We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Very Helpful Staff! Comfy Beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location! Very Helpful Staff! Comfy Beds!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days on a tour with AIT. We had to be on the bus at 8 am didn't arrive back until at least 6 pm. Food was just okay, rooms were a little dated but beds were comfortable, the bath was clean and spacious, and we actually had a balcony! The location was great and the staff was friendly and helpful! We were within walking distance to markets, shopping, anything you might need. We felt very safe walking the streets alone. Our flight out was late at night and the hotel let us have a late check-out and allowed us to stay in the lobby lounge all afternoon. We were able to stretch out and relax on the comfortable couches and chairs until time to leave for the airport.
Overall we had a great experience. I would stay there again if I have the opportunity to go back to Jerusalem. I soooo want to go back and not be so rushed! This is a wonderful city with so much history to explore.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    338
    132
    67
    52
See reviews for
435
320
64
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second stop on a 12-day tour of Israel. We stayed all 12 nights in Leonardo properties and found a resonating theme....DATED!

This is a high-rise property. We arrived on Shabbat and, there being a number of Orthodox guests, we (being non-Jewish) had to wait in long cues for two of the four elevators to reach our rooms, the other two being on Shabbat service.

The room itself was well appointed with a lovely stone relief hanging over the bed. There was a safe (all properties had safes). No free wi-fi here as in Tiberias; the fee was somewhere around 20 NIS per 1/2 hour. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed.

The most disappointing aspect of this property was the food service. We arrived on Shabbat and were served a meal I would best describe as mediocre banquet-style with two meat offerings. Apparently the meal had been prepared the day before to avoid breaking Shabbat rules, and its texture and appearance certainly gave that away. There was a lack of staff at all times in the dining room, and one had to practically grab a server in order to get a luke-warm cup of coffee. I was really surprised to see the roast beef with mushrooms in a wine sauce appear not once, but ALL THREE NIGHTS on the dinner table! After coming from Gai Beach Resort in Tiberias where food was so well prepared, it was a real let-down to be eating at this property.

There was an outdoor pool; again fairly dated as is the rest of the property. Temps were still warm enough to enjoy the pool. The lobby is well appointed with a bar and lots of comfortable seating; a nice place to relax after a busy day of touring the city.

Location of this property is very close to the Old City and we could safely walk to and from. The largest Synagogue in Jerusalem is directly across the street and apparently is well worth a visit.

While we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this ancient city, we did not really enjoy our stay at Leonardo Plaza.

If you found this review helpful, please check the box below!

Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor that has a view of the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great base for a stay in Jerusalem. It has a strange benefit from being the tallest building on the hill near the old city, this is so good at navigating back to your hotel when sightseeing. It is close to all the things you want to see, has a pool to relax in after a hot day. The pool is big and the area around is great. Pool service is zero until you go and get someone to make you lunch, which you can have on the patio. Full of americans on their 'Israel experience' lovely room size not modern but perfectly clean and staff are attentive. If I was going back to Jerusalem I would stay here. Tip - when you walk to the old city just keep walking through Mamilla mall all the way to the end and it pops up in Jaffa Gate, no traffic just a lovely walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Exhausted form bus touring, this hotel was the bright and most relaxing spot of them all. We struck conversations with so many of the staff. the hotel manager, Gaby, was so helpful and gracious, Natalie whom we met in the lounge was so warm and friendly. All the staff was friendly and helpful! the food was delicious!!!!! the rooms were clean compfy and cozy. Beautiful view of the old city. Any questions we had were answered with enthusiazm and generosity. thank you for such a memorable time. We will stay there again when we go back to Israel. we even had a massage!!!! fabulous!

Room Tip: ask for the old city view... you will see the sunrise...we were on the 17th floor very quiet...but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I greatly enjoyed my stay at the Leonardo for the Hadassah Centennial Celebration. The service was outstanding and manager Gaby Hasin was extremely helpful with travel issues. The food (breakfast and dinner) was supurb and the location is a safe and convenient walk to many of Jerusalem's sites. All of the staff was courtous, helpful and responsive. I look forward to staying at the Leonardo on my next trip to Jerusalem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel with lovely amenities. Housekeeping services not up to par for a hotel of this price range. Rooms were not cleaned well, used shampoos were left from previous guests, dirty plates not removed from room. Elevator has very sophisticated key pad system but the wait could be incredibly long. Luckily we were on the 6th floor so we walked down. Front desk staff very nice and helpful; kitchen staff at breakfast were a little surly and not attentive to guests. For the price we were paying, expected more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocklandmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing at the Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem and for giving us the opportunity to host you.
I was happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay. We have taken your feedback on board in regards to the cons that you have mentioned, and I can assure you that we are constantly striving to a high level of standards and facilities.
We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future and exceed your expectations.
Orna Toeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been guests at the Leonardo Plaza Hotel for many years during Yom Kippur and Succoth holidays with our grandchildren. Needless to say we had a wonderful and enjoyable time and would like to compliment the staff, especially Ilan Ben Hakoon (Hotel Manager), Yosef (Maitre d), Roberta (Reservations Manager), Rogers (Controller), Osman and Chodesh (Chef).
They are very dedicated and loyal to their guests for the past 2 decades that we have been there and always make certain that we have a pleasant stay. It is for this reason that we continue to return for the holidays. This year my 3 grandchildren who joined for the holidays also had a marvelous time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,680 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
740 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,469 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 47 King George Street, Jerusalem 91076, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a perfect holiday in the Holy City, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is the place to be at. Within walking distance from the Independence Park and the Western Wall, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is a tranquil island in the heart of the historic city bustling with life. Feel the luxury of Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem: the hotel’s gourmet restaurants offer a unique culinary experience, the swimming pool is comfortable and inviting, and in summer a festive barbecue is held on the terrace of the hotel, which overlooks the Old City. The combination of the holy atmosphere of the Old City with the modern luxury provided by the hotels facilities guarantees you a relaxing and pampering holiday which will be more than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Sheraton Jerusalem
Jerusalem Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing