We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go to this horel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't go to this horel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

One of the most terrible hotels in Jerusalem I will post a picture with chease from breakfast unbilicable
The owner of the hotel if you not right will tall you that you are drunk
Some times but it's became to be like always you will find hears of other people in your bad dirty towels et.c

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashmadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    131
    111
    79
    82
See reviews for
75
97
71
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was very pleased that I chose the Jerusalem Gold Hotel in Jerusalem to stay at. I chose it initially because of the price - a reasonable 3-star hotel. But it turns out that I was very lucky because I found the rooms clean and fully-supplied each day. The staff is friendly and well-trained and the location is great - easy to get anyplace in Jerusalem or from the Central Bus Station to go anywhere in Israel. They serve an terrific buffet breakfast that leaves no room
for lunch! There are times that you have to wait when the elevators are busy - no different
than any busy hotel. I do wish there would be wi-fi (at no cost) at least in the lobby. Then it
would be perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

On a pilgrimage with our church, we were booked at the Jerusalem Gold. To be honest, most of the reviews are very honest. This is a great hotel but not luxurious. The thing that sets it apart is the owner. Ariela at first meeting is a character for Americans. She met us on arrival (at a very late hour). She was very fashionable with a hat, formidable heels and a spectacular earring. She usually only has one because she is always on the phone. I think that the bread and butter for her business is us pilgrims. But that isn't a bad thing.

Our room wasn't spacious but had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable. I was a travel agent in my (not that much earlier years) and I always told my hotel and cruise clients if you wanted to spend all of your time in your room (or cabin) then you could probably get amazing accommodations where you live.

The biggest complaint at the Gold is the elevators. Very slow. But seriously! We were only going up and down. The restaurant is in the lowest level i.e. no windows. But the food was pretty good, not amazing. To be honest, I didn't go to Israel for a gourmet experience. Jerusalem is a trek and we were happy to return to the Gold for a shower and a change of clothes. We met in the lobby lounge for a cocktail before dinner (the bartenders quickly picked up on our preferences for dirty martinis and Cosmos.)

Our trip was so amazing. For us Christians, it is difficult to be in such an overwhelmingly Jewish environment. I have to admit that there where a few uncomfortable but not unsafe experiences. Thank goodness for the Gold because no matter what happened during the day, we always returned to WiFi, a caring staff and Ariela.

We had a few health challenges in our group. Most were of the gastrointestinal variety that would not be surprising on this kind of trip. On our last day, however, one of our guys was really down and out. We had a couple of people in the group with basic medical knowledge who quickly diagnosed this as a serious condition. Long story short. Jewish Holy Day, not a lot of help. Ariela quickly came to the rescue and personally drove him and his wife to the clinic.

Last note. Everyone came home safely but buy TRAVEL INSURANCE! And if you're in Jerusalem, stay at the Gold.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The good things: The hotel is right next to Jerusalem's Central bus station with lines running to almost every major city in Israel. Just across the street you have a light rail which runs along Jaffa Street taking you to Mahane Yehuda Market, Ben Yehuda Street and the Old city in one direction and to Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum to the other direction.
The not so good things: The staff is always busy because the hotel hosts groups from all over the globe so usually the lobby is crowded. The restaurant also gets packed during breakfast and dinner making it harder to get a table.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you are looking for a clean hotel, with extremely comfortable beds and excellent food, the Jerusalem Gold Hotel is the place. It is centrally located next to the central bus station and directly across from the new Jerusalem Light Train. All of Israel is easily accessible from this hotel. It's located in a very safe neighborhood at the entrance to Jerusalem. Close to shopping and outstanding medical care. What makes this hotel especially pleasant, is the owner of the hotel takes a personal interest in all of her guests. Staying in her hotel is like being a guest in her home.

Room Tip: I prefer to be on the upper floors for no particular reason other than I believe it might be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Also for my group this was the first hotel that we arrived at on our pilgrimage to The Holy Land. We were a group of 50 people and our group leader informed us that Israel hotels are expensive and this one is not a very new one. We were told that the hotel is very conveniently located and within walking distance of Old Jerasalem. But we tried one evening to get to the Old Town and got scared as the houses around the hotel looked inhabited and the streets were empty.

The room size was just right - with two single beds pushed together, but fine for the reason we were there...not to hang out at hotel but to explore the city. AC functioned ok in my room, but I heard that other members of our group had trouble with the toilets. We also had some issues with the towels one day (they did not provide us the entire pack per person). No WiFi, and a very old TV set in the room. No fridge also (and this was an issue, as cold water is really needed the June heat.

Nice lounge and bar area...comfy and social place to hang.

Food was buffet style and good but pretty much the same each of the four days we were there. Lots of salads. Dining room chairs and tables need cleaning; almost all napkins at our tables looked old and badly washed (it was better in the morning, when paper napkins were provided instead).

The hotel is located at major bus terminal so lots of action and noise - beware of the huge night traffic! Would not stay here again if there was a choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miruna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently visited Israel and stayed at the Jerusalem Gold Hotel. It is very centrally located situated next to the central bus station and just a two minute walk to take the train to the old city. Only a 5-10 minute ride puts you in the heart Old Jerusalem.
The staff was extremely accomodating and gracious. Very clean and quite adequate.
The owner was always available and accessible greeting her guests as they came into the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel while you visiting the Holy Land.
Food is excellent with a large variety of fresh fruit, salads, olives, dates, cheeses. Wonderful.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" •"Corner suites are large and sunny"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b54britt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
#79 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Givat Ram
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Prima Palace
#42 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gold Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Gold Hotel
Address: 234 Jaffa, Jerusalem 9438316, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Rommema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem Gold Hotel has excellent location, right next to Jerusalem central bus station, which is guarded by security men & street cams 24 /7. It has an easy access to city tram that enables fast trip to the Old City of Jerusalem, Ein Karem, Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial, Mount Herzl and other main city sights; the hotel is within walking distance from Israel Museum, Knesset - Israeli Parliament and several shopping malls. It has recently undergone full renovations and accredited as a 4 star hotel. Looking forward to welcome you at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jerusalem Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing