We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Jerusalem”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Must Stay in Jerusalem”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

It is expensive, but well worth it. The location is supreme and the views of Old Jerusalem are awesome. The history of the hotel is incredible. The service is subpar in many respects (compared to other cultures), but I found that to be the case in most if not all of Jerusalem and Israel in general. Massage in the hotel spa was the best ever and the salt water pool was cool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    205
    83
    35
    18
See reviews for
427
488
82
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Best Hotel in Israel yet,and we have been there 5 times.Pool area is magnificent.Staff great.BUT you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nefrologosarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

There is only one hotel to stay at when in Jerusalem. To be in the eternal city and not stay at the magnificent King David hotel would be to miss a huge part of the experience.

Virtually everyone who is anyone in the world has stayed at this 5-star wonder, with fabulous views of the old city walls. Other hotels boast views, but none deliver the view as seen from this hotel's rooms, terrace and restaurants!

Accommodations include spacious rooms with modern amenities and superb service. This, combined with a lobby faithful to the original design when the hotel was first built, and photos and mementos from historic occasions to which the hotel was witness, surround the guests and visitors to the best balance of history and modernity.

Dining options are superb; do not miss the most spectacular breakfast and Shabbat meals in the dining room. Again, excellent service, and delicious food -- not to be missed!

The grounds are spectacular, the pool area newly refurbished. There's a lot of open space, and a great play area for young and old, as well as space for quiet enjoyment too.

Don't shortchange yourself, when in Jerusalem, stay where presidents, kings, diplomats and celebrities stay - stay at the King David!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponticum51
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel several times both for business and with the family and always enjoyed the experience.

The location allows stunning views of the Old City of Jerusalem from the rooms and the extensive grounds, mainly lawns, and delightful swimming pool are ideal for the family.

Unlike any number of hotels belonging to international chains the building has style, charm and comfort having been built in an era when character was important.

The friendliness of the staff and quality of service is excellent without being over-powering and the food is wonderful. A breakfast to die for, terrific weekend special meals,delightful coffee lounge and excellent restaurant.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious and those with balconies benefit from morning sun and early evening gentle breeze.

The Hotel itself is the scene of many historic events both the present and the past but manages to combine world politics with family holidays. It remains enjoyable sitting in the coffee lounge spotting world leaders.

Israel is small enough for easy access to all parts of the country. Jerusalem itself is full of interesting locations and is close to the desert and Dead Sea. Choosing the right time to avoid traffic ,Tel Aviv and the Mediterranean coast are around an hour away by car.

Summing up, the hotel manages to both satisfy the business travelling father and his children, no mean achievement and a tribute to the quality of the King David's management.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponticum51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I loved this hotel. Here is my tip. Have a travel agent who specializes in Israel make your reservation. That's what I did. I paid the rate for the lowest category of room. They confirmed me at the next higher category, with the promise of an upgrade if available...which it was! That means that for the lowest rate (about $470 a night) I got a huge room, with a sofa and chair sitting area, overlooking the pool with the Old City in the distance. It is still way more money than most Jerusalem hotels, but I was glad I stayed here. It is every bit the history-filled placed I had read about!

The hotel has a great location for both walking and taking busses. I also took cabs and one of them ripped me off. I complained to the concierge, and they did try to follow up, but I was still out the money. The concierge said they recommend that the concierge actually call a cab, and I said they should tell their bell staff that, as one of the bellman actually put me in the cab --right in front of the hotel -- that ripped me off. So a word to the wise on cabs...

The breakfast was great. The gardens and pool are stunning. I wish the pool had lap lines, but I did still manage to swim laps, although I had to go around frolicking children at times. The cost of using their internet computers was outlandish -- about 50 cents a minute! There is no internet cafe nearby, so I paid it, but I wasn't happy. The cost of food is also high, and there are 3 or 4 places just a couple of blocks away that are reasonable, so I never did eat anything but breakfast at the hotel.

Housekeeping was slow...even when I called for service and the housekeeper was just down the hall. I had to call two more times! I was expecting a guest so I wanted the room clean and I was not happy that I couldn't leave because I did not want to take the chance I would return and it would still not be clean.

So it wasn't perfect. But I am willing to pay good money for a great place to stay, and this qualified.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at a very busy time when the Hotel was full to capacity. That may explain why service was poor as staff seemed over-stretched. It really was a disappointment, it needs a refurb badly if it is to survive. Breakfast is in a cavernous room where you feel you might as well be in a 3 star hotel or an ocean liner. Concierge service was especially bad - we were booked into a restaurant by the concierge only to find that the restaurant had in fact closed down/ How could they have made the booking? We checked out early and transferred to the American Colony, a much better bet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
243 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Views on this hotel seem are polarised between A - those who see it as an faded, overpriced place which arrogantly rests on its laurels and B - those who think it is fabulous.

I am A. But I personally know lots of Bs and have been trying to work out how there can be such different views. I think it comes down to this. The King David is a historic building. It has beautiful gardens and pool area. The hotel is an icon - many visiting families will have been going for generations. So it works a certain charm. Most importantly, it is probably the closest thing to a trip to synagogue that you will ever have in a hotel. The clientele is very observant and the hotel caters to that taste. If you are very observant, the whole mix is completely unique. It must be excellent to have somewhere like this that makes it so comfortable being observant. Just a glance in the reception of the King David and other 5* hotels in Jersulam and Israel will tell you this is a different world.

But if you are not very observant, or not Jewish, and you travel widely to similar hotels, you may be extremely disappointed. Yes it's an icon. But prices are absurd for what they deliver. The public areas are tatty, staff are kind enough but everything is a struggle (I had a very annoying argument where they would not even respect the agreed reservation rate). Rooms are so dated (our deluxe room had probably the worst 5* bathroom I have seen for 10 years - wood was actually rotting). The reservations office is a nightmare. I could go on and on.

This was my second visit. The first visit was on Shabbat (which I thought might have explained the lacking service) and we were returning with our children so the pool etc was a draw. But I would never come back. There are great new hotels opening in the area. It would be harsh to say that Dan Hotels are ruining the place. They are probably making a fortune serving a happy target clientele. Just work out if it is for you. I rate is poorly but probably would recommend anyone to go once. It isn't a great hotel, but it is a bit of history. That seems appropriate for a visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#4 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing