a very nice room in The American Colony hotel; I think we have win at the change.
Good luck if you plan to go there !!

Stayed: February 2007
Thank sweathart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#3 of 101 in Jerusalem
459 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Hillel 11
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#40 of 101 in Jerusalem
476 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
339 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $94 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing