We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of The King David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King David
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at The King David. Once again it was a fantastic experience! Friendly and helpful staff and the position and heritage hotel is unrivalled. An oasis of calm an serenity. We felt perfectly safe in Jerusalem and were welcomed everywhere we went.Top Marks to the Dan Group and we can't wait to come back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    205
    83
    35
    18
See reviews for
426
488
82
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I'll start with my conclusion: the King David has a culture of deceiving its guests as a result of having to cover up its fade from its glorious past.

We considered staying at other top hotels in the area with our other top choice being the Waldorf Astoria. Though it was a tough decision we decided on the King David because we wanted a pool for our children. In addition, we were told that the top two floors of the King David, the 5th and 6th floors, had been recently renovated and therefore the quality of the rooms would be equivalent to the Waldorf on those floors. Our tour company said they would not want to put us in the King David on any of the lower floors. So we agreed on the King David but insisted that our suite with connecting room as well as our third room would have to be on the 5th and 6th floor. I cannot state this clearly enough: DO NOT stay in the King David over the other very nice competitors if you are not going to be on the 5th and 6th floor.

Here's the problem, even if they tell you they will put you on the 5th and 6th floors they could very easily pull a switch on you. They did this to us. We walked in to check in and they said "We are very pleased to inform you that we have upgraded you to one of our very finest rooms. We would like to show you it just to make sure it works for you." Immediately suspicious. We had already booked ourselves in the finest level suite on the top renovated floors. Also why do you need to show us it if it is so great? We get in the elevator and the guy presses the button for the 2nd floor. Ugh. We are taken to a very large suite that, as we had been warned, was very tired and run down. Clearly not updated in at least the last 20 years. The air conditioning didn't work in the bathroom. The bathroom was dirty, old and stained. Some of the automatic drapes no longer worked and could not be opened, thus negating the views of the Old City. I could go on and on. Just old and crappy and tired, though large.

So then the fun begins. We say "No. This is not what we paid for. You misled us. We would've stayed at the Waldorf Astoria if we knew you would not honor your commitment." "Well we don't have anything available right now on the 5th and 6th floor, but assure you we have given you a wonderful upgrade. We have put you in a room where we put top diplomats." etc., etc. etc. And they go on and on like this cheating us, but trying to deny it and in fact trying to convince us they have done us a big favor. Here's the thing though: as the commotion continues in the lobby two of the gentleman who work there have a conversation in Hebrew not realizing my wife is fluent in Hebrew because we are American and carrying on this conversation in English. One says to the other in Hebrew: "What's going on here" and the other replies: "They were reserved for rooms on the top floor but we gave those rooms out, so we put them in a very old but big room and we're just hoping they'll accept it". Aha! Confirmed.

Well with the help of our tour operator, we finally had our three rooms on the 2nd floor swapped for three rooms on the 6th floor at 7 pm on the 2nd of our 3 night stay. And guess what, the rooms were fantastic! Sure the suite was slightly smaller than our, wait for it, "upgrade", but they were all so much nicer, cleaner and fresh. What we would expect at this price point and category of hotel. Of course, the process of getting the room had left us utterly exhausted, especially having to battle with the desk, the manager, and guest relations for over an hour while they continued to try to blow sunshine up our you know what, not to mention the fact that we had to stay in a dump our first night. And it is an attitude that pervades. Just one example of many: I called one night to schedule a wake-up call for 7 am. We woke at 7:23 am with no wake-up call. I call downstairs and get the same woman from the night before (I know because she introduced herself by name both times). I ask: "How come I didn't get my 7 am wakeup call". "You did. Shows here I called at 7 am". "No you didn't, I think I would know". "Actually it shows that it is written down for 7:30am". Sure. Sure it's not just you trying to tell me that it's all sunshine and roses when you are really screwing me, like the rest of the staff seems to want to do?

Look, many of the things that have given the King David its reputation through the years are true. It is well located. Its views are spectacular. Yes there is a great breakfast and a very nice pool. But the quality of the accommodations below the 5th floor has greatly diminished and they are willing to do and say anything to their customers and shuffle you around in any way they can get away with in order to cover this fact up. And that attitude is becoming problematic for the way they treat their guests generally.

Lastly, we expected some remuneration for the treatment we received and for the fact that we simply didn't get what we had paid for. No hotel, especially not a high end hotel like the King David, should keep your money when they don't deliver what they promised you. They should make some concession for the aggravation and the fact that the problem detracted from the enjoyment of our trip to Jerusalem greatly, but even without that they certainly owed us a partial or even complete refund of our first night since we paid money for something we literally did not get. Our tour operator was supposed to help us seek that. Well, it's been a bit over a month now and complete silence. Not even a free drink when we were there. So they guaranteed themselves a fully unfiltered review here. They can screw us and keep our money while doing it, but they don't get to do it to you.

Save yourself the aggravation and disappointment: stay at the Dan Citadel or Waldorf Astoria instead.

Room Tip: At all costs, do not allow them to put you in a room below the 5th floor. Also, when they put you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Peter S,
We deeply regret that you have left our hotel without being fully satisfied with your stay. We always try to grant upgrades to our guests when possible, and never to rooms of lower categories or less expensive than the original rooms. In fact, never before have we received complaints from guests after granting them higher room categories. Please note our website, complete with pricing details, and the sizes of your original rooms compared to the rooms that we upgraded you to. The total area of your original rooms was approximately 135 square meters, while the upgrade we granted you provided a total of 185 square meters of living space and balconies, not to mention a glorious view of the Old City. We do apologize for any technical difficulties, or Housekeeping issues you may have experienced in these suites, and we would have gladly repaired them as speedily as possible. Despite all of this, we do understand that room décor and style are entirely a matter of personal preference and we worked relentlessly to move you to back to your original room category, and as you mentioned, we did so. The other guests who assisted us in facilitating this were ecstatic to be upgraded to large suites. We apologize that you feel that we may have purposely caused you distress during your stay, however that was not our intention and never has been. We hope that you will consider staying with us again upon your next visit to Jerusalem.
Sincerely,
Haim Shkedi
General Manager
The King David Hotel, Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Recently my husband and I returned to the King David Hotel for two fabulous weeks in Israel. We have had such positive experiences there in the past, that there was no question as to where we would be staying. Once again we were treated like family by the entire staff. The concierge was so helpful with suggestions and dinner reservations. The breakfast was phenomenal. Everything was fresh and delicious. The wait staff was courteous and, as usual, able to anticipate our every need. Our room was beautiful, with a breathtaking view of the Old City. The grounds are magnificent, with beautiful flower gardens and a huge pool. The outdoor staff members at the pool are also very friendly and helpful. There are, of course, many hotels to choose from in Jerusalem, but if you want elegant accommodations and a doting staff, it is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Laura G,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. Such feedback allows us to monitor and develop the services and amenities we pride ourselves in providing to our dear guests. We appreciate your encouraging remarks about our dedicated staff members, and other aspects of your stay that made it all the more memorable, and we're certainly looking forward to your next stay at your home away from home.

Warm regards,

Dror Danino-Forsyth
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

had a bit of trouble at checki in and was given a beautiful rrom with old city view. Well what a hotel and stay. Just a beautiful experience, service is spectacular, location is unbelievable and the history of the hotel is fantastic, really thank you for a memorable trip

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel holds so much history and truly stands as an iconic landmark in Jerusalem. We were on the renovated level of the Hotel so I can only speak to the quality of that room which was nice and felt new. The food was good, however, if you do not follow Kosher it makes each of the restaurants limiting but easy enough to overcome with creative ordering. In the cooler evenings dining outside on the terrace was certainly nice, however, over the course of two nights we had a bit of a Jeckle and Hyde scenario. With the first night server being very rude and a bit angry and the second night server being wonderful. The breakfast was good albeit the staff bait hard to get ahold of for coffee, tea, etc… With the Waldorf opening soon the King David will definitely have to rectify some of its shortfalls to maintain its position in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Renovated Floors are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay here with us at The King David hotel; it is through guest feedback that we are able to develop and monitor our offerings.
We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and found comfort in the room and surroundings, just sorry to hear that any glitches in service let us down at any time. I will be sure to mention to the food and beverage manager to ensure of no other occurrences of this nature as I assure you our team is known to provide the highest levels of service, always with a genuine smile.
Thank you again for highlighting this aspect and we're happy that this incident did not detract from the otherwise very pleasant stay you described.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time,
best regards,
Josh Merl
Management Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just spent 3 very enjoyable days at the King David. It's a real treat to stay there. Our room was perfect and the staff were, as always, charming, efficient and courteous. Just wish it was a bit cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipclein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at The King David, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at The King David Hotel. We are appreciative of your positive feedback and are delighted to know that your three days spent here were full of fond memories and attentive service from our team members. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again and proving you with the same superb services in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Dror Danino-Forsyth
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I live not far from the King David Hotel and whenever I feel I want to pamper myself I go to the King David swimming pool. This is the most beautiful and well maintained garden attended scrupulously by Nadav. The pool snackbar has upgraded their cuisine and is delicious.
The terrace overlooking the garden is my favorite place to meet my husband for a romantic tete-a-tete. Important and very positive changes were made on the menu since Dudu Biton became the executive chef. We already had experienced his very creative skills when we enjoyed his olive oil festival. We enjoy coming again each time to La Regence, the flagship restaurant of KD to degustate the refined delicacies that are Dudu Biton's signature. This is where we choose to celebrate The team in the restaurant does a perfect job under Maurice's supervision.
The guest relation manager, Maya, is adding to this great feeling that the staff of the KD really wants the guest to leave happy and come back.
From the entrance in this peaceful and very classy hotel until the minute I leave I enjoy the staff's polite greeting, the efficiency and the great service. Happy to have such a paradise within five minutes walk from my home

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanieleMostovicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mrs. Mostovicz,

Thank you for writing about your recent experiences at The King David Hotel. Feedback from our guests allows us to develop and monitor our offerings. It must be a great advantage to live so close to a hotel that you adore so much, and we're happy to always be at your service! Our pool and gardens are indeed a true treat for anyone who visits. We also thank you for your encouraging remarks about our team members; We'll be sure to let them know that their dedication continues to impact our guests in positive ways. Chef Dudu Bitton will be particularly pleased to know that you are fond of the extraordinary culinary experiences that he and his team produce at The King David. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Joshua Merl
Management Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King David

Property: The King David
Address: 23 King David St, Jerusalem 9410147, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Yemin Moshe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The King David 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King David Jerusalem Hotel is the Israel's most famous hotel stands majestic, overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem. This landmark hotel is steeped in history and is the preferred choice of world leaders and celebrities alike. This regal and outstanding member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is superbly located within walking distance from both the major historic sites of the Old City, and modern Jerusalem's lively center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King David Hotel Jerusalem
King David Jerusalem
King David Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing