We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, very expensive, but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, very expensive, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

The King David Hotel is in a perfect location for touring the Holy City. It's location is safe, secure, with excellent rooms (clean and perfect) and you may even request room with views of the Old City. It is a short walk to nightlife, if you choose, and a very short taxi ride to the Old City (for older folks or folks who do not want to walk a bit.) The breakfast service in the Main Dining Room is excellent, and the Hotel Bar is a great place to relax and discuss the day's sightseeing. I would recommend it for business travellers - but, be warned, this is one of the finest hotels in the world, and you will pay a premium to lodge here. The best hotel in the city, hands down, but worth the expense.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank middleagedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    198
    79
    34
    18
See reviews for
412
477
79
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Spent one week in Jerusalem, first timer. Wanted to be as close as possible to the old city and if you book the right room, you will have a fantastic view onto history.

The hotel itself is spectacular. Very friendly and professional staff, clean and spacy rooms, fantastic breakfast buffet even on a shabat. I was first a bit afraid checking in there with my son but the hotel is very child friendly. Nice pool, also small pool for kids. Gosh just writing this review makes me wanting to go back there.

And I will soon. Truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capeguy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at The King David, responded to this review, February 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the King David's Staff and Management, I would like to express deep appreciation for your rewarding and heart warming review.

As a "first timer", your opinion is particularly precious to us, since close to half of our clientele are returning guests - many of them maintain loyalty to our historic hotel through 4 generations.

We are proud to invite you to join our exclusive club.

"Next year in Jerusalem", as suggests the traditional Jewish toast, and Kind Regards from the Eternal City and its Leading hotel,

Sincerely,

Maya Morav
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We found that staying at the King David was both enjoyable and historic. The service was extraordinary; it was efficient and polite. The service was very attentive whether from housekeeping or the dining staff or the concierge. We even had excellent attention from the person in charge of the rooms. The hotel also made arrangements for my husband and grandson to swim at a nearby hotel. We felt so at home which is unusual when staying at such a large hotel that was filled up during the holiday season.
For my grandson it was particularly meaningful to stay at a hotel featured in the movie Exodus. He also loved going over all of the names of visitors "listed" on the floor in the lobby.
We stayed at the King David for six nights and the hotel made provisions for us to remain late our last day as our flight did not leave until late that evening. As stated above, it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Everything and everyone was great. Nice rooms great staff wouldn't change anything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger4losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was in king david hotel this year on july. My daugthers and me likes very much this hotel. It was a great experience. I hope to come back next year.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vivicai2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

I stayed at the King David for the first five nights of a sixteen night visit to Israel (13 nights on a tour). None of the other hotels we stayed at on the trip matched the quality of the King David (the closest was the Hilton Tel Aviv which I will review elsewhere).

Having traveled to Europe before for both business and pleasure, but having never otherwise traveled outside of North America and Hawaii, I was expecting a much smaller room. The room was very up-to-date, with a small flat-screen TV, ample closet space, in-room safe that was large enough to hold my laptop and a nice balcony from which I could see a bit of the Old City. The room was very clean -- though it was not as well cleaned by housekeeping on Shabbat and (as I expected) the Shabbat breakfast was much more meager and the service less attentive to detail though still quite good.

I am a bit tech-obsessed when I travel and, therefore, I tend to focus on how well a hotel serves that. I was very pleased that this hotel catered to the needs of a traveler that brings along electronic gadgets that need to be recharged: camcorder, still camera, iPhone and laptop. The desk had very accessible electrical outlets (without having to unplug things or move the furniture) including one North American-style electrical outlet and two European-style 220V outlets. I was disappointed that despite the fact that the hotel was a Boingo roaming partner, I couldn't get Boingo to work (though Boingo claims that they are aware of the problem in Israel and are working on it -- still working on it more than a month after I called to complain....). I was able to find other internet options in Jerusalem -- including free hotspots.

I can't speak to the value of the hotel, as it was part of the package price for the tour. Based on the posted rack rates, I'm sure it was more than I would have spent had I booked it on my own -- but the hotel was certainly well worth the stay!

The hotel is also well-located for an easy walk to the Jaffa Gate of the Old City.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

This was our second time staying at the King David in Jerusalem. Service was impeccable and friendly, room grand with a great view of the old city. Israeli buffet breakfasts are legendary, the King Davids was even better and table service (which is often lax at buffets) was quick and professional.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing