We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A living example of how not to care for your customers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
Ranked #22 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A living example of how not to care for your customers.”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

For reasons I do not fully understand, Israeli hotel prices are still artificuially high. It appears they are doing great business. Unfortunately, some of the hotels doing great business do not deserve their success, and this one is a prime example.

The room rate was $220 which was very expensive. I had a basic room which was acceptable had the price been $110. It was clean enough, but shabby and badly in need of refurbishment.

We arrived late (after midnight) and the front desk staff and check in were fine. I had asked for an extra bed and this had been dealt with.

We were getting up to meet people at breakfast in the hotel. Unfortunately, the shower did not work properly. The fixed shower head would only deliver cold water and it was leaking, slightly, as well. The moveable handheld shower head did manage to deliver hot water, but it was leaking too and so there was water everywhere. We were in a hurry so we put down some towels, showered and got down to breakfast.

It was a buffet, at least that is what it was supposed to be. The food was poor. It was as if somebody had decided they no longer cared. The hot food was left to get cold in inadequate heating. The bread choice was one type of roll and one loaf. There were plentiful salads but some had seen better days. There was nobody tidying up the food area. The coffee first delivered was cold.

Incidentally, the gym is poor. The opening hours were not great, either.

At checkout I complained. The clerk said there was nothing she can do. (Apparently front desk staff have no authority to give credits, etc, in case they give away too much...) The on call manager was firm and resolute. It was too late to do anything about it now. That, as you may appreciate, is a summary. I told him that it was obvious the problem with the shower was long standing but he was not interested. In fact, he was not interested in anything I said. The word 'sorry' did not pass his lips. He, also, was not prepared to do anything for me.

The bottom line is that I did not need, or necessarily want, money off. I wanted to see a bit of customer care; a bit of customer service. But there was none. The impression - which, regrettably, seems to be a truism - is that the management do not care. So, you had a bad experience in our hotel? Tough.

There will be people who will get through a stay at this hotel and it will seem fine. (Though I would like to know what they thought of the prices.) But, based on my experience, if there's a problem, do not expect them to care about you.

I won't be going back there and neither will any of my family. Do yourselves a favour and stay away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    607
    221
    86
    50
See reviews for
542
434
110
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Our family and friends just returned from a 6 night stay at this lovely hotel. As it was both Passover and Easter, the hotel was filled. We had several specific needs for meeting rooms and for seder. The hotel went out of their way to insure that all of our needs were met. Especially helpful was Marcel Salomon, guest relations manager.

We would defintiely stay there again. The location, the facilities and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2009

If you are looking for impeccable service and quality meals, theis is the hotel to stay at. You will not be disappointed. The staff is courteous and attentive, and all amenities are looked after at all times.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We just returned from our trip to Israel, I had read some of the previous reviews and was a little nervous. When we got into to our room, I said to my husband, what were those people talking about! It was very nice., comfy bed, soft sheets. Whenever we would call the front desk for something, they would call 15 minutes after to see if we got what we needed. I was impressed, that doesn't happen in the u.s. even in some 5 stars we've stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMilkyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I loved my stay at the Dan Panorama in Jerusalem...
The rooms were large and spacious and the wait staff in the restaurant and dining room were excellent...
We celebrated my son's bar-mitzvah in the penthouse suite and were very impressed with the view, the decor and the menu...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just returned from a week at Dan Panorama Jerusalem
I am an experienced traveller to Jerusalem
Very pleasant stay-I initially had trouble with the rooms :first one smelled very bad and the second was right over the traffic outside-but the staff was amazing and switched me to a great room-
very fine staff, very responsive management
the housekeeping is phenomenal-
only suggestion-if some of the rooms are below par-why put guests there?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This hotel was quite a disappointment
Our room intermittently smelled of sewage which permeated the floor and apparently a number of other floors as well by report of other guests. We were in fact woken up one morning by the stench. When I spoke to the front desk, manager they said they were aware of problem, shrugged when I asked how they were going to fix it, couldnt explain why they were putting people in rooms where this was a problem, and couldnt move us at the time. Water also leaked from a pipe in the closet onto our clothes and when maintenance came up to fix it, I noticed that the pipe was wrapped with tape in a number of places including where the leak was coming from. The fix was to put a pan under the leak and when I asked why they didnt repair it, received the same shrug.
The front desk personnel almost uniformly appeared either bored or annoyed when queried about anything. At one point when I asked to speak to the manager, I was told he was away for a few days and was referred to a young man who was apparently head of security for the shift and not able to offer much help regarding the rooms.

On a more minor note, the exercise room is dark and tiny, with a couple of pieces of equipment .

Overall this is a poorly run budget-quality hotel that is priced much higher than that. I would have thought that the Dan chain (which includes the King David) would be embarassed to have it on their roster, and they should consider investing some resources to get customer service up to a reasonable standard

  • Liked — It was in Jerusalem
  • Disliked — The stench, the poorly trained staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,332 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Prima Royale
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
836 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Panorama Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Panorama Jerusalem

Property: Dan Panorama Jerusalem
Address: 39 Keren ha-Yesod, Jerusalem 9418823, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dan Panorama Jerusalem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Panorama Jerusalem Hotel is centrally located in the new part of the city, within easy reach of modern Jerusalem's lively center, theatres, shops and businesses, whilst it is still within walking distance of Jerusalem's major historic sites and the fascinating Old City. Our Jerusalem Hotel's prime location makes it a very convenient base for a family holiday or for business guests and the hotel offers a range of conference and convention facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Panorama Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Panorama Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Dan Panorama Hotel
Dan Panorama Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing