We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room but shabby hotel and very rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed there one night with a friend on a 2-day trip to Jerusalem and it was a real disappointment. The price was not particularly cheap and the quality that you get is far less than what you could expect.
Hotels in Israel are quite expensive but this one doesn't offer good value for money.

Pros:
- Nice room
- TV with various English channels
- Room with a view
- Good location

Cons:
- Shabby hotel
- Restaurant is far from being impressive (or good)
- Restaurant stops serving at 10:30 PM
- Bar stops serving at midnight
- Breakfast stops serving at 10 PM
- VERY rude staff, especially in the restaurant
- They try to sell their friends' tour and as soon as they realize you're not interested, they do not even care about you anymore
- Internet quite expensive

Conclusion:
If I were to come back to Jerusalem one day, this would definitely not be my place to stay

Room Tip: Room on a high floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeamasterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Public Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear guest,

First let me thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay.

Due to the fact that we always try to provide our guests with the best service possible, and the maximum of comfort, your comments are of great help to us.

I read your review with great consideration and I was very sorry to hear that this is the impression you got from the hotel

Your very important review and comments were forwarded to the General Manager as well as concerning department managers especially to the restaurant staff and let me assure you there will be a difference in your next visit.

We hope to see you with us again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hedva Sela
Guest relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Pros: Great location, nice breakfast, decent dinner.
Cons: Considering it's price - quite old and shabby.
We had a mini-bar in our room, and when we wanted to use it,
it turned out that it doesn't cool the bottles. When we looked for a fridge in
our room, it turned out that we don't have one. Then we called the room service
and they sent us (after an hour and a half) an old dirty fridge which we eventually
didn't use.
Plumbing problems were present as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank YevgeniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Public Relations Manager at Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear guest,

First let me thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel

Due to the fact that we always strive to provide our guests with the best service possible, and the maximum of comfort, your comments are of great help to us

I was sorry to learn about the problems with the refrigerator in your room and the inconvenience that was caused to you.

Your very important comments were forwarded to the General Manager as well as concerning department managers and let me assure you that all necessary improvements will be made in regards to this matter

We hope to see you with us again in the near future,

Sincerely yours

Hedva Sela
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Positives:
Great Location. Adjacent to Independence Park. 20 minute walk to Old City. 10 miunte walk to Ben Yehuda Street. Breakfast and dinner buffets were awesome. Outdoor pool is large, beautifully decorated and staffed by attentive lifeguards -- great to cool off at after a day of touring. The hotel staff is professional and helpful. Elevator system is very efficient.

Negatives:
Only two people allowed per room meant we had to use two rooms, which increased our cost considerably. No free internet. Lines at the front desk tended to get too long at times.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location, wonderful staff, comfortable and clean hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Although this is an old hotel it manages to have a clean feel about it.
We were upgraded to an Old City view room on the 22nd Floor and glancing over the Old City at night was one of the highlights of our trip.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast room could do with an upgrade but the breakfast was pretty good with lots of variety. The best thing about this hotel is the location. This hotel is great value and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Old City view, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Be warned about my opinions: I don't usually stay in luxury hotels at all.

The rooms have standard hotel-type decoration, but they are big - I'm not sure why this is supposed to be important, but my wife likes it for some reason.

The people in both reception and the restaurants really do make an effort to be helpful, even when the guests have strange requests.

This hotel is absolutely crawling with restaurants and eating facilities of various sorts. We had pre-booked breakfast with our room: both the variety and the quality of the Israeli breakfast can only be called amazing. We also ate at the all-you-can-eat barbecue; both the meats and the odds and ends were very well prepared, although I was surprised at the limited variety of hot and spicey sauces; the barbecue is rather expensive. After having made our own mess of our own touring schedule, one evening we had sandwiches sent from their dairy Primavera Restaurant to the coffee lounge in the lobby; I'm not a big fan of sandwiches, but these were indeed very good, and they handled our general hysteria well.

The hekhsher for all of the restaurants and eating facilities is Mehadrin Yerushalayim.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monobasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

this hotel made our vacation wonderful!!
the staff was very kind and the rooms were excellent...
the hotel is in a great location.
you won't regret!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#20 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,213 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#7 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,860 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#28 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#14 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,145 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#8 of 100 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#32 of 100 in Jerusalem
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 47 King George Street, Jerusalem 91076, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $174 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a perfect holiday in the Holy City, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is the place to be at. Within walking distance from the Independence Park and the Western Wall, Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem is a tranquil island in the heart of the historic city bustling with life. Feel the luxury of Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem: the hotel’s gourmet restaurants offer a unique culinary experience, the swimming pool is comfortable and inviting, and in summer a festive barbecue is held on the terrace of the hotel, which overlooks the Old City. The combination of the holy atmosphere of the Old City with the modern luxury provided by the hotels facilities guarantees you a relaxing and pampering holiday which will be more than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Plaza Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Sheraton Jerusalem
Jerusalem Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing